MozillaZine


SpellBound Development version

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
jeffyjones
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 27th, 2005, 6:22 pm

Post Posted May 13th, 2006, 5:38 pm

I can't get the dictionaries to "stick." The dialog comes up indicating the install was successful, then when I click OK, it disappears from the extension window.

Robert S.

User avatar
 
Posts: 4399
Joined: April 24th, 2004, 3:04 am
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post Posted May 13th, 2006, 5:41 pm

Read the first note under Installation Instructions
http://dictionaries.mozdev.org/installation.html

jeffyjones
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 27th, 2005, 6:22 pm

Post Posted May 13th, 2006, 6:09 pm

Makes no difference. The spell check still won't run as noted in the post two prior to my own.

Robert S.

User avatar
 
Posts: 4399
Joined: April 24th, 2004, 3:04 am
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post Posted May 13th, 2006, 6:25 pm

That was in response to
jeffyjones wrote:I can't get the dictionaries to "stick." The dialog comes up indicating the install was successful, then when I click OK, it disappears from the extension window.


As for the dev version, it works for most and I'm no longer developing / supporting it at present as previously noted. Since I'm no longer supporting or developing it I am not updating the maxVersion in the install.rdf which is all that should need to be done to get it to work which did work for me until I uninstalled it since the latest branch has inline spellchecking built in.

jeffyjones
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 27th, 2005, 6:22 pm

Post Posted May 13th, 2006, 6:52 pm

It's not a maxVersion issue though. The extension itself installs fine, and appears in the context menu. But when you try to run it, nothing happens. Ditto for the in-line spell checking.

Robert S.

User avatar
 
Posts: 4399
Joined: April 24th, 2004, 3:04 am
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post Posted May 13th, 2006, 6:54 pm

Just checked it in one of my old profiles that still has it installed using both 1.5.0.3 and 2.0a2... it still worked with both.

jeffyjones
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 27th, 2005, 6:22 pm

Post Posted May 13th, 2006, 8:20 pm

I'm sure it is working for you, but it's not for me.

ourasi
 
Posts: 103
Joined: August 15th, 2005, 12:55 am
Location: Finland

Post Posted May 18th, 2006, 1:23 am

What about #336679 and spellbound-dev_20060108?

Must I file a new bug? I haven't seen any comments about possibilities correcting this bug in 1.5.0.* versions.

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.4) Gecko/20060508 Firefox/1.5.0.4 - Build ID: 2006050817

Robert S.

User avatar
 
Posts: 4399
Joined: April 24th, 2004, 3:04 am
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post Posted May 18th, 2006, 1:47 am

ourasi wrote:What about #336679 and spellbound-dev_20060108?

Must I file a new bug? I haven't seen any comments about possibilities correcting this bug in 1.5.0.* versions.

Didn't I answer this same question for you a couple of days ago?

hmmm... I did.
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 5&start=26
and
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 5&start=31

The bug should be fixed in Firefox 2.0. Chances are very slim it will be fixed in 1.5.0.*

ourasi
 
Posts: 103
Joined: August 15th, 2005, 12:55 am
Location: Finland

Post Posted May 18th, 2006, 2:31 am

Robert S. wrote:The bug should be fixed in Firefox 2.0. Chances are very slim it will be fixed in 1.5.0.*

Thank you for your clear answer. I can stop testing with Spellbound dev. and Firefox 1.5.0.* and tell it to possible Finnish users. Finnish forum: (Suomen kielen oikoluku Mozillan ohjelmissa) (in Finnish).

murderous
 
Posts: 27
Joined: July 23rd, 2005, 5:04 am
Location: brisbane australia

Post Posted May 30th, 2006, 4:08 am

i installed the australian and uk dictionaries restarted firefox and i cant select a dictionary to check the spelling, this happened since i had to do a clean install of 1.5.0.3

kyle1745
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 16th, 2005, 12:32 pm

Post Posted June 1st, 2006, 5:24 pm

Is there a version working with dear park alpha 2? I run it on my 64 box and would like to use this...

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27746
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted June 1st, 2006, 7:10 pm

The particular test "Deer Park Alpha 2" build from 20050712 your using is rather old and unsupported now as it was a early taste of Firefox 1.5 meant for testers at the time. If you must use this old build then try the old SpellBound 0.7.3 at http://spellbound.sourceforge.net/install

Firefox 1.5.0.4 is the current release http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/

Finger78
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 3rd, 2006, 1:43 am

Post Posted June 3rd, 2006, 1:49 am

I had a previous version of the spellchecker (not sure which version) and I reformatted today and I was looking to put this back in my Firefox. Well I have the most current version of Firefox and I went and installed the Dev version of spellbound and then got a US dictionary at http://dictionaries.mozdev.org/installation.html and installed it but nothing seems to be working. I have uninstalled and reinstalled Firefox as well as the dictionary and spellbound and no help. I can still type and mispell words and nothing happens.. at all to let me know it might be working.

Anyone have any idea on this?

NickJH
 
Posts: 429
Joined: November 4th, 2003, 7:28 am
Location: Hampshire, England

Post Posted June 3rd, 2006, 5:35 am

Finger78 wrote:I had a previous version of the spellchecker (not sure which version) and I reformatted today and I was looking to put this back in my Firefox. Well I have the most current version of Firefox and I went and installed the Dev version of spellbound and then got a US dictionary at http://dictionaries.mozdev.org/installation.html and installed it but nothing seems to be working. I have uninstalled and reinstalled Firefox as well as the dictionary and spellbound and no help. I can still type and mispell words and nothing happens.. at all to let me know it might be working.

Anyone have any idea on this?

Even after installing a dictionary, you have to select it. You need to force the spell check dialogue to appear. Right click in an area you want to spell check and select Check Spelling. In the dialogue box, in the bottom left, select your language and away you should go. Ff should remember this setting from then on.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest