[Ext] superT 0.7.9 - tab browsing extension for Fx&Flock

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Locked

What feature do you want most?

Option to select left tab after closing
1
6%
Compatibility with latest Firefox trunk builds
7
44%
Support for Firefox's new tab bar scroll buttons
5
31%
More tab clicking options
3
19%
 
Total votes: 16

User avatar
Recall
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Recall »

Ok bit of a problem wiht the latest version. It seems you have enable tabscrolling on the tabs themselves? Anyway I have my option set to double click to close the tab. However if I single click on the tab it will choose one to the left and then back and forth. Its a pain to get it to close cause I have to click a few times. Also it ends up me closing the wrong tab by mistake sometimes :(

Also noticed you preferences have not been renamed and still use the names of the extensions you have used code from.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0
********
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post by ******** »

hmm, i guess i didn't fix tabflipping compeltely.
simply change etesnion.flst.flip to false as a temporary workaround.
i'll fix this for 0.3.2

for the tabscroller, what do you want to open it up?
right-click on page?
alt-click on page?
ctrl-tab?
i think i'll do alt-click on page or ctrl-tab.
i currently have for creating a menu of open tabs with the currently selected one bolded
and it's in the form of the tab picker.

as for the preference not being renamed, i did that on purpose.
that way, if you ever had one of the extensions with a feature in common with superT, superT should keep that setting.

with version 0.3.1 and above, i've renamed 2 of my prefs to supert.* because those two prefs are not found in other extensions.
User avatar
Recall
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Recall »

Ok no prob mate, for tabscroller just like this extension here?
Right click on a page, just like opera works.

http://www.krickelkrackel.de/tabscrolle ... erhelp.htm
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0
********
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post by ******** »

0.3.2 will be out in about 10 minutres.

wait, opera has a tabscroller-like feature?
i have opera 8.52.
how do you activate it?
do you have to set something in the prefs?

*edit*
actually 0.3.2 will take another 20 minutes because i've figured out to add another feature :)
User avatar
Recall
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Recall »

Cool cant wait for the new version. AS to Opera yeah it has tabscroller. Just open a few tabs and right click on the page and a list of tabs comes up which you can scroll through with the mousewheel.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0
********
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post by ******** »

that's weird. when i right-click the page, i just get a regular context menu...

about the new version:
i simply fixed it so dragging and dropping background tabs don't select the tab and tabflipping is properly removed.
nothing exciting, but certainly an improvement.

tabscroller will take more time.
i'm slowing down development now that everyhting works the way it should, hopefully.
except for the 3 minor issues.
tabscroller will appear in 0.4.x, if i have time, and can figure out how to implement it.
0.3.x will just be minor updates.
any other related tab features you or anybody want?
multi-row tab bar is certainly implement-able but i don't know if anybody will use it.
overflow menus was included because i find it to be a very useful improvement over Firefox 1.5/Flock 0.5.12's overflowing tab bar.

0.3.2 is already up.
go to superT's homepage:
http://studio17.wordpress.com/tag/supert/
i'll update this thread in a sec.
User avatar
Recall
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Recall »

Nice one, just d/loaded and the problem is gone :) As to Opera I should have mentioned you have to keep the right mouse button pressed down then scroll the mouse wheel and the tabs will pop up :)

There are no other features I would like, but i am sure there are plenty of others out there who may want something:D
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0
********
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post by ******** »

oh! that is SO cool!
Opera really is amazing.
It's back and forward navigation is instantaneous without all the "memory leaks" of Firefox.

Opera aside,
I think i mght have the tabscroler show up on middle-click.
That's the easiest way to code it, other than a keyboard shortcut.
But that means that autoscroll has to be disabled.
I'll figure it out when I have time.
I'll probably look at tabscroller's code to see how they have open the menu, but I'll use my existing modified tab picker code for the actual menu generation part.

~~~~~

superT 0.3.2 has been released!

Latest Improvements:

<li>Feature Set 1 Complete (what should I include in Feature Set 2?)
<li>Bug fix for tab flip conflict
<li>Added Drag and Drop Background Tabs to Feature List
<li>Reorganized site

For more information, see the detailed changelog and list of known issues and future features.
Also for the latest superT news, go to superT's homepage.
Or subscribe to superT's RSS feed.
If you are using Flock, add feed: before that url to make use of Flock's built-in feed reader.
********
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post by ******** »

ok, I've figured out a flow chart for how I'm going to go about this tabscroller thing.
whenever i finish this is whenever version 0.4 is coming out.
hopefully, it'll be done before spring break.
so I've looked through tabscroller's code and I've isolated the part that I think is the key to showing the menu.
If I figure out how to make a pref for the tabscroller feature, enabling/disabling the feature will require a restart.

pretty much, it's going to work like this:
1. when browser loads, check to see if tabscroller feature is enabled.
2. if it's enabled, disable autoscroll.
3. add event listener so whenever user middle-clicks on the page, the menu appears.
4. get the menu to appear in the right spot, like the how context menu works.
5. make sure clicking on tabscroller menu behaves exactly like the tab picker button.
6. if the users clicks with the left mouse button again outside of the menu, make the menu disappear.
7. go back to step 3. :)

it's easier to say than do.
i have the actual menu part done (i'm just using my already completed tabpicker code), i just need to figure how to get the menu appear in the right place at the right time.
if you know how to do this or know anyone that could help with the event listening and handling code, could you give me a hand?
thanks
Last edited by ******** on March 5th, 2006, 7:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
CPU
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas
Contact:

Post by CPU »

try using the code from aio gestures
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403
********
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post by ******** »

CPU, could i use and modify your code that make the tab menu appear you click ctrl+tab in TMP?
i'll give you credit of course.
just the code that makes the menu appear and disappear.

how did you do it anyway?
i've looked through TMP xpi and can't find anything.
User avatar
CPU
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas
Contact:

Post by CPU »

look in tabmix.xul and flst/lasttab.js
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403
********
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post by ******** »

i got bored so...
presenting the story of superT -
featuring Recall, CPU, and TMP among other things :P
http://studio17.wordpress.com/2006/03/0 ... of-supert/
User avatar
Recall
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Recall »

Wow I'm famous lol! :P All seems well atm then mo desertfox, and I have come up with an idea. I am not sure if possible though...

Basically is it possible to implement clicking options on the bookmarks toolbar? IE double click on a bookmark in the toolbar will open in a new tab, shift+click in new windows etc?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0
********
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post by ******** »

well, middle-click on the bookmarks toolbar will open in a new tab.

i'm not sure if it's possible either...

right now, i'm playing around with getting rid of close tab buttons on each tab.
Locked