[Ext] TotalToolbar 1.9.3 [2013-08-11]

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Post Reply
User avatar
ehume
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post by ehume »

What's this?

Image

fx3b5pre 2008-03-21 nightly. Those "Toolbar" labels don't show up when TT is disabled.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.
alta88
Posts: 1029
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post by alta88 »

that indicates there's a customizable (empty) toolbar there. in statusbar customize mode, you can drag it to the palette to get rid of it, or move it anywhere you like. in normal customize mode, you can drag any button into the statusbar toolbars. it's all in the FAQ..
User avatar
ehume
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post by ehume »

But these things are showing up in the status bar during normal mode, not customize. They take up room that Colorzilla, IETab, NoScript, and especially ForecastFox take up. As an example, I have eight little windows for ForecastFox. And that's not including the extended status bar extension (I don't know its name) that also takes up a lot of space.

I really think these toolbar things are not a good idea except in Customize mode.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.
alta88
Posts: 1029
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post by alta88 »

they are there to make it more obvious that toolbar buttons can be placed in statusbar. if you don't want them, drag them off. in fact, i've done it purposefully this way so people will learn Customize.
User avatar
ehume
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post by ehume »

Can't drag them off. Just tried.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.
User avatar
echoes
Posts: 835
Joined: November 13th, 2005, 1:09 am
Location: Labyrinths of coral caves

Post by echoes »

ehume wrote:Can't drag them off. Just tried.

well thats the first thing i did when i installed this extension, so its does work...
User avatar
ehume
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post by ehume »

OK. I finally got it: right-click to customize status bar leads to a completely separate Customize window.

Maybe I'm a bit of a dunderhead, but where I missed the method, others will as well.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.
alta88
Posts: 1029
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post by alta88 »

hmm. toolbar customize and statusbar customize have to be different, for technical reasons, ie a different palette. if you can think of a more clear way to get this across, i'll listen..

but i think rt click means get the context menu of the thing the cursor is over, pretty universally.
User avatar
ehume
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post by ehume »

Perhaps a notice in the main Customize window that statusbar customizations are separate, and can be had by right-clicking on the statusbar.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.
Bozz
Posts: 2684
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:53 pm

Post by Bozz »

A Bold note of some sort on the download page should be easiest.
User avatar
ehume
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post by ehume »

I have a question about writing my theme to support TT.

I have a theme with a black background (Halloween). In Customize mode, I get white vertical feedback bars in horizontal toolbars that show where a button is going to land. With the old tbx and tbex, I had nice white horizontal bar on my vertical toolbar to show where buttons were going to land. Now, something is there, because when the target occludes one of my white separators, the separator dims.

Any clue how to make the drag-drop feedback show up in white on a black vertical toolbar?

Thanks.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.
alta88
Posts: 1029
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post by alta88 »

for horizontal toolbars, go to the source, and do a text search for dragover=, and the results will show what default themes do.

for vertical toolbars, go to [profile]/extensions/totaltoolbar@mozdev.org/chrome/content/totaltoolbar.css.

note that when dragging an item in statusbar, the right dragover indicator will never fire on what seems to be the last item. that's because while the last visible item in a toolbar is also always the last node, this isn't true for statusbar.
alta88
Posts: 1029
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post by alta88 »

User avatar
ehume
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post by ehume »

Thank you.

This is what you have in totaltoolbar.css:

Code: Select all

toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[place=toolbar] {
  margin: -2px 0px;
  border: none;
  border-top: 2px solid transparent;
  border-bottom: 2px solid transparent;
}
toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="left"] {
  border-color: transparent;
  border-top-color: #000000;
}
toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="right"] {
  border-color: transparent;
  border-bottom-color: #000000;
}
#statusbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="left"] statusbarpanel {
  border-color: transparent; margin-left: -2px;
  border-left-color: #000000; border-left-width: 2px;
}


I put that in my own toolbar.css file, changed #000000 to #FFFFFF but had no change. Then I added !important and it works:

Code: Select all

toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[place=toolbar] {
  margin: -2px 0px;
  border: none;
  border-top: 2px solid transparent;
  border-bottom: 2px solid transparent;
}
toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="left"] {
  border-color: transparent;
  border-top-color: #FFFFFF !important;
}
toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="right"] {
  border-color: transparent;
  border-bottom-color: #FFFFFF !important;
}
#statusbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="left"] statusbarpanel {
  border-color: transparent; margin-left: -2px;
  border-left-color: #FFFFFF !important; border-left-width: 2px;
}


I hope this will help others who have black themes.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.
nettrotter
Posts: 87
Joined: June 26th, 2007, 6:17 pm

Post by nettrotter »

It cannot be used in firefox3.0 Rc1 any more. can the author update it with compatibility?
Post Reply