MozillaZine

[Ext] MoreLayouts (for Thunderbird) 3.1 [2016-07-10]

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted May 13th, 2009, 9:47 am

A new beta version v2.0b3pre has been uploaded for compatibility with Tb3.0b3pre. There's no Lightning support as it's unknown (by me) where that stands in relation to Tb3. Please report any issues.

Ken Saunders

User avatar
 
Posts: 1008
Joined: March 14th, 2005, 2:52 pm
Location: Mozillaopolis

Post Posted May 13th, 2009, 11:07 am

Awesome, can't wait to try it.
Thanks!

gnuzoo
 
Posts: 59
Joined: September 9th, 2003, 1:21 pm

Post Posted December 15th, 2009, 9:00 pm

Can this please be upgraded to work with Thunderbird 3.0? I will not upgrade without this great addon.

tobermory1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 1:07 pm

Post Posted January 8th, 2010, 1:56 pm

I'm also looking forward to this plugin being updated to work with Thunderbird 3.0. :D

David.

cecr
 
Posts: 273
Joined: July 3rd, 2009, 6:10 am

Post Posted January 9th, 2010, 4:08 pm

TB3 Tabs are a disappointment to me, this extension looks like it might make TB3 worthwhile. The v2.0b3pre version doesn't work so I hope it can be fixed soon

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2010, 7:34 pm

unfortunately, Tb3 added another layer of complexity in breaking this, and it is not evident how to fix it. it's unlikely i will be working on morelayouts, sorry.

martinvs
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 31st, 2010, 8:13 am

Post Posted January 31st, 2010, 8:32 am

Bad news:(
I have discovered your extension now and my joy was broken after this news... unfortunatelly Stacked View is not support too and xSidebar is not suitable.

Any possibility that anybody will adopt your extension or will be another way to make stacked layout?

LenW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:23 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post Posted February 11th, 2011, 7:05 pm

I understand that "morelayouts" has gotten too complex to maintain,
but are there some manual config tweaks I can try that would reproduce
just the "Wide-Threads" layout? I am running TBird 3.1.7.

BTW, I did try "MoreLayoutsForTb" and Wide-Threads looked promising until
I noticed that I could not drag the splitter between the folder and
message panes. (Ie I could not change the widths of the bottom panes.)

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted February 12th, 2011, 10:06 pm

LenW wrote:I understand that "morelayouts" has gotten too complex to maintain,
but are there some manual config tweaks I can try that would reproduce
just the "Wide-Threads" layout? I am running TBird 3.1.7.

BTW, I did try "MoreLayoutsForTb" and Wide-Threads looked promising until
I noticed that I could not drag the splitter between the folder and
message panes. (Ie I could not change the widths of the bottom panes.)


believe me, wide threads are the reason i did this to begin with.. and the most problematic as far as the DOM restructure.

it *might* be possible to get this to work with all 5 layouts if a restart is performed each time. but that's a poor standard so i didn't pursue it.

LenW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:23 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post Posted February 12th, 2011, 11:12 pm

Thanks, alta88, for all your work in building this and trying to keep it alive.

I for one would not mind at all if changing the layout required
a restart. I would be surprised if users generally keep changing
this once they have found a layout they like.

Is this "DOM restructure" for Wide-Threads something that can be
accomplished with the usual prefs and css files? If so, I would
sure appreciate seeing how to do that.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted February 13th, 2011, 8:38 am

no, it cannot be done via prefs/css.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted May 17th, 2011, 9:56 pm

MoreLayouts for Thunderbird has been released on AMO. Finally. Not an easy one to fix for the Tb 3+ changes, may need to make this donation-ware.. ;)

See also the homepage for details.

LenW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:23 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post Posted May 19th, 2011, 9:30 pm

Thanks for continuing to support this add-on. Some comments:

1) With this add-on enabled, I still cannot move the verticle
pane-separator, as I reported above (Fri, 2011 Feb 11 6:05pm).

2) With this add-on enabled, I cannot "Maximize Message Pane" (Shift-F8)

3) If I set the layout to Wide-Thread, and then disable this add-on:
after the restart, all panes are completely empty, and the
View -> Layout menu has all Views greyed out. To get out of it,
I re-enabled MoreLayouts and set the Layout to one of the standard,
but it certainly was alarming for a few minutes.

4) My original interest in this add-on was to be able to narrow the message
pane for messages that flowed to fill the available width, so I could read
the message without the "tennis spectator" effect.
- Without being able to move the vertical separator, this add-on
doesn't solve this effectively. (I have a wide screen and my
list pane is quite wide.)
- I have found that a quite reasonable work-around is, when I
encounter a wide text-flowed message, I simply double-click
its line in the list pane and read the message in a separate window.

Wide threads layout still seems useful, even with these issues,
so thanks again.
-LenW

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted May 20th, 2011, 9:41 am

1. this works for me with Tb 3.1.10 (as well as 3.3a), and without the folder pane slider moveable wide thread would be sort of pointless. i would suggest closing Tb, renaming localstore.rdf in your profile, and seeing if it works on restart. or restarting with extensions disabled and enabling one by one to see if one of them may conflict.

2. shift-F8 doesn't maximize message pane for me with ML disabled.. now, F8 in wide thread turns off both message pane and folder pane due to the layout structure.

3. yes, an uninstall process needs to reset the pref. poor exception handling by Tb, as the pref can manually be set to anything.

thanks for the feedback.

LenW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:23 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post Posted May 20th, 2011, 1:45 pm

I did as you suggested:
- renamed localstore.rdf
- disabled all my extensions but ML
Sorry - no change. Except that Shift-F8 went away, since it is part of
"Maximize Message Pane 1.1.11" .
I was hoping that extension was the culprit, but I guess not.
(If ML is disabled, the separator moves, regardless of any other extensions.)

I am also running Tb 3.1.10 . I'm afraid that perhaps the relevant
difference may be Linux vs Windows,

Thanks for looking into this.
-LenW

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests