MozillaZine

Zonealarm interference

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
knotty
 
Posts: 13
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 11:45 am
Location: San Francisco

Post Posted August 16th, 2004, 12:22 pm

I've noticed whenever I run the latest Zonealarm, Firefox and Mozilla will not access websites. It acts as though the ISP developed a bad connection.

Running the latest version of Firefox and Mozilla here.
Everything on Zonealarm is set to the lowest strength or off and still the problem. I shut down Zonealarm and things are back to normal.

knotty

Dunderklumpen
 
Posts: 16224
Joined: March 9th, 2003, 8:12 am

Post Posted August 16th, 2004, 12:24 pm

Configure Zone Alarm to let Mozilla connect to the net.

DurianCS

User avatar
 
Posts: 767
Joined: June 5th, 2003, 6:17 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post Posted August 16th, 2004, 1:25 pm

I'm not sure what's the problem. I don't use the lowest settings, but everything works fine. Of course, when changing to a newer FX or TB version, ZoneAlarm asks me if it is ok for the app to access the internet. But after choosing ok, and remember that, no problems.

CS
Durian, King of Fruits
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.8a6) Gecko/20041227 Firefox/1.0+ (bangbang023)
TB version 1.0 (20041225)

Nate1861
 
Posts: 68
Joined: November 27th, 2002, 8:57 pm

Post Posted August 16th, 2004, 4:37 pm

The latest versions of ZoneAlarm have had a LOT of problems, anything newer than 4.5 is loaded with bugs. I noticed with ZoneAlarm about 75% of my downloads would freeze before completing, turn it off, no problems. I would recommend going with another firewall solution or using the SP2 Windows Firewall until they iron out some of the bugs in ZoneAlarm.

mastercontrol

User avatar
 
Posts: 238
Joined: December 13th, 2003, 6:55 am
Location: Canada

Post Posted August 16th, 2004, 5:12 pm

I've heard that the firewall in SP2 is still crap (only monitors incoming traffic, and can be turned off by malicious programs). I'm using ZA Pro 4.5, and haven't had any problems. I also use it in conjunction with a Linksys NAT Router.
Firefox: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.6) Gecko/20050317 Firefox/1.0.2
Thunderbird: version 1.0 (20041206)

Nate1861
 
Posts: 68
Joined: November 27th, 2002, 8:57 pm

Post Posted August 16th, 2004, 5:22 pm

The SP2 Firewall is perfectly viable for more experienced users because they would never let malicious programs get on their computer in the first place :) For a novice a more secure solution would be ideal.

knotty
 
Posts: 13
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 11:45 am
Location: San Francisco

Post Posted August 16th, 2004, 6:18 pm

I just double checked Zonealarm and both Firefox and Mozilla are checked ok to pass so nothing was blocked. For now I just have to leave it disabled and look for something else.

Thanks!
knotty

Nate1861
 
Posts: 68
Joined: November 27th, 2002, 8:57 pm

Post Posted August 16th, 2004, 6:31 pm

If you have reservations using the Windows XP SP2 Firewall, Sygate makes a pretty good free firewall.

knotty
 
Posts: 13
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 11:45 am
Location: San Francisco

Post Posted August 16th, 2004, 7:02 pm

Hi Nate1861, Yes, I was just thinking of Sygate, I used it a while back. I'll go and download it now. I'm just on dialup so I have to get the cd version of SP2.

Thanks!
knotty

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests