MozillaZine

[Ext] IE Tab 1.5

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
snkiz

User avatar
 
Posts: 7
Joined: January 5th, 2007, 4:55 pm

Post Posted January 18th, 2007, 7:48 pm

This is to inform all who haven't figured it out.. ie tab will play launchcast from firefox with out any problems that I have found. Many help pages here and elsewhere on the net state that launchcast has to much ie code making it impossibe to run from firefox. While technicaly thats true I guess, but the way I read the doc's for this plugin state it uses an embeded ie engine. Way to stick it to Mr. Gates!! My only question is: If there is an embeded ie engine in firefox than why is a plugin nessary to acsses it?

HaST

User avatar
 
Posts: 93
Joined: May 10th, 2004, 11:44 pm
Location: Catalonia (Catalunya)

Post Posted January 19th, 2007, 2:21 am

Mmm, user.js goes to the profile folder, isn't it? I don't know how to deploy my user.js to all the personal profiles of all the computers of my company. And if I puter the user.js in /defaults/profile it only affects to the new created profiles, not existing ones.

Why the prefs of the extension are overwritting my own defaults? The old versions don't do it, isn't it?

Now we have to tell people to use I.Explorer instead of Firefox to surf our intranet applications because we have some of them that only work in IE :(

impact37
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 15th, 2007, 7:38 am
Location: UK

Post Posted January 19th, 2007, 10:59 am

WJH, THANKYOU for your reply, simlpe and all sorted!

Take it easy
Ian

FremyCompany
 
Posts: 6
Joined: December 30th, 2006, 3:08 am
Location: Belgium

Post Posted January 19th, 2007, 11:56 am

yuoo2k wrote:
FremyCompany wrote:Hello, First of all, congratulation for this work of excellent quality.

In the future, I like nevertheless that we can use some tools such a DOM Explorer and a Javascript console (Attach a debuger to IE and catch all errors then write them in the JS Console of FireFox ?) under IE Tab, too...

That would facilitate largely the development of Web site, because for the moment, it is still obligatory of launching IE separately to be able to profit, for example of the tools available in the IE Developper Toolbar.

Firefox's Gecko engine and IE's rendering engine are fully difference kernels.
Therefore, it is hard to implement the compatible DOM Explorer and Javascript Console.
In fact, I doubt I have the ability to do that. :doubt:
The DOM using IE-ActiveX Frame :
#IWebBrowser.Document ?
You can't realy create a "référence" for the others add-ins to the Document and Window IE ActiveX Objects ?

achappel
 
Posts: 19
Joined: February 8th, 2005, 5:38 pm

Post Posted January 20th, 2007, 11:04 am

For some reason, when I use IEtab on msnbc.com, Firefox always crashes. Does anyone know why this is happening?

achappel
 
Posts: 19
Joined: February 8th, 2005, 5:38 pm

Post Posted January 20th, 2007, 11:06 am

Correction. Whenever I use IETab, Firefox crashes for me.

haqkzza
 
Posts: 11
Joined: January 7th, 2007, 7:25 pm
Location: Earth

Post Posted January 20th, 2007, 11:51 am

achappel wrote:Correction. Whenever I use IETab, Firefox crashes for me.


I'm using Seamonkey 1.07, and it crashes my browser whenever I use it too...How can I get this to work?

(Seamonkey 1.1 is available, will ie tab work with this version?)

satchmo67

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April 24th, 2006, 4:29 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2007, 2:15 am

Hi there. IE tab is a great extension. I like it so much I even wrote an article / positive review about it at <a href="http://htmlfixit.com/?p=977">HTMLfixIT</a>, but the last couple of updates have not worked as expected.

I write HTML using <a href="http://www.notetab.com/">NoteTab</a> and check as I go in Firefox using a "View in Browser" command from within NoteTab. Without changes saved the preview file is a temporary file named "efo~3.html". I used to be able to use IETab to check these pages in IE as well as Firefox, but since the last couple of updates (early December 2006, I think) this has stopped working. Now I get an IE "The page cannot be displayed" message.

To overcome this I have had to revert back to IEView, which has no such problems.

Can you fix this, please? In the meantime is it possible to download an older version of IETab (pre-December), which did not have this problem?

Thanks,
Gary
<a href="http://www.garybadger.com/">http://www.garybadger.com/</a>

yuoo2k

User avatar
 
Posts: 721
Joined: November 1st, 2005, 9:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Post Posted January 21st, 2007, 3:10 am

satchmo67 wrote:Hi there. IE tab is a great extension. I like it so much I even wrote an article / positive review about it at <a href="http://htmlfixit.com/?p=977">HTMLfixIT</a>, but the last couple of updates have not worked as expected.

I write HTML using <a href="http://www.notetab.com/">NoteTab</a> and check as I go in Firefox using a "View in Browser" command from within NoteTab. Without changes saved the preview file is a temporary file named "efo~3.html". I used to be able to use IETab to check these pages in IE as well as Firefox, but since the last couple of updates (early December 2006, I think) this has stopped working. Now I get an IE "The page cannot be displayed" message.

To overcome this I have had to revert back to IEView, which has no such problems.

Can you fix this, please? In the meantime is it possible to download an older version of IETab (pre-December), which did not have this problem?

Thanks,
Gary
<a href="http://www.garybadger.com/">http://www.garybadger.com/</a>

Can you give me the steps to reproduce the problem?

satchmo67

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April 24th, 2006, 4:29 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2007, 3:28 am

Happy to do so!

1. I open a HTML file in NoteTab Light (a very popular HTML editor free from <a href="http://www.notetab.com/">http://www.notetab.com/</a>)
2. I edit it and press F8 to preview in Firefox
3. After viewing the page I click the FF icon to activate IEView
4. After a couple of seconds I receive an IE "The page cannot be displayed" message
5. If I repeat the process but use IEView (sorry) I have no such problems.

I am using IE6, but like I said this was working well with earlier versions of IETab with IE6.

I would appreciate any support that you can provide.

Thanks,
Gary.

yuoo2k

User avatar
 
Posts: 721
Joined: November 1st, 2005, 9:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Post Posted January 21st, 2007, 4:42 am

satchmo67 wrote:Happy to do so!

1. I open a HTML file in NoteTab Light (a very popular HTML editor free from <a href="http://www.notetab.com/">http://www.notetab.com/</a>)
2. I edit it and press F8 to preview in Firefox
3. After viewing the page I click the FF icon to activate IEView
4. After a couple of seconds I receive an IE "The page cannot be displayed" message
5. If I repeat the process but use IEView (sorry) I have no such problems.

I am using IE6, but like I said this was working well with earlier versions of IETab with IE6.

I would appreciate any support that you can provide.

Thanks,
Gary.

What the URL show on your Firefox's URL bar?

KWierso
 
Posts: 8831
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted January 21st, 2007, 4:51 am

On my computer, I have IE7 and Firefox 2.0.0.1 installed. When I view a page using IETab and right-click a link, it brings up the context menu from IE6, is there some user setting to change it to the IE7 context menu? Or does this have something to do with the embedded engine?

satchmo67

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April 24th, 2006, 4:29 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2007, 6:31 am

yuoo2k wrote:
satchmo67 wrote:Happy to do so!

1. I open a HTML file in NoteTab Light (a very popular HTML editor free from <a href="http://www.notetab.com/">http://www.notetab.com/</a>)
2. I edit it and press F8 to preview in Firefox
3. After viewing the page I click the FF icon to activate IEView
4. After a couple of seconds I receive an IE "The page cannot be displayed" message
5. If I repeat the process but use IEView (sorry) I have no such problems.

I am using IE6, but like I said this was working well with earlier versions of IETab with IE6.

I would appreciate any support that you can provide.

Thanks,
Gary.

What the URL show on your Firefox's URL bar?


An example page:

FF shows URL: file:///D|/Documents%20and%20Settings/Gary/My%20Documents/Web%20Page%20Development/Acclaim%20Security/index.html

IETab shows URL:
file:///D:/PROGRA~1/MOZILL~1/D%7C/Documents%2520and%2520Settings/Gary/My%2520Documents/Web%2520Page%2520Development/Acclaim%2520Security/index.html

Obviously this is a local file on my HDD. The problem only exists with local files, not remotely hosted files. You may want to install Notetab Light to test / recreate the problem.

Cheers,
Gary

satchmo67

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April 24th, 2006, 4:29 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2007, 6:33 am

I should also add that IEView shows URL: D:\Documents and Settings\Gary\My Documents\Web Page Development\Acclaim Security\index.html

yuoo2k

User avatar
 
Posts: 721
Joined: November 1st, 2005, 9:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Post Posted January 21st, 2007, 11:01 pm

satchmo67 wrote:An example page:

FF shows URL: file:///D|/Documents%20and%20Settings/Gary/My%20Documents/Web%20Page%20Development/Acclaim%20Security/index.html

IETab shows URL:
file:///D:/PROGRA~1/MOZILL~1/D%7C/Documents%2520and%2520Settings/Gary/My%2520Documents/Web%2520Page%2520Development/Acclaim%2520Security/index.html

Obviously this is a local file on my HDD. The problem only exists with local files, not remotely hosted files. You may want to install Notetab Light to test / recreate the problem.

Hello,
Please try to install the following test build, does it fix the problem?
http://forum.moztw.org/files/ietab-1.3. ... ld_198.xpi

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests