MozillaZine

[Ext] Charset Switcher

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
yuoo2k

User avatar
 
Posts: 720
Joined: November 1st, 2005, 9:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Post Posted August 14th, 2008, 9:43 am

Charset Switcher

Description: Supports to customize the Default Character Encoding for each sites.
Author: yuoo2k
AMO page: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/8493/
Compatibility: Firefox 3.6+

Main Features:
  • Adds the Character Encoding menu to the context menu.
  • Remember your last selected Character Encoding for each sites.
Install/Download: Official Release, All Versions, Latest DevBuild

Localization: http://www.babelzilla.org/forum/index.p ... topic=4590
    If you would like to translate it to your language, please go to BabelZilla.org,
    find the Charset Switcher project and register yourself as an Charset Switcher's translator.
Developer Comments:
  • Before you report any problems, please try the Beta version first. It might already fix your problem.
  • If the problem still happen, please create a new profile with only CharsetSwitcher installed to see if it is extension conflict.
  • I have to reproduce your problem, and then I can begin to debug and find out how to solve it.
  • Please describe the problem's reproduce steps and what you can see in Error Console. That will be helpful.

madauden
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 14th, 2014, 11:51 pm

Post Posted December 15th, 2014, 12:02 am

[Bug Report]
In the option dialog, "Charset" drop down menu shows nothing.

Charset Switcher 12.0.20120501
Firefox 34.0 / Windows 7
Tested with a new profile.

Thanks!

yuoo2k

User avatar
 
Posts: 720
Joined: November 1st, 2005, 9:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Post Posted December 20th, 2014, 10:11 am

madauden wrote:[Bug Report]
In the option dialog, "Charset" drop down menu shows nothing.

v32.0.20141220: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... /versions/
+ Compatible with Firefox 32+, SeaMonkey 2.29+

madauden
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 14th, 2014, 11:51 pm

Post Posted December 25th, 2014, 3:13 am

Thank you for updating!
Confirmed 32.0.20141220 on Firefox 34.0 / Win7.

Alexey71
 
Posts: 3
Joined: July 2nd, 2015, 1:10 am

Post Posted August 11th, 2016, 5:23 am

Firefox 48 not work, any fix?

yuoo2k

User avatar
 
Posts: 720
Joined: November 1st, 2005, 9:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Post Posted August 11th, 2016, 7:26 am

Alexey71 wrote:Firefox 48 not work, any fix?

Hello, thanks for the report, please try the new version:
v38.0.20160811: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... /versions/
+ Compatible with Firefox 48+

Alexey71
 
Posts: 3
Joined: July 2nd, 2015, 1:10 am

Post Posted August 11th, 2016, 8:13 am

yuoo2k wrote:
Alexey71 wrote:Firefox 48 not work, any fix?

Hello, thanks for the report, please try the new version:
v38.0.20160811: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... /versions/
+ Compatible with Firefox 48+

Thank you for quick support. Working

jbuck
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 10th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Post Posted March 10th, 2017, 3:44 pm

It appears that this version 38.0.20160811 has broken with FF 52.0 (64-bit) update.

Click on options and all settings are gone. I can add a URL and set charset, which addes to list, but hitting OK does nothing. Can only CANCEL.

If I got into about:config I can see charsetswitcher settings are still there.

martywd
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 11th, 2017, 10:04 am
Location: TX

Post Posted March 11th, 2017, 10:12 am

jbuck wrote:It appears that this version 38.0.20160811 has broken with FF 52.0 (64-bit) update.

Click on options and all settings are gone. I can add a URL and set charset, which addes to list, but hitting OK does nothing. Can only CANCEL.

If I got into about:config I can see charsetswitcher settings are still there.


Yup. I'm also experiencing the exact issues describe by @jbuck .

Using: Linux Mint MATE 64-bit | Firefox 52.0 (64-bit)
.

jbuck
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 10th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Post Posted March 16th, 2017, 7:25 am

I can live without the extension on my Ubuntu system, since the UTF-8 replacement character is properly rendered in the right size in a monospace font. Same for my Android.

But in Windows that character is too big and throws off the formatting for these text logs that I am viewing. :x

Funny thing, Chrome finally has a "Set Character Encoding" extension. Now if they could only add the other five extensions I love I might switch. :wink:

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51907
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2017, 7:37 am

Bug 1312143 - Delete toolkit/obsolete
Bug 1345860 - Add-on "MyBookmarks" incompatible with Firefox 52 after removal of nsPreferences (toolkit/obsolete)

https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2016/12 ... irefox-52/

jbuck
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 10th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Post Posted March 16th, 2017, 8:53 am

Thank you for the link. That supports my experience, that the settings cannot be created or read.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51907
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2017, 5:27 pm

You can look at the SUMO forum thread for a workaround extension.
https://support.mozilla.org/t5/-/-/m-p/1373322#U1373322

jbuck
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 10th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Post Posted March 17th, 2017, 5:57 am

Thank you for that tip. It worked a treat! No more black diamonds in my logs.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Paenglab and 2 guests