MozillaZine

[Ext] TotalToolbar 1.9.3 [2013-08-11]

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted March 21st, 2008, 4:11 pm

What's this?

Image

fx3b5pre 2008-03-21 nightly. Those "Toolbar" labels don't show up when TT is disabled.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted March 21st, 2008, 10:28 pm

that indicates there's a customizable (empty) toolbar there. in statusbar customize mode, you can drag it to the palette to get rid of it, or move it anywhere you like. in normal customize mode, you can drag any button into the statusbar toolbars. it's all in the FAQ..

ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted March 22nd, 2008, 12:20 pm

But these things are showing up in the status bar during normal mode, not customize. They take up room that Colorzilla, IETab, NoScript, and especially ForecastFox take up. As an example, I have eight little windows for ForecastFox. And that's not including the extended status bar extension (I don't know its name) that also takes up a lot of space.

I really think these toolbar things are not a good idea except in Customize mode.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted March 22nd, 2008, 1:48 pm

they are there to make it more obvious that toolbar buttons can be placed in statusbar. if you don't want them, drag them off. in fact, i've done it purposefully this way so people will learn Customize.

ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted March 22nd, 2008, 2:37 pm

Can't drag them off. Just tried.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

echoes

User avatar
 
Posts: 835
Joined: November 13th, 2005, 1:09 am
Location: Labyrinths of coral caves

Post Posted March 22nd, 2008, 2:52 pm

ehume wrote:Can't drag them off. Just tried.

well thats the first thing i did when i installed this extension, so its does work...

ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted March 22nd, 2008, 3:23 pm

OK. I finally got it: right-click to customize status bar leads to a completely separate Customize window.

Maybe I'm a bit of a dunderhead, but where I missed the method, others will as well.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted March 22nd, 2008, 3:55 pm

hmm. toolbar customize and statusbar customize have to be different, for technical reasons, ie a different palette. if you can think of a more clear way to get this across, i'll listen..

but i think rt click means get the context menu of the thing the cursor is over, pretty universally.

ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted March 22nd, 2008, 5:50 pm

Perhaps a notice in the main Customize window that statusbar customizations are separate, and can be had by right-clicking on the statusbar.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

Bozz
 
Posts: 2669
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:53 pm

Post Posted March 22nd, 2008, 6:05 pm

A Bold note of some sort on the download page should be easiest.

ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted March 22nd, 2008, 9:45 pm

I have a question about writing my theme to support TT.

I have a theme with a black background (Halloween). In Customize mode, I get white vertical feedback bars in horizontal toolbars that show where a button is going to land. With the old tbx and tbex, I had nice white horizontal bar on my vertical toolbar to show where buttons were going to land. Now, something is there, because when the target occludes one of my white separators, the separator dims.

Any clue how to make the drag-drop feedback show up in white on a black vertical toolbar?

Thanks.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted March 23rd, 2008, 8:37 am

for horizontal toolbars, go to the source, and do a text search for dragover=, and the results will show what default themes do.

for vertical toolbars, go to [profile]/extensions/totaltoolbar@mozdev.org/chrome/content/totaltoolbar.css.

note that when dragging an item in statusbar, the right dragover indicator will never fire on what seems to be the last item. that's because while the last visible item in a toolbar is also always the last node, this isn't true for statusbar.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted March 23rd, 2008, 9:14 am


ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted March 23rd, 2008, 9:35 am

Thank you.

This is what you have in totaltoolbar.css:
Code: Select all
toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[place=toolbar] {
  margin: -2px 0px;
  border: none;
  border-top: 2px solid transparent;
  border-bottom: 2px solid transparent;
}
toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="left"] {
  border-color: transparent;
  border-top-color: #000000;
}
toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="right"] {
  border-color: transparent;
  border-bottom-color: #000000;
}
#statusbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="left"] statusbarpanel {
  border-color: transparent; margin-left: -2px;
  border-left-color: #000000; border-left-width: 2px;
}


I put that in my own toolbar.css file, changed #000000 to #FFFFFF but had no change. Then I added !important and it works:
Code: Select all
toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[place=toolbar] {
  margin: -2px 0px;
  border: none;
  border-top: 2px solid transparent;
  border-bottom: 2px solid transparent;
}
toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="left"] {
  border-color: transparent;
  border-top-color: #FFFFFF !important;
}
toolbox[vertical=true] > toolbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="right"] {
  border-color: transparent;
  border-bottom-color: #FFFFFF !important;
}
#statusbar toolbarpaletteitem[dragover="left"] statusbarpanel {
  border-color: transparent; margin-left: -2px;
  border-left-color: #FFFFFF !important; border-left-width: 2px;
}


I hope this will help others who have black themes.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

nettrotter
 
Posts: 87
Joined: June 26th, 2007, 6:17 pm

Post Posted May 13th, 2008, 5:55 pm

It cannot be used in firefox3.0 Rc1 any more. can the author update it with compatibility?

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest