[Ext] MR Tech's Local Install 5.0.4.1 (6-3-06)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Post Reply
Old Makondo
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Old Makondo »

Thanks, XerBlade (about:functions) - i thought i was misreading something.
Now, does anybody know how to hide some of those about: from showing? I use Menu Editor but all 'abouts' show as one there. Wonder if a css code for hiding menus would work. TIA!
User avatar
XerBlade
Posts: 865
Joined: October 4th, 2005, 10:45 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, US

Post by XerBlade »

about:config > id=AboutConfig
about:plugins > id=AboutPlugins

And so on. They all follow that same convention.

So, in either userChome.css (below the Namespace) or Stylish (XUL NS added to the beginning):

Code: Select all

menuitem[id="AboutConfig"], menuitem[id="AboutPlugins"] {
   display:none !important;
}


That should take care of it, just changing the id to match which items to wish to remove.

P.S. The items in the Help > About:? menu and the about:config/plugins toolbar context menus share the same ids, so this method will remove the indicated items from all three.
User Agent
Extensions
AMD64/2.41GHz RAM/1.0GB ATI/256MB-GDDR3/128-bit/8xAGP Cable6.0M/384kbps
Lost User 33597
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Lost User 33597 »

ranasrule wrote:this is what i get in the jsconsoe every time i press the install button with "override maxversion check" checked

Error: [Exception... "Invalid InterfaceID" nsresult: "0x80570018 (NS_ERROR_XPC_BAD_IID)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js :: anonymous :: line 18" data: no]
Source File: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js
Line: 18


MR.TECH, can u please shed some light on this :-(
Old Makondo
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Old Makondo »

Thanks, XerBlade, i had the code handy, wasn't sure it will work for submenus, - it does. Thanks for your time!
User avatar
slyfox
Posts: 177
Joined: November 6th, 2004, 12:53 pm
Contact:

Post by slyfox »

ranasrule wrote:
ranasrule wrote:this is what i get in the jsconsoe every time i press the install button with "override maxversion check" checked

Error: [Exception... "Invalid InterfaceID" nsresult: "0x80570018 (NS_ERROR_XPC_BAD_IID)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js :: anonymous :: line 18" data: no]
Source File: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js
Line: 18


MR.TECH, can u please shed some light on this :-(


What version are you using?
What it is saying is that "the error is on line 18 of "xpinstall.js""

If we look at line 18 we find this:

Code: Select all

Components.classes["@mozilla.org/network/io-service;1"]


So in other words "@mozilla.org/network/io-service;1" is an invalid Id

That’s what I gather
EDIT: After a google I found out that @mozilla.org/network/io-service is valid
May the source be with you

[EXT] Splash Screen - 1.2 (100%), 2.0 (10%)

[EXT] Slyfox - The Firefox logger - alpha (3%)
User avatar
Uncle Spellbinder
Posts: 3519
Joined: May 28th, 2004, 4:52 pm
Location: Highland, IN - U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by Uncle Spellbinder »

Lanik wrote:For some reason I can't get "Overwrite 'maxVersion" compatibility checking" to work any longer when installing extensions.

Anyone else?


Confirmed: Not working for me either. Tried several archived extensions and Override 'maxVersion" compatibility checking has no effect. Click the button and nothing happens. No notification, no install......nothing.

EDIT-
Tried in clean test profile with only MR Tech Local Install 5.0 installed. Tried to install several extensions using Override 'maxVersion" compatibility checking. Same result.
My Firefox Add-Ons Collection: Firefox Essentials
Lost User 33597
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Lost User 33597 »

slyfox wrote:
ranasrule wrote:
ranasrule wrote:this is what i get in the jsconsoe every time i press the install button with "override maxversion check" checked

Error: [Exception... "Invalid InterfaceID" nsresult: "0x80570018 (NS_ERROR_XPC_BAD_IID)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js :: anonymous :: line 18" data: no]
Source File: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js
Line: 18


MR.TECH, can u please shed some light on this :-(


What version are you using?
What it is saying is that "the error is on line 18 of "xpinstall.js""

If we look at line 18 we find this:

Code: Select all

Components.classes["@mozilla.org/network/io-service;1"]


So in other words "@mozilla.org/network/io-service;1" is an invalid Id

That’s what I gather
EDIT: After a google I found out that @mozilla.org/network/io-service is valid


iam using 5.0
User avatar
mrtech
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by mrtech »

desertfox wrote:mrtech,

My MTLI CSS mods for the Add-ons Manager and My Config in the sidebar

makes it so there is no horizontal scrollbar needed in the Addons Manager and things don't get cut off in My Config.


I'll review this and see if I can merge the changes in, thanks.


ranasrule wrote:this is what i get in the jsconsoe every time i press the install button with "override maxversion check" checked

Error: [Exception... "Invalid InterfaceID" nsresult: "0x80570018 (NS_ERROR_XPC_BAD_IID)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js :: anonymous :: line 18" data: no]
Source File: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js
Line: 18


Looks like the override component isn't registering properly, try uninstalling MTLI, restart the browser and then reinstall.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar
User avatar
mrtech
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by mrtech »

makondo wrote:Thanks for update, Mel! Minor issues:
1. moving button bar in EM still doesn't work for me (Rounded Brushed, will test a clean profile).
2. When i checked 'Remove My Config dropmaker' - it didn't apply, had to restart Fx, worked then. Thanks a lot for the option!


ah good catch, #1 I was already working on, but #2 was part of the preferences optimization I put in to ignore myconfig preference changes when listening for other gui changes, just added a rule to exclude that preference from my optimization so the dropdown option now works instantly, thanks.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar
Lost User 33597
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Lost User 33597 »

mrtech wrote:
desertfox wrote:mrtech,
ranasrule wrote:this is what i get in the jsconsoe every time i press the install button with "override maxversion check" checked

Error: [Exception... "Invalid InterfaceID" nsresult: "0x80570018 (NS_ERROR_XPC_BAD_IID)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js :: anonymous :: line 18" data: no]
Source File: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js
Line: 18


Looks like the override component isn't registering properly, try uninstalling MTLI, restart the browser and then reinstall.


did that many times
User avatar
mrtech
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by mrtech »

ranasrule wrote:did that many times

can you post your configuration?

try the "Repairing Local Install or any Extension" step posted here:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=394723
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar
User avatar
mrtech
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by mrtech »

mrtech wrote:
ranasrule wrote:did that many times

can you post your configuration?

try the "Repairing Local Install or any Extension" step posted here:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=394723


additionally try this:
- open your profile directory
- closing the browser
- delete these files: compreg.dat and xpti.dat
- restart
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar
User avatar
mrtech
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by mrtech »

I just finished up putting in the fix for the commandbar, tested on about 15 themes with 1.5 and doing some testing with 2.0 now :) can anyone say 5.0.1 tonight?
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar
Swami
Posts: 4221
Joined: September 25th, 2004, 11:32 pm

Post by Swami »

Uncle Spellbinder wrote:
Lanik wrote:For some reason I can't get "Overwrite 'maxVersion" compatibility checking" to work any longer when installing extensions.

Anyone else?


Confirmed: Not working for me either. Tried several archived extensions and Override 'maxVersion" compatibility checking has no effect. Click the button and nothing happens. No notification, no install......nothing.

EDIT-
Tried in clean test profile with only MR Tech Local Install 5.0 installed. Tried to install several extensions using Override 'maxVersion" compatibility checking. Same result.

Same here.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.3) Gecko/20060426 Firefox/1.5.0.3 - Build ID: 2006042618
User avatar
mrtech
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by mrtech »

Swami wrote:Same here.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.3) Gecko/20060426 Firefox/1.5.0.3 - Build ID: 2006042618


I'll do some 1.5 testing to see what's up, thanks.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar
Post Reply