Seamonkey 2.40, 2.46 apparently has a memory leak

Discussion of bugs in Seamonkey
Cenkron

Seamonkey 2.40, 2.46 apparently has a memory leak

Post by Cenkron »

I have been a user of Seamonkey for a long time, since the mid version 1.X versions.
Among other things, I am a software developer, but not on Seamonkey.
I think this applies mostly to the browser. Email does not seem to show the problem.
I tend to run the browser with two open windows, each with around 10 to 15 tabs open, along with the mail window.
My environment is Win 10 Pro.
Even when I minimize all three Seamonkey windows, with Task Manager showing the Details screen, and I am not doing any typing or mousing, I see the memory usage increasing first slowly, then faster and faster, with the CPU utilization climbing from the 12% range into the 20% range, and the memory usage climbing from around 400 MB.
After some time, not very precise, memory climbs to around 2 GB or more.
If I then try to use the browser, the performance becomes slower, and eventually loses keyboard functionality almost completely.
This continues until it is no longer possible to c lose Seamonkey with either the keyboard or the mouse, and eventually it traps and the message about having to emanates from Windows.
During this, which is moderately consistent, there are no videos, no audios, flash is blocked, repeating GIFS and other such ad stuff is disabled, so there is very little apparently going on.
This is version 2.46, though I think it started for me with 2.40. I did not used to see this behavior. My wife sees it also on a different computer. I see it on several computers.
This behavior is nonlinear with respect to the number of open browser tabs; more tabs cause the problem to be worse way out of proportion to the tab count.