MozillaZine

[Ext] TotalToolbar 1.9.3 [2013-08-11]

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
webulator70
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 9th, 2013, 12:50 pm

Post Posted November 12th, 2013, 11:32 am

It's not the tab bar, its the white bits on the sides of the tab bar. If you close those, there is no way to get them back, even defaulting all the toolbars. Sure one could just avoid doing it but it might be nice to have the ability to close and re open them as with other panels, via an option on the right click perhaps.

As for Australis, I just gave TT a shot with it. It actually works almost completely right off the bat, though moving the tab bar from the top to another position and back again doesn't quite end up right.

Thanks for your time and the extension.

alta88
 
Posts: 978
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted November 12th, 2013, 12:08 pm

I'm using Fx 28 trunk and am not sure what you mean by 'white bits on the side', perhaps a screenshot would help.

webulator70
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 9th, 2013, 12:50 pm

Post Posted November 12th, 2013, 12:14 pm

Oh, sorry. For the white bits thing, I meant on non-Australis Firefox builds, in my case 26b4. I just realized that they are not there on Australis, so this whole issue won't matter in a few months anyway.

Image
Putting a close button on those white bits and closing them isn't quite the same as closing the tab bar.

alta88
 
Posts: 978
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted November 12th, 2013, 2:10 pm

ah, right. those are tabs toolbars, an ancient remnant (they should be red outlined, hmm). anyway, they are not needed as the tabsbar is a customizable toolbar now and items can be dropped onto it. they'll be removed next update. in the meanwhile, as the doc says, don't do that.

nonat
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 5th, 2013, 10:54 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2013, 7:48 pm

Thankyou so much for this addon, just discovered my current profiles wont save custom toolbars on restart, and have done all the suggested checks mentioned in the half dozen threads on the topic, and tried a few other useless addons claiming to be toolbar or bookmark enhancements, nothing worked, except TotalToolbar :D

However, theres a pretty big caveat, hadnt read thur this thread to see DMCrimson mentioned it in Nov 2011 about a problem with UI Fixer, an had that installed on another profile that allso couldnt save bookmarks, which chucked a major fit when installing TotalToobar, luckily it wasnt as big an ordeal to figure out that it was UI Fixer, and also worked out a possible system to have them working together properly.

1) uninstall both UI Fixer and TotalToolbar
2) reinstall UI Fixer and in its options menu untick all the options, then restart the browser
3) install Total Toolbar and restart
4) in UI Fixer, retick just the option "make Firefox menu button movable"
5) in the Customize menu, drag the Firefox menu button to the nav bar
6) in Firefox menu or menu bar, click Exit (only use that option to test it works)

the bad new is if that doesnt work or you get buggy behaviour after installing TotalToolbar, probably nothing will, TotalToolbar will have to go, and not out of any preference for UI Fixer but cause once you get the buggy behaviour, TotalToolbar cant be used even after UI Fixers uninstalled like UI Fixer replaces something with a custom version and TotalToolbar hasnt a clue, but if UI Fixers still there (and the two were installed in correct order) TotallToolbar seems fine with it.

Very strange bug, and when its going wrong, will mess Firefox big time, cosmetically it might look like this but'll also do things like make the "Exit" button in Firefox menus stop working and stop Profile Switcher working, and in those pics, id alotof tabs that shouldve been restored, and only would after uninstalling TotalToolbar again, may also put the tabs on bottom, and wont move them back, and the firefox button wont be movable either, even if UI Fixers installed and that option ticked. So seems you have to get the install order right or TotalToolbars not worth using. Have it working now on two profiles with both addons

fwiw, a safer combination might be TotalToolbar and Movable Firefox Button but havent tried them together, it does the same thing as UI Fixer.

alta88
 
Posts: 978
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted November 30th, 2013, 9:11 am

alta88 wrote:ah, right. those are tabs toolbars, an ancient remnant (they should be red outlined, hmm). anyway, they are not needed as the tabsbar is a customizable toolbar now and items can be dropped onto it. they'll be removed next update. in the meanwhile, as the doc says, don't do that.


it turns out the tabs toolbars are useful for a vertical tabs view (using TreeStyleTabs), so they'll stay. but if empty won't take up any space.

@nonat: i don't think either UIFixer or Moveable extensions (from what i can tell) are needed if TT is installed; it should override buttons that are hardcoded to be immovable.

the biggest mess with australis is the removal of toolbar customization features. the original toolbar code hasn't been removed (for easy backout) so TT will continue to work. if the plan to move the new toolbar code to toolkit goes forward, TT will need to be revisited in a larger way.

nonat
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 5th, 2013, 10:54 am

Post Posted December 1st, 2013, 1:26 am

oh sure, guess your right, scratch that last comment, but assume you got the main point you *do* need UI Fixer with TT if youve had it installed before, or mabye it could be as simple as cleaning up leftover prefs.js entries, didnt know about that option the other day

alta88
 
Posts: 978
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2013, 9:22 am

it turns out enough has changed, such as apis that allowed palette drag/drop to work, that the current version of TT (1.9.3) won't work with australis, and will need a rewrite. chances are it may not happen.

multy7
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2014, 3:11 am

Post Posted May 7th, 2014, 9:26 am

alta88 wrote:it turns out enough has changed, such as apis that allowed palette drag/drop to work, that the current version of TT (1.9.3) won't work with australis, and will need a rewrite. chances are it may not happen.


Won't you please reconsider? Even in its broken state this addon is the only one that lets you keep any additional generic toolbars in FF29. Not even the Classic Theme Restorer will support that.

alta88
 
Posts: 978
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted May 9th, 2014, 10:28 am

TotalToolbar is now discontinued due to the recode required for Australis toolbar customization changes.

The combination of The Addon Bar and Vertical Toolbar restore some of TT's functionality.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests