MozillaZine


[Ext] Download Manager Tweak extension

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
sasquatch
 
Posts: 6022
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted June 22nd, 2004, 9:40 am

So, what version SHOULD I have? And how to get it working properly?

Or should I just wait and try "Update" again in a day or two?

andman42
 
Posts: 54
Joined: February 9th, 2004, 7:50 pm

Post Posted June 22nd, 2004, 12:08 pm

You need version 0.5.0.
The old versions (0.4.x) were not compatible with the new extension manager in FF 0.9. As such, the "Update" command does nothing for the old versions.

sasquatch
 
Posts: 6022
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted June 22nd, 2004, 12:13 pm

andman42 wrote:You need version 0.5.0.
The old versions (0.4.x) were not compatible with the new extension manager in FF 0.9. As such, the "Update" command does nothing for the old versions.


And where does that come from? I tried to use "Update" but no go.

Thanks.

xad

User avatar
 
Posts: 61
Joined: April 13th, 2003, 4:46 pm
Location: London, UK

Post Posted June 22nd, 2004, 6:04 pm

ok, i just downloaded a 12mb file, and i noticed that the problem i noted on the previous page: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... ht=#599856
still exists.

My download speed showed as being 120k when it should be 60k. It them very slowly tried to reach the 60k mark by decreasing slowly.

Is this a problem with the extension or firefox? I don't remember firefox outputting incorrect download speeds Image

*edit* downloaded a 600kb file - started by showing download speed of 200k+ Image

andman42
 
Posts: 54
Joined: February 9th, 2004, 7:50 pm

Post Posted June 24th, 2004, 8:15 pm

TheOneKEA wrote:Plus there was a case sensitivity error which broke the extension on Linux systems, which I alerted sboulema to.

On Linux, Chrome != chrome ;) ;)

Oops. This problem has been fixed.

sasquatch wrote:And where does that come from? I tried to use "Update" but no go.

http://dmextension.mozdev.org/

xad wrote:ok, i just downloaded a 12mb file, and i noticed that the problem i noted on the previous page: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... ht=#599856
still exists.

My download speed showed as being 120k when it should be 60k. It them very slowly tried to reach the 60k mark by decreasing slowly.

Is this a problem with the extension or firefox? I don't remember firefox outputting incorrect download speeds

*edit* downloaded a 600kb file - started by showing download speed of 200k+

I don't know what's going on. The problem is not with the extension. In essence, all the extension does is change the look and feel of the built-in Firefox download manager. The actual information it displays (e.g. download progress, transfer speed, download icon, etc.) is the same information as would be displayed normally. So, I don't know what to tell you.

BlueFyre

User avatar
 
Posts: 1985
Joined: February 11th, 2004, 4:33 pm

Post Posted June 24th, 2004, 8:58 pm

*cough* download manager tweak broken in 20040624 (trunk) don't know about branch
If you notice this notice you may notice that this notice is not worth noticing.

GrailKnight

User avatar
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: January 5th, 2004, 5:40 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted June 24th, 2004, 10:26 pm

BlueFyre

*cough* download manager tweak broken in 20040624 (trunk) don't know about branch


It is broken in the 062404 Branch also.
Went back to using the 6-22-04 Branch and it is fine again.
"There is nothing more deceptive than an obvious fact". - Sherlock Holmes

Soothsayer
 
Posts: 252
Joined: June 23rd, 2004, 8:24 am

Post Posted June 24th, 2004, 10:29 pm

The problem with the incorrect speed being shown is a known bug in FireFox (I am not sure of the bug number though).

What happens, is FireFox starts downloading a file in the background when you are presented with the save window and therefore by the time you have clicked on save and the DM opens some of the file has already been downloaded.

However, FireFox calculates the speed based on the total amount already downloaded based on the time th DM has been open.

If you want to see this problem exagerated, next time you get the save dialogue, wait about 20 seconds before clicking save - FireFox will calculate you are using a T3 connection (if only!)

sasquatch
 
Posts: 6022
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted June 25th, 2004, 8:52 am

got this error, not sure if with the build, or with download manager tweak extension:

Image


Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040624 Firefox/0.9.0+ (bangbang023)

Download Manager Tweak 0.5.0

Choopernickel

User avatar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 21st, 2003, 12:26 pm

Post Posted July 3rd, 2004, 1:37 pm

Has anybody else been having this problem?

Whenever I boot Firefox, the sidebar is open, though nothing is loaded into it. This didn't happen until I had installed the Download Manager Tweak. I've un- and re-installed it, and now when I start the browser, it's open with the download manager shell in it, even though I've told the DM Tweak to use a separate window.

Is there a config/pref setting somewhere that I can change that would take care of this?

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040626 Firefox/0.9.1

DM Tweak 0.5.0

Thanks,
Choop.
0101011101101000011000010111010000100000011001
0001101111011001010111001100100000011110010110
1111011101010111001000100000011100110110100101
1001110010000001110011011000010111100100111111

RiVaL_SSJ
 
Posts: 120
Joined: June 26th, 2004, 3:02 pm
Location: Canada!

Post Posted July 3rd, 2004, 6:31 pm

Works fine for me, I like it alot better than the original plain one.

This should definitely be built into the future versions of Firefox, at least parts of it...

Keep up the great work!

z_Milamber
 
Posts: 3
Joined: July 8th, 2004, 8:49 am

Post Posted July 8th, 2004, 12:16 pm

Great Extension!

Does it support downloading (one file) from multiple sources at once?

madjo
 
Posts: 18
Joined: September 10th, 2003, 3:47 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 7:35 am

0.5.0 doesn't work correctly:

Code: Select all
XML Parsing error: undefined entity
Location: chrome://downloadmgr/content/options/options.xul
Line Number 52, Column 47
<checkbox id="optionsButton" label="&cmd.options.label;"/>
------------------------------------^

for the options dialog

and about the same for the download screen:
Code: Select all
label="&cmd.options.label;" accesskey="&cmd.options.accesskey;"
-------^


I'm using the latest nightly of FF0.9 (it could be that it has something to do with that :-) )

Bh420

User avatar
 
Posts: 46
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 4:52 am

Post Posted July 14th, 2004, 2:57 am

i hope they fix it soon i was so dissapointed when i installed the latest nightly from moox and it quit working

sasquatch
 
Posts: 6022
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted July 15th, 2004, 2:10 pm

Still waiting for a new version.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests