MozillaZine

[ext] NoScript 1.8 - Your Browser is YOURS

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Alan Baxter
 
Posts: 4419
Joined: May 30th, 2005, 2:01 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Post Posted January 18th, 2009, 1:10 pm

@Giorgio:
NS 1.8.9.3. My customized noscript.jsHack pref value is now
window.urchinTracker = function() {}; window.AdBrite_Border_Color_Default = "poo brown"; (function(){var _0=function(){};with(window)urchinTracker=_0,pageTracker={_setDomainName:_0,_trackPageview:_0,_initData:_0},_gat={_getTracker:function(){return window.pageTracker}}})(); window.addEventListener("load", function() {window.checkClickCount=function(){}},false)

Should I remove the window.urchinTracker = function() {}; from the beginning of it?

Giorgio Maone

User avatar
 
Posts: 3516
Joined: September 21st, 2004, 12:05 am
Location: Palermo - Italy

Post Posted January 18th, 2009, 1:25 pm

@Alan Baxter:
you may leave it as it is (no side effects other than the overhead of a double execution).
However you can safely reduce it to just
window.AdBrite_Border_Color_Default = "poo brown"; window.addEventListener("load", function() {window.checkClickCount=function(){}},false);

Alan Baxter
 
Posts: 4419
Joined: May 30th, 2005, 2:01 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Post Posted January 18th, 2009, 2:02 pm

Reduced. Thank you.

andriyin
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 16th, 2009, 5:09 pm
Location: Russia

Post Posted January 18th, 2009, 6:34 pm

Hello, Giorgio!
Excuse me for long time answer, I has an weekend.
Giorgio Maone wrote:@@[b]andriyin:
I'm not a native English speaker and I've got some difficulties in understanding your question.

Oh! I'm too. (I'm from Russia.)
Giorgio Maone wrote:Could you please reformulate it with real-world examples?
Thanks!

Yes, I try it.

1. See this 1th screenshot please: http://pic.ipicture.ru/uploads/090119/Te0X9GoS7N.png
The button "Save temporary permissions" - it's to do, who I prefer to save my preferences, but it functionality as very strange:
After press it do not closes pane, who is bottom on browser' window:
See this 2th screenshot please: http://pic.ipicture.ru/uploads/090119/WSN5y5j2JP.png
2. Because it, I *must* do press [X] button on the corner.
3. At next time start' *this* page my saved prefer DO NOT work true: the pane, who is bottom on browser' window was presents too (as view on 2th screenshot), and any settings about a domains, who have this visited site, restored as default, but do not as saves I it on last session!
Why?!
4. On next time by load this site on the settings pane has not presents the button "Save temporary permissions" - Why?!
Thanks for answer, and excuse me for my poor english!
Andrew
Esse - percipi... and sapienti sat!

lakrids
 
Posts: 123
Joined: December 17th, 2006, 12:51 am

Post Posted January 18th, 2009, 9:20 pm

Thanks for the noscript.placeholderMinSize option Giorgio. It works well.

andriyin
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 16th, 2009, 5:09 pm
Location: Russia

Post Posted January 19th, 2009, 12:34 am

Giorgio,
This is in addition to the above, and an explanation of the past.
I think it would be good to have a button, shown in the screenshot:
http://pic.ipicture.ru/uploads/090119/474XIU57WJ.png
Behavior: saves any user preferences for the current site (domain/subdomain), with re-visiting the site saved preferences are restored automatically.
Reasons:
1. NoScript makes it easy to manipulate for the user, it is more evident;
2. allows you to save including preference, who choose algorithm NoScript on the first time visited the site as default (in my opinion, in the 90-95% is very reasonable, who the NoScript appoints - that blocking which will from the scripts available in each of the sites on first visit for; an user needs manually choose permit/block an scripts only is it's rather atypical for the site);
3. the automatic restoration of preference for permits/blocked scripts to re-visit site is very convenient for users.
(Note: now remembers NoScript combination allowed/blocked only after the user manually will pass on all the items proposed NoScript on the pull-down panel on the button "Settings"/"Настройки" - is not exactly what I expect from automation NoScript.)
IMHO.
Thank you, George, I hope for understanding!
Andrew
Esse - percipi... and sapienti sat!

Wilderness Of Mirrors
 
Posts: 21
Joined: December 27th, 2007, 4:23 pm

Post Posted January 19th, 2009, 12:53 am

When I just started firefox, the update box popped up and told me that version 1.8.9.2 is available as an update. I already have 1.8.9.2 installed. When I manually search with "find updates" it says version 1.8.9.2 is available. Why would it do this? Are there two different versions with the same number?

greenhatch
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 9th, 2005, 6:45 am

Post Posted January 19th, 2009, 1:33 am

Georgio
http://horseracing.betfair.com/

Do you remember fixing a false positive Clickjack warning a couple of weeks ago on that site?
There is a new false positive (see image), maybe because of the placeholder adjustment you have just done (for someone else's call). I am on NS 1.8.9.3 .

Image

nagan
 
Posts: 125
Joined: April 23rd, 2008, 1:48 am

Post Posted January 19th, 2009, 8:39 am

1.On clickjacking alert I had written once that if a unsuspecting user unticks "keep the elements locked" he does not get the alerts on that click anymore.Why such an option is not present in the main menu of the options.What is the significance of "keep the elements locked". :roll:

2.A dirty site netporn.nl strangely opens another big size window without taking focus from the current window.I am not sure whether this behaviour occurs just on opening the site or later allowing scripts for the sake of Flash player.I can confirm such a behaviour occurs 9 out of 10 times.I wonder why FF does not block such a window as I have set it to block popups. :?

luntrus

User avatar
 
Posts: 141
Joined: May 3rd, 2005, 1:37 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted January 19th, 2009, 1:50 pm

Hi forum members,

I found this elegant solution to the following problem. When there is a problem with "could not convert JavaScript element", because it initially was invisible, this issue can be solved by making it visible first, so there is no BAD_CONVERT error, then hide it again,

Code: Select all
var vis = el.is(":visible");
if (!vis)
    el.show();  // must be visible to get .position

var pos = el.position();

if (!vis)
    el.hide();


luntrus
Fx forever

ba22a
 
Posts: 14
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 12:12 pm

Post Posted January 20th, 2009, 6:22 am

I'm seeing an odd intermittent problem with NoScript's UI (1.8.9.2). For a few days now (since 3.0.5?) there's times when the UI doesn't appear at all - no (S) menu, no context menu.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.9.0.5) Gecko/2008120122 Firefox/3.0.5 Ubiquity/0.1.5
Macaffee SiteAdvisor 28.0

I think the problem is SiteAdvisor getting into a race with NoScript setting up its UI - and SiteAdvisor seems to be failing to set this up correctly, preventing NoScript from working:

Error: undefined entity
Source File: chrome://safe/content/safe.xul
Line: 28, Column: 6
Source Code:
<textbox id="SAFE-McafeeSSBox" type="search" searchbutton="true" cols="1" size="35" emptytext="&safe.tool.secureSearch.label;" clickSelectsAll = "true" onchange="SiteAdvisorFunPack['SecureSearch']()">

As it happens I know NoScript was still working even when the UI was missing because I'd enabled logging (noScript.consoleDump=1, noScript.consoleLog=true), and a restart usually fixes the NoScript problem (but not the SiteAdvisor one). I don't expect theres a NoScript bug here but just posting in case anyone else sees this issue.

Giorgio Maone

User avatar
 
Posts: 3516
Joined: September 21st, 2004, 12:05 am
Location: Palermo - Italy

Post Posted January 20th, 2009, 6:47 am

@ba22a:
thanks for the heads up, I've actually seen some reports about "disappearing NoScript" recently, and yours sounds like a good explanation.
BTW, why don't you drop SiteAdvisor and switch to WOT, which is much better behaved?

@greenhatch:
fixed in latest development build

@nagan:
1. the exact significant is "until you keep this checkbox ticked, I'll keep alerting you when you click on this area".
This is not in the main options menu because it's contextual (i.e. referred to the currently clicked area only).

2. Those are called "popunder"s, and Firefox can't do anything about them because they're usually triggered by an user click, so the browser can't tell it is unwanted.

@Wilderness of Mirrors:
There's just one 1.8.9.2. Not sure about what's happening to you, but did you double check About NoScript actually says 1.8.9.2?

@andriyin:
that option should turn the sites on that page which are currently marked as "Temporary allowed" into permanently allowed.
When I try it, it works as expected and does close the notification bar.
I suspect you're seeing an extension conflict.
Could you turn the javascript.options.showInConsole about:config preference to true and check if any error message appears in Tools|Error Console when you use that option?
Also could you try Standard Diagnostic?
Last edited by Giorgio Maone on January 20th, 2009, 7:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

greenhatch
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 9th, 2005, 6:45 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2009, 6:58 am

Georgio, thanks for the fix.

dhouwn
 
Posts: 15
Joined: January 21st, 2008, 6:35 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2009, 8:33 am

1.8.9.4 identifies itself as 1.8.9.3?

lakrids
 
Posts: 123
Joined: December 17th, 2006, 12:51 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2009, 8:44 am

Giorgio Maone wrote:@greenhatch:
fixed in latest development build

Bank site hides Placeholder again now...
I wonder if we could find a compromise in this issue. What if you changed back to the behaviour to what it was in 1.8.9.3 but set the default of noscript.placeholderMinSize to 0?

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest