MozillaZine

_blank in same tab, extenal links in new tab

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
Medieval Cow
 
Posts: 1
Joined: December 3rd, 2007, 6:07 pm

Post Posted August 13th, 2009, 9:52 am

Hooray, that works perfectly! So glad to have my old behavior back. Thanks!

PimpUigi

User avatar
 
Posts: 226
Joined: February 1st, 2010, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 2nd, 2010, 3:54 pm

External links aren't opening right in Firefox 3.6 now...
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1641786 - Try Firefox PimpUigi Edition

mojo-chan
 
Posts: 125
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted February 2nd, 2010, 5:09 pm

Still works okay for me. Unfortunately for you my own PCs are the limit of my testing and I have no time for any tech support.

It's an issue which really needs to be fixed by someone submitting a patch to FF to re-enable the old about:config entry that controls how external links open separately to how internal ones do. Don't look at me though.

PimpUigi

User avatar
 
Posts: 226
Joined: February 1st, 2010, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 2nd, 2010, 10:51 pm

It says you're using 3.5.7...

To give you the benefit of the doubt (cause I'm a jerk if I don't, IMHO) I did a fresh install of 3.6, with a fresh profile and everything.

I only installed your Tabs Open Relative (modified) extension, and I had external=3 newwindow=1, and newwindow.restriction=0
External links still opened in the same tab, instead of a new tab : (
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1641786 - Try Firefox PimpUigi Edition

dikrib
 
Posts: 64
Joined: November 18th, 2004, 11:44 am
Location: Denmark

Post Posted February 3rd, 2010, 2:01 am

I still use the same trick as I posted in bug 469082, and it still work in Firefox 3.6. I have however not updated the maxVersion so you have to do that manually yourself.
Jesper Kristensen

PimpUigi

User avatar
 
Posts: 226
Joined: February 1st, 2010, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 3rd, 2010, 11:21 am

For me, that fix posted in 469082 opens all external links in a new window, instead of a new tab.
I wonder why that is???

Unless, you mean this one...
https://bug469082.bugzilla.mozilla.org/ ... ?id=392479

In which case, I don't know how to set that one up properly.
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1641786 - Try Firefox PimpUigi Edition

dikrib
 
Posts: 64
Joined: November 18th, 2004, 11:44 am
Location: Denmark

Post Posted February 3rd, 2010, 12:44 pm

I referred to https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/attachment.cgi?id=371285

I hope to put something using a different approach on AMO some day, but I don't know when.
Jesper Kristensen

PimpUigi

User avatar
 
Posts: 226
Joined: February 1st, 2010, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 3rd, 2010, 12:55 pm

dikrib wrote:In relation to my extension posted to bugzilla:

New windows instead of tabs: I have no idea why this would happen. Could you try to set browser.link.open_newwindow to 3 also and check that it opens target=_blank in tabs and not windows? Otherwise could you try to edit the extension adding a line of alert(arguments[2]); after the line, which assigns to arguments[2] and see if it alerts 3 or not?


I tried adding "alert(arguments[2]);" every which way I could think of, and it just seems to break the extension; external links open in the same tab, or they still open in a new window.

I've verified browser.link.open_newwindow = 3 and that it just doesn't seem to do anything when set to any number.

: (

This problem, and viewtopic.php?f=48&t=689325&start=30 the fact this extension no longer populates it's list of recently closed tabs, seriously hamper my enjoyment of Firefox 3.6
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1641786 - Try Firefox PimpUigi Edition

mojo-chan
 
Posts: 125
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted February 3rd, 2010, 1:06 pm

PimpUigi wrote:It says you're using 3.5.7...


Work PC. At home now.

I have managed to re-create your problem. Looks like there was some odd config in my profile which I have now sorted.

Download V1.1 from my web site: http://soft.world3.net . It works properly in a fresh 3.6 profile now. For reference:

browser.link.open_external = 3
browser.link.open_newwindow = 1
browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction = 2

Thanks for bringing that to my attention. The update should hit the add-ons site in the next few days.

PimpUigi

User avatar
 
Posts: 226
Joined: February 1st, 2010, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 3rd, 2010, 2:52 pm

Well, I figured out why my external links were opening in new windows, instead of new tabs. (since the fixed Tabs Open Relative Modified opened my external links in new windows)

IE Tab/Coral IE Tab extensions change the behavior somehow.

I guess I can live without the IE Tab extension.
: (
I wonder if there's a way to fix the fix?

mojo-chan
 
Posts: 125
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted February 3rd, 2010, 5:09 pm

The new TOR(M) only changes the parameters being sent to the Firefox function that opens links so it should in theory be more compatible now. I dread to think what kind of horrible hacking IE Tab does though, so it's not that surprising that it doesn't co-operate with other add-ons which modify that function.

PimpUigi

User avatar
 
Posts: 226
Joined: February 1st, 2010, 12:03 pm

Post Posted February 4th, 2010, 6:47 am

"View in IE" is a good substitute for now.
Does basically the same thing, just nowhere near as cool.

I submitted this problem as bug, to Coral IE Tab's bug page.
Hopefully one day they'll coexist.

Thankfully not one of my required add ons.

...I could use some help fixing this other add on though (completely unrelated to this.)
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=689325&start=30
A small part of it's functionality broke in Firefox 3.6
The right click menu for the "Undo Closed Tabs" button no longer populates...is there a place I should ask for help recoding it?

I tried to ask the author of the other "Undo Closed Tabs Button" extension, but he hasn't gotten back to me.
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1641786 - Try Firefox PimpUigi Edition

mojo-chan
 
Posts: 125
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted February 4th, 2010, 9:21 am

I'm afraid I know little about Firefox add-ons beyond what I needed to when creating TOR(M). You could try the developer IRC channel.

acidosen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 7th, 2010, 5:08 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2010, 5:14 am

I have FF 3.6 and when I open a new tab I want it to open just next to my current tab on the right. Right now it opens at the far right (I've seen on the site of the addon that it's its default behaviour - can I configure it back?)

Platon_
 
Posts: 3912
Joined: July 30th, 2009, 2:42 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2010, 6:56 am

@ acidosen
In about:config search for browser.tabs.insertRelatedAfterCurrent and set the value to true

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests