MozillaZine

[EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Netscaper
 
Posts: 61
Joined: November 1st, 2006, 2:06 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 12:48 pm

Not only that, currently the top little icon shows forecasts as 'Now', 'Today', ' Tomorrow' which makes it harder to read especially when one trys to read it at 1AM in the morning....trying to decipher Today and Tomorrow is a big headache! Unlike the old format on the bottom bar reading 'Now', 'Mon', 'Tue', 'Wed' etc...and mousing over the number 5 icon shoes a full five days spreading out.

Netscaper
 
Posts: 61
Joined: November 1st, 2006, 2:06 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 12:49 pm

This is one of the reasons why I stopped using Chrome.

smeexs
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 14th, 2017, 2:18 pm

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 2:29 pm

ubunut 16.04 , Firefox standard installation
(adressbar is auto hide)
my old view
Image

new one
Image

i realy dont like the new one, for me its useless now :(
Last edited by smeexs on May 14th, 2017, 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Prangster
 
Posts: 3
Joined: September 1st, 2016, 6:02 pm

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 3:09 pm

I hate the new "button". I want my bar back. I HATE IT.

NFLnut
 
Posts: 44
Joined: October 14th, 2007, 8:47 pm

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 6:14 pm

I personally would love to have the multiple day look back. This new version isn't as useful for me. I understand why it happened, but if you have a workaround, I would be all for it.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37173
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 3:47 am

To all concerned...
Please, take the time to re-read this thread to understand the reasons why it's changed.
&, please do not be so negative about this "modified" extension.
pag77 had to make a decision as to which way to progress.....So, if you do not like his
extension, then you may like to go & find another one that suits your requirements.
O.K.?
It's all due to what Mozilla.org have decided "what's best for us."


O.K.?
So.......Just ease up with all the negative responses.
You are only making things more difficult for pag77.
He's under enough pressure now & does not need any more.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.9.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

smeexs
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 14th, 2017, 2:18 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 4:08 am

pag77 wrote:I did some tests and I can return the statusbar, but with a few restrictions:

1. Addon Permissions: Access your data for all websites
2. Statusbar will not be displayed on some sites: mozilla.org and google.com
3. Statusbar will not be displayed on sites that do not have pages, for example error 404 (page not found)
4. Statusbar will not be displayed on internal Firefox pages, for example about:addons, about:config, etc.
5. Statusbar will not be displayed on the WebExtensions pages "moz-extension://...."

Do I need to continue working?
Or statusbar with such restrictions do not need for users?


it is the current working prototype:
Image


i think i wouldn´t use it , maybe on my desktop , but not on my ebook our the laptop.
neither on my tv-pc (with 1366x768) ,but thats only my view.

with the 16:9 view the vertical space is very important and i dont want to loose any vertical space,
there is so many free space in the tabbar.
i was very happy with the autohide adreesbar addon and forecastfox in the tabbar ,and thanks to ubuntu , only one very small taskbar (with the menubar in it) in firefox full view.
Image
maybe its possible to move the new statusbar around ?
Last edited by smeexs on May 15th, 2017, 4:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

pag77
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 4:15 am

smeexs wrote:maybe its possible to move the new statusbar around ?

Sorry, no.
This is the Firefox limitation - only the button on the toolbar or/and any content on the sites you are viewing
Do not worry about the height of your screen - everything will be done harmoniously :)

Alexo
 
Posts: 183
Joined: January 23rd, 2005, 7:21 pm
Location: Canada, GTA

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 5:26 am

The Mozilla team is hard at work removing all the features that made Firefox useful.

aussiedr
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 12th, 2017, 2:45 am

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 6:18 am

LIMPET235 wrote:To all concerned...
Please, take the time to re-read this thread to understand the reasons why it's changed.
&, please do not be so negative about this "modified" extension.
pag77 had to make a decision as to which way to progress.....So, if you do not like his
extension, then you may like to go & find another one that suits your requirements.
O.K.?
It's all due to what Mozilla.org have decided "what's best for us."


O.K.?
So.......Just ease up with all the negative responses.
You are only making things more difficult for pag77.
He's under enough pressure now & does not need any more.


we all know pag77 is/has done a great job with this extension. Anyone who programs these things with little help or funds is worthy of praise.
But please understand that what made forecastfox great is now gone. Hopefully there maybe a workaround Mozillas new limitations. Like when my cola company decided to bring a new formula, I didnt like it and I told them. I shrugged my shoulders if they want to change or not, its not the end of the world and I will either change to a new company, or drink milk. Some others will like the new taste... for me I will just move on and hope one day they bring the original back.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 7:16 am

crying has begun... hey LIMPET235, this is what i expected and going to expect when v57 is upcoming, thats why there exist the discussion about v58 here:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3029880
people, there is nothing you can do right now. maybe firefox will get another option for small dialogs, the API is not ready, but at least the smallest option is as the chromium project offers it now, a nice preview. you should shut down the forum right before v57 arrives and re-open easter 2018 :mrgreen:

sideburns
 
Posts: 31
Joined: August 24th, 2004, 3:55 pm
Location: Camarillo

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 10:48 am

Currently, the button brings up a forecast the first time I try it after restarting Firefox, and then ignores mouse clicks, making it completely useless to me. I have, however, found the perfect way to work around this issue: I've uninstalled it. It's a shame, really, as it used to be a great add on, but now, even when/if it works, it's no longer what I need or want. Right now, there isn't one that does exactly what I want, but I have found several that come close enough and have installed one of them.

pag77
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 12:06 pm

sideburns wrote:..and then ignores mouse clicks...

Please use native firefox-themes
non native not support popup-webExtensions windows

sideburns
 
Posts: 31
Joined: August 24th, 2004, 3:55 pm
Location: Camarillo

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 12:13 pm

I have never installed a theme for Firefox, using only the default.

pag77
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 12:19 pm

Then it may be a conflict with other add-on.
please temporarily disable the other add-ons and check again your problem

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests