MozillaZine

SQLite Manager - Extension for Firefox, Sunbird, Flock, etc.

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
CanyonCasa
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 1st, 2008, 12:44 pm
Location: Albuquerque

Post Posted January 5th, 2008, 10:23 am

Wow, your response time is faster than being on hold with Microsoft, HP, ... And thanks for being truly open minded about open source. It's rare to find someone so willing to take on user requests and it reflects in the quality of the product.

mrinal.kant wrote:
CanyonCasa wrote:Add a DB Setting to not require all the confirmations.


please give examples of the confirmations not already covered under preferences (general menu -> options)


I am referring to the confirmation dialogs for all actions such as "Are you sure you want to create table..." Since DB actions occur in real time user's should backup the DB before doing anything at all.

Along those lines, under "When SQLite Manager starts..." it would be useful to have an auto backup option that copies the DB to a timestamped backup.


mrinal.kant wrote:
CanyonCasa wrote:In the Create Table dialog, the "Data Type" list should include DATETIME, ENUM, and BLOB types.


added DATETIME and BLOB types in version 0.2.15. For ENUM, read below.

...

AFAIK, there is no ENUM type in sqlite. How do you propose your suggestion should be implemented?


My suggestion is not to add an ENUM type to SQLite, but to simply allow the user to define it for compatibility with other databases. This is equivalent to BLOB since SQLite does not recognize it either, nonetheless a user may define a blob type that other databases recognize on import.

In my example I was simply suggesting building each dropdown list of the "Edit Record" dialog as a unique set of values already entered for each specific column such that the user doesn't have to type all the data for every field.

Optionally, ENUM type could be treated as an affinity to only create unique lists for specific columns, just like integer type is used to cause columns to sort numerically even though SQLite stores the data as strings. This would reduce the time overhead of creating the lists for every column of large databases.

Pijoter
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 2:33 am

Post Posted January 5th, 2008, 12:50 pm

1. CREATE TABLE `r` (`id` INTEGER PRIMARY KEY , `dt` DATETIME)
2. Add new Record via Browse & Search page
3. Select CURRENT_DATETIME value for dt column then hit OK.

CURRENT_DATETIME string is quoted!
So instead:
insert into r ('dt') values (CURRENT_TIMESTAMP)
I got:
insert into r ('dt') values ('CURRENT_TIMESTAMP')

The same is when I use CURRENT_DATE or CURRENT_TIME
Bug?

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted January 5th, 2008, 1:58 pm

CanyonCasa wrote:in IMPLICIT mode the keyword terms ought to be exempt from quoting. For example, it makes no sense to quote CURRENT_TIME just like NULL is not quoted.

Pijoter wrote:CURRENT_DATETIME string is quoted! .... The same is when I use CURRENT_DATE or CURRENT_TIME
Bug?


version 0.2.18 fixes this. the keywords will not be implicitly quoted no matter which mode is set under preferences

Pijoter
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 2:33 am

Post Posted January 7th, 2008, 1:11 pm

mrinal.kant wrote:version 0.2.18 fixes this. the keywords will not be implicitly quoted no matter which mode is set under preferences


Thank you.

rom2
 
Posts: 31
Joined: May 22nd, 2007, 7:50 pm

Post Posted January 7th, 2008, 10:34 pm

I find it a bit strange to see a DBMS in a browser. It's like having a car washing clothes :) Could be done but why?

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted January 8th, 2008, 12:26 pm

Version 0.2.19 has been released.
Download from songbirdnest.com: http://addons.songbirdnest.com/extensions/detail/89
Download from AMO: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/5817

In version 0.2.19:
Bug Fixed:
- Drop Column: If the first column of a table was selected to be dropped, there was an error owing to an incorrect sql statement in the extension. Fixed.

(thanks to Gene Thomas for reporting this bug)

Complete changelog: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... sions/5817
Homepage: http://sqlitemanager.mozdev.org/
FAQs: http://sqlitemanager.mozdev.org/faq.html

impertinence
 
Posts: 2
Joined: April 8th, 2004, 3:59 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2008, 3:19 pm

This is a really nice piece of software, already much better than the older, standalone utilities I've found. However, there are a few more features I'd like: import/export tab-delimited, edit for search results, faster loads for large tables, and one-time dialogs (no 'cancel' button) for things that are usually one-time like imports. :D

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 7:28 pm

Version 0.2.20 has been released.
Download from songbirdnest.com: http://addons.songbirdnest.com/extensions/detail/89
Download from AMO: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/5817 (pending for review)

In version 0.2.20:
Changes:
- CSV export: the export is done almost as by docs.google.com and MS Excel. That is, double quotes enclose fields (always or those that contain separator and/or double quotes). To escape the double quotes in the value, they are repeated.
- CSV import: can import the de-facto standard csv as described above. There were bugs too (eg, comma within double quotes was misinterpreted) which have been removed.

Complete changelog: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... sions/5817
Homepage: http://sqlitemanager.mozdev.org/
FAQs: http://sqlitemanager.mozdev.org/faq.html

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 7:39 pm

impertinence wrote:However, there are a few more features I'd like: import/export tab-delimited,

even the csv handling was imperfect. just corrected that. will handle TSV now

impertinence wrote:edit for search results

not clear, what you mean by that? please explain

impertinence wrote:faster loads for large tables

if u observe that the load is slow, you can restrict the number of rows that should be loaded at one time using preferences.

impertinence wrote:and one-time dialogs (no 'cancel' button) for things that are usually one-time like imports. :D

will be done in the next version. actually missed this point otherwise I would have done it already. This is after all how most applications behave.

geon

User avatar
 
Posts: 44
Joined: January 20th, 2008, 8:40 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2008, 11:37 am

importing csv file in utf-8 is not correct for east-european national letters ..

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted January 21st, 2008, 11:47 am

geon wrote:importing csv file in utf-8 is not correct for east-european national letters ..


please cite an example row that causes the error. it would help me correct the error.

geon

User avatar
 
Posts: 44
Joined: January 20th, 2008, 8:40 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2008, 11:58 am

for example these rows saved in utf-8 file:

Name;Surname;Class
Andrea;Alinčová;1.A
Patricie;Bartošová;1.A
Milan;Bašek;1.A
Adam;Beneš;1.A
Jana;Bizoňová;1.A
Kamila;Bradáčová;1.A
Michaela;Burešová;1.A
Zuzana;Černá;1.A
Alena;Daňková;1.A

geon

User avatar
 
Posts: 44
Joined: January 20th, 2008, 8:40 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2008, 12:14 pm

another trouble ;-):

I use it in a class as for teaching databases principles. And when on one computer I add a record how quickly I can see this change on another computer in fold Browse&Search? Could there be "update view" key? F5? Thank you. We have the similar trouble when we add a new table on one computer - the other ones were not able to see this change .... Hoping my English is not much bad ...

EDIT: we share the same database, of course ...

mrinal.kant
 
Posts: 81
Joined: June 28th, 2005, 1:38 pm

Post Posted January 22nd, 2008, 12:50 pm

geon wrote:another trouble ;-):

I use it in a class as for teaching databases principles. And when on one computer I add a record how quickly I can see this change on another computer in fold Browse&Search? Could there be "update view" key? F5? Thank you. We have the similar trouble when we add a new table on one computer - the other ones were not able to see this change .... Hoping my English is not much bad ...

EDIT: we share the same database, of course ...


thanks for the suggestion. Implemented in version 0.2.21.
As for your English, I could follow everything you said.

Regarding the Eastern European characters problem, I am struggling to properly handle UTF-8. Firefox 3 beta 2 does a little better than Firefox 2 but the proper solution is yet to come. Will let you know when it is done.

----------------------------------
Version 0.2.21 has been released.
Download from songbirdnest.com: http://addons.songbirdnest.com/extensions/detail/89
Download from AMO: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/5817

In version 0.2.21:
Changes:
- Refresh option: if a db file changes using tools outside an instance of this extension, there was no way of refreshing the db in the extensin itself.
Now the user can refresh in one of the following 3 ways:
1. refresh toolbar button
2. Database -> Refresh menuitem
3. Shift + F5
(thanks to geon at forums.mozillazine.org for this suggestion)

Complete changelog: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... sions/5817
Homepage: http://sqlitemanager.mozdev.org/
FAQs: http://sqlitemanager.mozdev.org/faq.html

neven.gorsic
 
Posts: 1
Joined: January 24th, 2008, 1:11 am

Post Posted January 24th, 2008, 1:21 am

Upper and Lower string function doesn't change correctly special letters čćšžđČĆŠŽĐ from Croatian character font.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests