MozillaZine

SQLite Manager - Extension for Firefox, Sunbird, Flock, etc.

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted February 7th, 2008, 5:45 am

I have submitted version 0.2.24 of this extension for review at addons.mozilla.org.

This version can be ignored because the only changes apart from a new version number are support for Firefox up to version 3.0b4pre and for Sunbird up to version 0.8pre.

News: Firefox 3 is likely to have at least the version 3.5.4.1 of sqlite. That, compared to version 3.3.5 in Firefox2, will definitely be some improvement.

KarstenMnyromyrDuesterloh
 
Posts: 8
Joined: May 31st, 2003, 5:37 am
Location: Germany

Post Posted February 9th, 2008, 1:35 pm

Nice tool!
For SeaMonkey, I needed to do some fixes, though:
* Uncomment the section in install.rdf and set the minVersion to 2.0a1pre.
(This is the current trunk version, branch versions like SM 1.x don't use sqlite.)
* Furthermore, smoverlay-sm.xul needs to be changed:
- <menupopup id="toolsPopup">
+ <menupopup id="taskPopup">

Karsten

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted February 9th, 2008, 8:45 pm

KarstenMnyromyrDuesterloh wrote:Nice tool!
For SeaMonkey, I needed to do some fixes, though:
* Uncomment the section in install.rdf and set the minVersion to 2.0a1pre.
(This is the current trunk version, branch versions like SM 1.x don't use sqlite.)
* Furthermore, smoverlay-sm.xul needs to be changed:
- <menupopup>
+ <menupopup>

Karsten


Thanks Karsten!
I have made the changes exactly as suggested by you (except the version numbers, AMO will accept 2.0a and 2.0a1 only); and it works.
Submitted a new version to AMO incorporating just these changes.
Thanks again,
Mrinal.

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted February 10th, 2008, 5:26 am

KarstenMnyromyrDuesterloh wrote:For SeaMonkey, I needed to do some fixes, though:
* Uncomment the section in install.rdf and set the minVersion to 2.0a1pre.
(This is the current trunk version, branch versions like SM 1.x don't use sqlite.)
* Furthermore, smoverlay-sm.xul needs to be changed:
- <menupopup>
+ <menupopup>
I ported an earlier version of SQL Manager to SeaMonkey at http://xsidebar.mozdev.org/modifiedmisc.html#sqlitemanager. It works fine in SeaMonkey 1.1. What makes you think SM 1.1 doesn't use sqlite?

Also I prefer the menu item in "toolsPopup" after all, it's a developer tool innit?

Phil

pj.bringer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 5:26 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2008, 5:35 am

Were you planning to allow retrieving data from a web page?

The <a href="http://simile.mit.edu/wiki/Exhibit"> Exhibit</a> tool from the MIT Simile projoect uses a javascript database to create a rich visualization for raw data. It would be interesting to allow sqlitemanager to both download an exhibit's data, or to push data into an exhibit. Though this can already be done, it may be interesting to have a standard way for a web page to signal it has data to offer, or that it can accept data.
I don't know of any precedent for this kind of behaviour. Although naively checking the links of a page for a special tag might work, it would be good for sqlitemanager to be able to interact with javascript code, because of ajax technologies.

Also getting sqlitemanager to download data from Exhibit could be done by importing a json data file. Would you be interested in such an importer?

2Jim
 
Posts: 1
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 11:23 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2008, 11:42 am

VIEW.. menu tab choice does not work correct for us new users.. it needs some sub choices to choose which fields to view.
EDIT RECORD... seems to produce double entries ie the original entry plus the correction ends up in the FIELD.

PRINTING.. there appears to be no way to print out (or save to disk /w filename) a view or make a report.

PROGRAM is easy to use (A++++), but lacks any obvious way to print/view/create a report (F minus).

My thanks to those who know what they are doing for taking the time to read this comment, and to work on this project.

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted February 11th, 2008, 4:32 am

2Jim wrote:VIEW.. menu tab choice does not work correct for us new users.. it needs some sub choices to choose which fields to view.
EDIT RECORD... seems to produce double entries ie the original entry plus the correction ends up in the FIELD.

I could not follow what you are trying to say about the VIEW menu tab.
The edit record field is multiline textbox. Could it be that you are mistakenly editing in the second line when only one is visible thus retaining the text in the first line too? Because I do not find this problem on my system, I would also like to know your OS and application version (eg, firefox 2.0.0.12, etc.) where you are facing this problem.

2Jim wrote:PRINTING.. there appears to be no way to print out (or save to disk /w filename) a view or make a report.

PROGRAM is easy to use (A++++), but lacks any obvious way to print/view/create a report (F minus).


yes, your remarks on printing are correct. something needs to be done about that.

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted February 11th, 2008, 9:01 am

Some comments on v0.2.25:
chrome.manifest
Code: Select all
....
# Thunderbird
overlay chrome://messenger/content/mailWindowOverlay.xul   chrome://sqlitemanager/content/smoverlay-tb.xul      application={3550f703-e582-4d05-9a08-453d09bdfdc6}
overlay chrome://messenger/content/messengercompose/messengercompose.xul   chrome://sqlitemanager/content/smoverlay-tb-comp.xul   application={3550f703-e582-4d05-9a08-453d09bdfdc6}
....
#SeaMonkey
overlay     chrome://navigator/content/navigator.xul         chrome://sqlitemanager/content/smoverlay-sm.xul

#Thunderbird
overlay chrome://messenger/content/mailWindowOverlay.xul   chrome://sqlitemanager/content/smoverlay-tb.xul      application={92650c4d-4b8e-4d2a-b7eb-24ecf4f6b63a}
overlay chrome://messenger/content/messengercompose/messengercompose.xul   chrome://sqlitemanager/content/smoverlay-tb-comp.xul   application={92650c4d-4b8e-4d2a-b7eb-24ecf4f6b63a}
That last #Thunderbird comment is wrong as the last two lines apply to SeaMonkey due to the application flag at the end of the line. Earlier in the file are the actual lines for Thunderbird (with the correct application flags).

misc.js
Code: Select all
--- mods/sqlitemanager/0225/jar/content/misc.old.js   Sun Feb 10 09:25:54 2008
+++ mods/sqlitemanager/0225/jar/content/misc.js   Mon Feb 11 15:48:14 2008
@@ -115,17 +115,31 @@
   {
     // If there is no recently used browser window
     // then open new browser window with the URL
     var ass = Components.classes["@mozilla.org/appshell/appShellService;1"]
                         .getService(Components.interfaces.nsIAppShellService);
     var win = ass.hiddenDOMWindow;
     
-    win.openDialog("chrome://browser/content/browser.xul", "",
+    win.openDialog(sm_getBrowserURL(), "",
                    "chrome,all, dialog=no", UrlToGoTo );
   }
+}
+
+function sm_getBrowserURL()
+{
+   // For SeaMonkey etc where the browser window is different.
+   try {
+      var prefs = Components.classes["@mozilla.org/preferences-service;1"]
+         .getService(Components.interfaces.nsIPrefBranch);
+      var url = prefs.getCharPref("browser.chromeURL");
+      if (url)
+         return url;
+   } catch(e) {
+   }
+   return "chrome://browser/content/browser.xul";
 }
 
 function sm_getBundle()
 {
    if(global_smBundle == null)
    {
       global_smBundle = document.getElementById("sm-bundle"); 
Instead of hard coding the chrome URL for the browser window, try to use the "browser.chromeURL" pref first then fallback to a hard coded URL. This will make your code more application independent.

Phil

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted February 11th, 2008, 12:39 pm

Philip Chee wrote:Some comments on v0.2.25:
That last #Thunderbird comment is wrong as the last two lines apply to SeaMonkey due to the application flag at the end of the line. Earlier in the file are the actual lines for Thunderbird (with the correct application flags).

Instead of hard coding the chrome URL for the browser window, try to use the "browser.chromeURL" pref first then fallback to a hard coded URL. This will make your code more application independent.

Phil


Thanks Phil, especially for that chromeURL suggestion. I will use your patch in the next version.

hcusto
 
Posts: 1
Joined: February 12th, 2008, 12:59 am

Post Posted February 12th, 2008, 1:06 am

Hi, i have only one suggestion.

If it is possible to make field for executing queries re sizable it would be great, because all of our queries are longer then 3 lines of text :)

here is shadowed field which need to be resized.

Image

brettz9
 
Posts: 123
Joined: November 5th, 2005, 9:16 am

Post Posted February 13th, 2008, 6:44 pm

Hello Mrinal and all,

Superb extension... Just wondering what license SQLite Manager is under?

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted February 13th, 2008, 8:07 pm

mrinal.kant wrote:Thanks Phil, especially for that chromeURL suggestion. I will use your patch in the next version.
I had a look at the Extension listing on AMO. Just to note that I spell my name with one "l" in "Philip".

Phil

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted February 14th, 2008, 1:51 am

brettz9 wrote:Hello Mrinal and all,

Superb extension... Just wondering what license SQLite Manager is under?

SQLite Manager extension license information:

The Initial Developer of the SQLite Manager extension is Mrinal Kant.

Contents of all files in this project are subject to the Mozilla Public
License Version 1.1 (the "License"); you may not use this file except
in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of the License
at http://www.mozilla.org/MPL/

Software distributed under the License is distributed on an "AS IS" basis,
WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, either express or implied. See the License
for the specific language governing rights and limitations under the
License.

Portions created by the Initial Developer are Copyright (C) 2007 the
Initial Developer. All Rights Reserved.

Alternatively, the contents of this file may be used under the terms of
either the GNU General Public License Version 2 or later (the "GPL"), or
the GNU Lesser General Public License Version 2.1 or later (the "LGPL"),
in which case the provisions of the GPL or the LGPL are applicable instead
of those above. If you wish to allow use of your version of this file only
under the terms of either the GPL or the LGPL, and not to allow others to
use your version of this file under the terms of the MPL, indicate your
decision by deleting the provisions above and replace them with the notice
and other provisions required by the GPL or the LGPL. If you do not delete
the provisions above, a recipient may use your version of this file under
the terms of any one of the MPL, the GPL or the LGPL.

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted February 14th, 2008, 1:53 am

Philip Chee wrote:
mrinal.kant wrote:Thanks Phil, especially for that chromeURL suggestion. I will use your patch in the next version.
I had a look at the Extension listing on AMO. Just to note that I spell my name with one "l" in "Philip".

Phil


Noted and fixed!

Constantine.Wiolowan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: February 14th, 2008, 4:57 am

Post Posted February 14th, 2008, 5:10 am

Hello, Mrinal. Thanks for great work.
I wonder, is it possible to add '\t' (or input field for arbitrary char.) for CSV import/export?
Also, when I import the table in UTF8 CSV format, it is shown in the Browse & Search tab as 8-bit ASCII (see screenshot). When I add the record manually (using Add New Record button) it is shown OK.
leading UTF signature is not dropped. UTF8 without signature is imported and shown exactly the same
<img src="http://dviewer.nm.ru/ff-sqlite-utf8.gif">

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests