MozillaZine


[Ext] Update Notifier 0.1.5.5 - Get Extension/Theme updates

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Sasafrass452
 
Posts: 42
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 8:14 am

Post Posted July 2nd, 2009, 3:41 pm

Hi, just wanted to make a suggestion.... Can the Update Notifier be made to check for updates for Thunderbird & Firefox(not just the add-ons & themes)? Since Linux developers disable the update feature, it's almost impossible to immediately know when an update is released. I still don't have FF 3.5 yet :(

maxxyme
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 2nd, 2007, 1:42 pm

Post Posted July 3rd, 2009, 1:55 am

I've contacted the original developer (tmlong) to ask for an update to Firefox 3.5

paraver
 
Posts: 120
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 7:52 am

Post Posted July 6th, 2009, 3:08 pm

Hi!

This extension, even after the update, is not working properly. The display is not shown.

maxxyme wrote:I've contacted the original developer (tmlong) to ask for an update to Firefox 3.5
-= paraver =- PT

Kitefighter

User avatar
 
Posts: 377
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 11:09 pm

Post Posted July 6th, 2009, 9:33 pm

paraver wrote:This extension, even after the update, is not working properly. The display is not shown.

Works for me. Do you have "Display icon when no updates are available" checked?

Diamanti
 
Posts: 710
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 9:02 am

Post Posted July 12th, 2009, 10:25 pm

When i set the interval update to 6 hour in option if i restart it return to 24 hour. [FF 3.5 in XP]

Domdom
 
Posts: 14
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 2:38 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2009, 7:23 am

One quick remark: it would seem the extension does not handle proxy settings well. When checking updates, I am getting a lot of proxy authentification although it does work perfectly in Firefox.
the extension should use FF proxy auth mode? and sometimes it does work!
Has anyone noticed the same behaviour?
thanks

keithy397

User avatar
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: August 29th, 2004, 6:49 pm
Location: North Wales, UK.

Post Posted July 27th, 2009, 8:03 am

You may have a conflict with another extension. Try disabling all your other extensions and see if Update Notifier works ok then. If it does, enable the other extensions 1 or 2 at a time until you find the conflict.

Or, you could try it in a new Profile, but if it works ok you'll still have to find the conflict in the old Profile - unless you keep the new one of course.
Cheers,
Keith

minuseggs
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 12:09 pm

Post Posted August 27th, 2009, 12:19 pm

what i would like to see is a function to stop the addon dialog box from appearing everytime an update has been installed.
anybody any hint?

keithy397

User avatar
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: August 29th, 2004, 6:49 pm
Location: North Wales, UK.

Post Posted August 28th, 2009, 1:55 am

Hi minuseggs and welcome to Mo'zine.

I'm guessing you mean the prompt to restart Firefox after installation.

Type about:config in the address bar and a warning screen will appear. Click OK to go past it then in the filter bar type updatenotifier and you will see all pref's visible for the Update Notifier extension. Look closely and you'll see one with restart.prompt. Double click the pref and the value should automatically change from true to false.

Should that not be the correct pref, double click again to revert back to true.
Cheers,
Keith

makondo
 
Posts: 1961
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 5:26 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains

Post Posted August 28th, 2009, 4:47 pm

Can't you just uncheck that in the UN options?

minuseggs
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 12:09 pm

Post Posted August 30th, 2009, 12:49 am

keithy397 wrote:I'm guessing you mean the prompt to restart Firefox after installation.


no not the prompt to restart ff but after ff restarted it shows all addons (same like "tools" | "addons") .. can this be suppressed?

keithy397

User avatar
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: August 29th, 2004, 6:49 pm
Location: North Wales, UK.

Post Posted August 30th, 2009, 2:30 am

Ah ok! You mean the Add-On's Manager window.

Type: about:config in the address bar. In the filter type: extensions.newAddons. If it exists change the value to false.

If it doesn't exist you'll have to add it:-
Right click (in the about:config page) and select 'New' then 'Boolean' and in the box enter extensions.newAddons select 'OK' and finally select 'false'.
Cheers,
Keith

minuseggs
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 12:09 pm

Post Posted August 30th, 2009, 10:08 pm

thanks! I will try this at my machines where it pops up .. just updated updatenotifier and it didn't appear ( without the config extensions.newAddons existing ...

minuseggs
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 12:09 pm

Post Posted August 30th, 2009, 11:34 pm

argh! now i created a new value but accidentaly clicked "string" instead of "boolean" and can't find a way to remove the entry or set it to "boolean" .. help!!

minuseggs
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 12:09 pm

Post Posted August 30th, 2009, 11:37 pm

sorry for the spam!
resetting and then restarting firefox did the job ...

reminder to myself: first search then if you don't find a solution do panic!

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest