MozillaZine

[Ext] MoreLayouts (for Thunderbird) 3.1 [2016-07-10]

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted May 20th, 2011, 3:53 pm

perhaps i can look into making it compatible with Maximize.

is the immovable splitter true in all Layouts or just wide thread? is there any console error? if you go into about:config, filter on morelayouts, change the string from 'info' to 'debug' there are messages produced. perhaps you can post the output (in a clean profile, immediately after restart). i can think of no technical reason for a linux vs. windows issue.

LenW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:23 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post Posted May 20th, 2011, 11:08 pm

With a new user, no extensions, all three layouts worked fine.
Added ML - Splitter is immovable in ALL layouts.
Set MoreLayouts.logging.console to 'debug' , restarted, got:

2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts DEBUG paneConfig:gCurrentPaneConfig:gAccountCentralLoaded 2:0:true
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts INFO layout --> accountcentral
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts DEBUG messagePaneBox.parent:desiredIdMessagePane - messagesBox:messengerBox
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts DEBUG messengerBox.parent:desiredIdThreadPane - messagesBox:messagesBox
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts DEBUG showAccountCentral
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts DEBUG paneConfig:gCurrentPaneConfig:gAccountCentralLoaded 2:2:true
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts INFO layout --> accountcentral
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts DEBUG showThreadPane
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts DEBUG showThreadPane continue
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts DEBUG paneConfig:gCurrentPaneConfig:gAccountCentralLoaded 2:2:false
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts INFO layout --> vertical
2011-05-20 22:37:50 MoreLayouts DEBUG showThreadPane
2011-05-20 22:39:03 MoreLayouts DEBUG paneConfig:gCurrentPaneConfig:gAccountCentralLoaded 3:2:false
2011-05-20 22:39:03 MoreLayouts INFO layout --> widethread
2011-05-20 22:39:03 MoreLayouts DEBUG messagePaneBox.parent:desiredIdMessagePane - messengerBox:messagesBox
2011-05-20 22:39:03 MoreLayouts DEBUG messengerBox.parent:desiredIdThreadPane - messagesBox:mailContent
2011-05-20 22:39:03 MoreLayouts DEBUG rerootMsgWindow - START
2011-05-20 22:39:03 MoreLayouts DEBUG rerootMsgWindow - completed
2011-05-20 22:39:03 MoreLayouts DEBUG rerootThreadPane - START

(I copy/pasted this line by line; is there a better way?)

Does "Maximize Message Pane" behave for you as it does for me?
-Len

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted May 21st, 2011, 8:05 am

there is a better way, console2. it has selectAll and shift/ctrl-click multiselect. set it to report strict warnings and all js exceptions.

[edit]

no, Maximize does not work, he doesn't take into account the 2 new views, and even says so on the addons site that it doesn't work with Stacked. it would be easy enough for ML to implement a basic maximize, but he does some more sophisticated things and it would be better if he upgraded for compatibility (not that hard). i'll send him an email, you can too.

[edit]

i booted linux, and yes apparently moz-appearance: none; affects linux differently, leading to a zero width splitter. until a fix is released, you can put this in Stylish or userChrome.css

Code: Select all
#threadpane-splitter,
#folderpane_splitter {
  -moz-appearance: splitter !important;
}

LenW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:23 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post Posted May 21st, 2011, 3:00 pm

It works! So *something* is right in the world! :-)
And console2 looks very nice too.

About "Maximize", does it make sense that, with ML enabled,
Shift-F8 is broken even in Classic and Wide-Message Views ?

Thanks much for a great extension!
-Len

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted May 22nd, 2011, 7:50 am

shift-f8 doesn't work with or without ML in wide message, and seems to work the same in classic with ML. by definition, Maximize has to adapt to the positions of panes in the DOM, so issues there would have to go its author..

i'm going to implement a 3way F8 toggle anyway, as Maximize is for a level of fine tuning which panes are visible that is a bit more complex than necessary, imo.

LenW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:23 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post Posted May 23rd, 2011, 11:54 am

I agree, "Maximize" is overkill.
I'm guessing that by "3way F8 toggle" you mean cycling the Thread Pane among
full-height, partial-height, none. The other two panes occupy the
remaining space keeping their width as last set with the splitter.
If so, that sounds great to me.

I have disabled "Maximize" and am reminded that it included some
toolbar buttons. Is that idea of interest to you?
Is there a nice way to do 3way toggle with a button?

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2011, 1:25 pm

MoreLayouts v2.1 for Thunderbird has been released.

See also the homepage for details, and also the latest version prior to AMO being updated.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2011, 1:31 pm

LenW wrote:Is there a nice way to do 3way toggle with a button?


maybe at some point i'll include a button. if you have the Toolbar Buttons extension, it has a message pane toggle button that will work with the new ML code. but it isn't a proper toggler, which would need 3 images and be a menu-button with options.

LenW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:23 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post Posted May 26th, 2011, 4:01 pm

In http://morelayoutsforthunderbird.mozdev.org/ it says:
NEW in v2.1:
* Maximize message pane in the 3pane view with F8.
The pref messagePaneToggleMode has been added to control F8. Values are:
1 - toggle between normal and minimized;
2 - toggle between normal and maximized;
3 - cycle from normal to min to normal to max to normal to min etc.

I tried all the values for messagePaneToggleMode, including 0 ,
all under Wide-Thread View.

The modes I found were (more explicitly than your doc):
- normal
- full-window-message - Message pane occupying full-height and full-width
- full-width-folder - Folder pane normal height and full-width

The rotations I found were:
0 = 3 = toggle: normal / full-width-folder
1 = toggle: normal / full-window-message
2 = cycle: normal -> full-window-message
-> normal -> full-width-folder -> (normal)

- This is not as documented, to say the least.
- Furthermore I found that it would occasionally get stuck in
full-width-folder mode, until I changed focus or clicked on the window
or some such.
- Moreover, I can't think of any use for full-width-folder mode:
the folders would need to nest awfully deep to use a lot of space,
and the splitter should be easily able to provide any needed width, IMO.

Again, I am running Tb 3.1.10, Ubuntu 10.04, and now ML 2.1
-----------------------------

In these terms, let me try to clarify the scheme I mentioned above:
- full-height-message - Message pane occupying full-height
and normal width
- full-height-thread - Thread pane occupying full-height and normal width

I think it would be useful to cycle among:
normal, full-height-message, full-height-thread
I'm not sure returning to normal each time is necessary,
but it's probably fine.
Would it be possible to put this cycle onto Shift-F8 ?

-Len

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2011, 5:29 pm

the doc has been fixed from 1,2,3 to the correct 0,1,2. invalid values default to 0.

however, message pane minimized means just that. it doesn't mean the assumptions you've projected. in wide thread, it means the threadpane and folderpane fill the screen left to right. i agree it's not useful. someone wanting MP minimized, yet with a different layout such as that which comes with classic and MP minimized, for example, should use classic. i don't foresee much of a practical use case for the cycle option, it's there as a concept and i may remove it.

the toggle is for message pane (and really only to add max). full height this or that may or may not be useful, but is orthogonal to MP min-normal-max, and different code design/complexity to function in all 5 layouts. the intent is not to recreate 'Maximize'.

note that each 'folder' tab has its own non persisted state (for MP toggle, following the behavior in stock Tb for MP show/hide). this may lead to thinking something is stuck. (this does not exclude the possibility of a bug where something is stuck).

not going to steal shift-f8, that belongs to another extension in nearly identical functionality.

LenW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:23 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post Posted May 26th, 2011, 6:33 pm

OK, I have set the pref to 1, and I'll see if I ever use F8.
I have written to H.Ogi requesting that "Maximize" support WT,
and that Shift-F8 work as I have suggested here.

Thanks for your seemingly bottomless patience.
-Len

dave_is_sexy
 
Posts: 595
Joined: January 7th, 2005, 8:03 am

Post Posted July 2nd, 2011, 4:24 am

A feature that I would like to see in Tb (2) is something which can change the layout when i maximize. On a widescreen monitor, vertical view is ideal when maximised, but rubbish when the window is small. Infact, it completely messes up, making one pane tiny and unusable, rather than taking a % of screen kind of approach as you'd expect.

Anyway, it seems like MoreLayouts is the ideal extension to add this feature: Tb remembers maximised and restored layouts separately. What do we think? I'd probably opt for Vertical when maximised and Stacked when restored.

Thanks
NB: If this is solved in Tb 3 or newer, I'd still like a Tb 2 solution. Cheers.

skywalker89
 
Posts: 8
Joined: February 2nd, 2011, 3:44 am

Post Posted July 3rd, 2011, 12:52 am

HI,

have a little drama here...

I didn't read that before uninstalling I have to sqwitch back to classical view...now I have a dead TB...is there anything I can do?? ](*,)

Thank you

Daniel

http://getsatisfaction.com/mozilla_messaging/topics/thunderbird_empty_and_dead

LenW
 
Posts: 86
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:23 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post Posted July 3rd, 2011, 4:14 pm

@skywalker89,
I don't know what state your TB is at the moment, so I'll respond
as if you had just seen a "dead" TB, by which I assume you mean one
with menus and panes, but no data showing.

The problem is that the user preference "mail.pane_config.dynamic"
has a value that is valid only if the MoreLayouts addon is installed.

I know of three ways to fix it, so you can take your pick:

(1) close TB and edit <profile>/prefs.js
so that it has a line:
user_pref("mail.pane_config.dynamic", 1);
and no other line for that name.

OR (2) with TB open, go to the config editor with
(Edit or Tools) -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Config Editor
- (promise you'll be careful)
- Filter on "dynamic"
- double-click the line and edit the value to '1'

OR (3) perhaps the easiest:
- Re-install MoreLayouts
- Change the layout to one of the first three choices under
View -> Layout
- Uninstall MoreLayouts

Let us know how it goes.
Cheers,
-LenW

schizo
 
Posts: 16
Joined: February 16th, 2004, 1:43 pm

Post Posted July 14th, 2011, 9:51 am

I can't seem to figure out how to get the lightning today pane under my folders. The config variable isn't on the addon's mozdev page, but I found it in google and no luck. I'm running thunderbird 5, with the latest lightning and morelayouts.

Is this feature just broken right now, or was it removed at some point?

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest