MozillaZine

[Ext] Context Search 0.4.3

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Zoolcar9

User avatar
 
Posts: 2225
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 6:45 pm
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia (UTC+7)

Post Posted November 19th, 2006, 8:06 pm

paulfox wrote:Hey Cusser, hope you're well! Just tried that link twice and got 404 error.

You're still lucky. I always got 403.

My Firefox information | Add-ons | GitHub

"With great power, comes great desire to show it off."

simalam
 
Posts: 21
Joined: September 24th, 2003, 11:45 pm

Post Posted November 19th, 2006, 8:13 pm

Zoolcar9 wrote:
paulfox wrote:Hey Cusser, hope you're well! Just tried that link twice and got 404 error.

You're still lucky. I always got 403.


Same here. From my work I always get a 403 for any www.cusser.net URI:
<b>Forbidden</b>
You don't have permission to access /extensions/contextsearch/contextsearch.xpi on this server.

Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

<i>Apache/1.3.37 Server at www.cusser.net Port 80</I>


From home it works all the time.

When will the <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/240/">Context Search Addons page</a> be updated?

Zoolcar9

User avatar
 
Posts: 2225
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 6:45 pm
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia (UTC+7)

Post Posted November 19th, 2006, 8:27 pm

simalam wrote:
Zoolcar9 wrote:
paulfox wrote:Hey Cusser, hope you're well! Just tried that link twice and got 404 error.

You're still lucky. I always got 403.


Same here. From my work I always get a 403 for any www.cusser.net URI

http://www.cusser.net.nyud.net:8080/

My Firefox information | Add-ons | GitHub

"With great power, comes great desire to show it off."

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted November 19th, 2006, 11:18 pm

Anything I can do about the 403? I'm guessing not, but that's weird.

simalam wrote:When will the Context Search Addons page be updated?

As soon as Context Search 0.4.1 passes review. I submitted it at the same time as I updated my own site.

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted November 20th, 2006, 1:13 am

I've ported Context Search 0.2 to SeaMonkey.
http://xsidebar.mozdev.org/modifiedmisc.html#contextsearch

Phil

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted November 20th, 2006, 5:10 am

That's cool with me. I'll put a link on my site sometime. In the long term, I'll be looking at the practicality of SuiteRunner compatibility. Hopefully the internals will be similar enough to Firefox such that extensions can be shared.

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted November 20th, 2006, 5:25 am

OpenSearch plugins are not supported yet. That's why I could only port 0.2 (with some non search engine improvements from later versions). Otherwise SuiteRunner will have all the toolkit infrastructure (chrome.manifest, Addons Manager, customizable toolbars). Some bits of toolkit (e.g. <tabbrowser>) will be overridden to maintain Suite behaviour (well actually the firefox tabbrowser is being moved from /toolkit/ to /browser/ on the trunk so we don't need to do that now).

Cheers.

Phil

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted November 20th, 2006, 2:15 pm

Hopefully they'll just copy the entire of browser.xul and browser.js and make cosmetic changes, too. That'd almost guarantee that 90% of extensions would just work out of the box.

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted February 4th, 2007, 9:39 pm

I've started a separate thread for my version modified for seamonkey:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=2733548

Phil

Cococokie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: June 28th, 2007, 6:16 am

Post Posted January 3rd, 2008, 5:25 am

cusser you still checking this thread?
Last edited by Cococokie on January 3rd, 2008, 6:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

tanstaafl_bh
 
Posts: 602
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 7:49 am

Post Posted January 3rd, 2008, 6:00 am

I love context_search, but I would really like to see the support for TBird added back in... I hated that I had to install Conquery (much heavier) just to get this functionality back...

Cococokie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: June 28th, 2007, 6:16 am

Post Posted January 3rd, 2008, 6:10 am

cusser Can you implement this idea, i think it is very useful to me and maybe alot others too. What it does is appending the text you want to your highlighted/search term. What do you think of this idea?

1. Adding dropmarks to each search engines which can append text to your highlighted text. (The red circle)
2. Clicking on search engines without expanding the append menu. (will search without appending any additional text)
3. Manage appendices is a list of appends you want to add on to the context. (Only first six will be shown, if u want the seventh to show, move it up the list)
4. Options allow you to enable/disable the use of appendices. (If disabled, it will appear like before, without the dropmarks and the new popup context)
5. Simple/lite and good additional functionality to this extension.
Image

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted January 7th, 2008, 2:53 pm

I'll think more about it, but it's really a feature better suited to one of the more complex search extensions. I've always liked that Context Search is small, and that it contains no text of its own, meaning that it should be compatible with Firefox releases in any language.

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted January 7th, 2008, 2:54 pm

Also, this works with 3.0, I just need to update the installer. Coming soon.

echoes

User avatar
 
Posts: 835
Joined: November 13th, 2005, 1:09 am
Location: Labyrinths of coral caves

Post Posted January 8th, 2008, 11:06 am

yeah, i've used Context Search with trunk since i've been testing it. (which is since trunk 3.0 started).
now, if only you could "update/upgrade" image toolbar to work with 3.0....i really miss that extension.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest