MozillaZine

Updating 2.49.1 failes - returns to 2.46

Discussion of bugs in Seamonkey
Karlo_kater
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 29th, 2017, 12:54 pm

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 1:07 pm

Hi,

I tried several times to update Seamonkey to vers. 2.49.1
Automatic update doesn't work, so I downloaded it from the official site.
Installing no problem.
First the version was shown correctly but after closing and re-opening browser version is 2.46 again.

Don't know what is going on there.

Could it be a corrupted software I have ??

Thanks for help

> sorry my english is not the best.. so please answer understandable thx

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27262
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 2:47 pm

You may have both SeaMonkey 2.46 and 2.49.1 installed and the whatever way you are starting Seamonkey (a desktop shortcut?) is pointing to the SeaMonkey 2.46 .exe

Karlo_kater
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 29th, 2017, 12:54 pm

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 8:31 pm

there is no difference if I start from desktop-icon or taskbar.
In programlist of system the correct version is shown but when I go to Help>about Seamonkey it's version 2.46

Doesn't Seamonkey install in the same directory over the older version?
I can't find any double entries of it.

Any other idea ?

thx

frg
 
Posts: 518
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 2:03 am

> Any other idea ?

Uninstall SeaMonkey and check if you have anything left in "C:\Program Files\SeaMonkey" (shouldn't because this is the location of the x64 version and we don't do them yet). Then check the x86 location "C:\Program Files (x86)\SeaMonkey". If there is anything left delete the directory. If you installed SeaMonkey in a non standard location then you need to check this one.

FRG

Karlo_kater
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 29th, 2017, 12:54 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 6:19 am

ok thanks
I realized now that I've changed the instllation path and didn't choose the same when updating ](*,)
So this seems to be the problem.
weekend projekt to make a backup first and install proper again :wink:
I only wonder where the new installation is located.
There is a folder >programs and >programs (x86) and a linked folder >programs, which is locked.

I'll report if I was successfull

thx and have a nice day

Karlo_kater
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 29th, 2017, 12:54 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 8:17 am

so now.. problems solved =D>

not the best idea to change installation path :idea:

thx a lot for your time and help

Return to SeaMonkey Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests