MozillaZine

[Ext] Speed Dial 0.1 : 4-15-2007

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3850
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 12th, 2017, 5:01 am

never! go "group speed dial"

silkmaze
 
Posts: 22
Joined: July 17th, 2004, 8:28 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 9:53 am

Hi. Is Speed dial going to be updated for Firefox 57+ (Quantum)?

Thanks.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3850
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 9:59 am

Brummelchen wrote:never! go "group speed dial"

one above your question :roll:
users using outdated and vulnerable software probably never will get an answer from me - sticked with the past? stay alone.

Clefaria

User avatar
 
Posts: 91
Joined: April 25th, 2011, 3:14 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 3:57 pm

I didn't realize this addon wasn't compatible with 57, and I understand it won't be, but is there now any way to export the link info from it so that I at least have all of the links so that I can manually import them into a different speed dial addon?

I really don't want to lose dozens of saved bookmarks...

EDIT: Found the feature within the recommended addon, what a relief. Glad the old addon was making backups I could find.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3850
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 7:37 am

you can export your settings in SD and import them into Group Speed Dial (options > import).

kamichin
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 15th, 2017, 9:19 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 9:20 am

my firefox updated automatically and i cant access the old SD. is there some way to retrieve my old bookmarks?

Clefaria

User avatar
 
Posts: 91
Joined: April 25th, 2011, 3:14 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 7:51 pm

kamichin wrote:my firefox updated automatically and i cant access the old SD. is there some way to retrieve my old bookmarks?


Search your Firefox folder/subfolders for .speeddial files, and import the newest one. That's what I did.

silkmaze
 
Posts: 22
Joined: July 17th, 2004, 8:28 pm

Post Posted November 16th, 2017, 4:43 pm

Brummelchen wrote:
Brummelchen wrote:never! go "group speed dial"

one above your question :roll:


Thank you.

Vit_UA
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 18th, 2017, 2:23 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 2:32 am

Hello.
I am question to Josep del Rio.
"Whether SpeedDial will work in version 57 Firefox?"
All available app not really convenient.
"SpeedDial from Josep del Rio" was the best application.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3850
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 4:03 am

All available app not really convenient.

what do you miss in special for "group speed dial"?
author is receptive to suggestions.

tomfunk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 22nd, 2017, 4:24 am

Post Posted November 22nd, 2017, 4:35 am

kamichin wrote:my firefox updated automatically and i cant access the old SD. is there some way to retrieve my old bookmarks?


Hi Kamichin ... you found a way to retrieve your old Speed Dial bookmarks? I have the same problem with Speed Dial. There was a Firefox upgrade to version 57 in Fedora 25 and now all SD a gone.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3850
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 22nd, 2017, 7:57 am

download the portable ESR
https://portableapps.com/apps/internet/ ... rtable-esr

close firefox!
then copy the current profile (or a backup) into the portable profiles folder.

if SD missing then reinstall
http://speeddial.uworks.net/

all dials should be available - export dials - then import that file into firefox 57 -> group speed dial.

solinos
 
Posts: 1
Joined: December 30th, 2017, 2:37 am

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 6:56 am

This simple shell print out all SD groups and urls
-------------[cut]---------------
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash

ffroot="$HOME/.mozilla/firefox/"
prof=$(awk -F= '$1=="Path" {print $2}'  "$ffroot/profiles.ini")
finput="$ffroot/$prof/prefs.js"

sed \
   -e 's/^user_pref("//' \
   -e 's/-/\t/g' \
   -e 's/", "*/\t/' \
   -e 's/"*);//' \
   "$finput" |
awk -F'\t' '
$1=="extensions.speeddial.group" && $3=="columns" {dim[$2]=$4}
$1=="extensions.speeddial.group" && $3=="rows" {dim[$2]=dim[$2]*$4}
$1=="extensions.speeddial.group" && $3=="title" {tit[$2]=$4}
$1=="extensions.speeddial.thumbnail" && $3=="url" {url[$2]=$4}
$1=="extensions.speeddial.thumbnail" && $3=="label" {lab[$2]=substr(gensub("%20"," ","g",$4),1,30)}
END {
   i=1
   y=1
   while (tit[i])
   {
      printf("Group Title %3d: %s\n", i, tit[i])
      end=y+dim[i]
      while(y<end)
      {
         printf("%-10s\t[%-30s]\t%s\n", tit[i],lab[y],url[y])
         y++
      }
      i++
      printf("\n")
   }
}
'
exit

-------------[cut]---------------
work for me
hope this help
Dario

grahamperrin
 
Posts: 34
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 3:56 pm

Post Posted February 3rd, 2018, 5:16 pm

Speed Dial 0.9.6.18 on Waterfox 56.0.3.65 on FreeBSD-CURRENT.

For some types of content: if JavaScript is not enabled for a dial, attempting to add the dial will cause the browser to crash.

For example, on my computer file:///usr/local/poudriere/data/logs/bulk/current-freebsd-ports-kde/latest/index.html requires JavaScript for its dial.

I don't expect a fix. Just for the record.

Qre
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 6th, 2018, 7:30 am

Post Posted April 6th, 2018, 8:55 pm

Hi
I'm using Firefox portable 49.0.2 with all my favorites addons. SD is among them.
I have problem when letter of usb flash memory is different than settings i made. With refreshing dials i lose pictures. All pictures for dials (~ 120) is in one folder.

Firefox directory path:
F:\FF4902\

Picture path:
F:\FF4902\Images\

In settings of example dial:
file:///F:/FF4902/Images/example.png

Is it possible to make settings with some relative path to override drive letter? I'm trapped to use 3 different shared computers. All matters to me carry on usb.
Thanks for help.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests