removing things in context menus

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
User avatar
Elder Young
Posts: 545
Joined: June 9th, 2004, 8:24 pm

Post by Elder Young »

:-({|= all of them require the display:none !! :robot:[/quote]

Really? I have code like this in my userChrome and it still removed the save link and copy link. Is it because there only has to be one display:none for a long list of items?

/* Save Link As... */
#context-savelink { }

/* Copy Link Location */
#context-copylink { }

/* Copy Image Location */
#context-copyimage { }

/* Bookmark This Page... */
#context-bookmarkpage { display: none; }
User avatar
mai9
Posts: 1619
Joined: January 15th, 2003, 3:41 pm
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Post by mai9 »

wcarloss, I used your code and my firefox did not remove those items with { } only, not even pasting the whole bunch of code with the last with display:none. If your does..... well, I don't know. Maybe you have a mutant Firefox ;)


Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.5) Gecko/20041107 Firefox/1.0
Magus
Posts: 2022
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 11:39 am
Location: that-a-way ->
Contact:

Post by Magus »

wcarloss, I am afraid you are mistaken. That format would not remove them all. This would however:

Code: Select all

#context-savelink,
#context-copylink,
#context-copyimage,
#context-bookmarkpage {
    display: none;
}
For every action there is an equal and opposite criticism.
User avatar
shakey_snake
Posts: 1622
Joined: October 25th, 2004, 11:12 pm

Post by shakey_snake »

Great thread!
Those navigation options always bugged me.
User avatar
tombik
Posts: 310
Joined: February 7th, 2004, 4:15 am
Location: Berlin,GER
Contact:

Post by tombik »

@fig:
Thanks, but :( doesn´t work.
User avatar
Elder Young
Posts: 545
Joined: June 9th, 2004, 8:24 pm

Post by Elder Young »

I stand corrected about display:none. I was looking at the context menu for right clicking on a page instead of on a link, which is why I didn't see some of the items. I feel stupid.
System: Core 2 Quad Q9650, 8GB RAM, Sapphire 5870 Toxic, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, Flash 10.1.53.64, Java 1.6U21 B04
nolan_vode
Posts: 173
Joined: November 16th, 2004, 2:11 am

Post by nolan_vode »

Trying to remove the separator under "Forward" on the "Go" toolbar menu.

The following method worked everywhere else I used it

Code: Select all

menuitem[label="Forward"] + menuseparator { display: none !important; }


But but not for this task.

thx

~Nolan
rotero
Posts: 3
Joined: December 1st, 2004, 8:25 am
Location: Brighton, MA, USA

Post by rotero »

I haven't been able to find (in this thread or other resources) where the attributes for the contextual menus for tabs are stored. I would like to reorder the items in the menu to be more like the order in Mozilla. I used Mozilla for so long before switching to Firefox that I expect "Close Tab" to be the first item in the menu rather than "New Tab." And it just seems a whole lot more intuitive (and easier on the mouse hand) that way.

Any help would be appreciated. If it matters, I'm using Firefox 1.0 on Mac OS X 10.3.6.
mgovatos
Posts: 1
Joined: December 16th, 2004, 12:27 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA

Hiding "Tools Menu"

Post by mgovatos »

Forgive me if this question is too basic.

I want to hide the "Tools" menu, and I see from posts in this section that this is possible by altering code.

How do I get into the code to make this change?


Thanks
User avatar
mai9
Posts: 1619
Joined: January 15th, 2003, 3:41 pm
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Post by mai9 »

mgovatos, take a look at here:

http://www.extensionsmirror.nl/index.ph ... #entry5350

if you don't want to look ;) here's the code:


/* Hide selected browser menus */
#navigator-toolbox menu[label="Tools"]
{ display: none !important; }
hydreux
Posts: 237
Joined: August 11th, 2003, 9:32 pm

Post by hydreux »

how do i remove context-menu items from extension manager? is there a way to do it?
pls. refer screen-shot...
Image
paulfox
Posts: 1510
Joined: May 8th, 2004, 1:38 pm

Post by paulfox »

All of the above "code info" is just brilliant - if I were more confident I would have gone that route instead of MenuEdit. M.E. allowed me to sort order and hide what I wanted quickly - but I'm sure did the same thing as you guys' code suggestions. I'm making it my mission over the next week to try and LEARN this stuff and do it the "old fashioned way!"

My question is once you've got the Context Menu "set," can you then UNINSTALL MenuEdit and have the changes stay "as is?" It would be one less extension and I'm finding that "less is more" with regards to FF speed; why have an extension that's done its duty "lingering?"
PentiumIII/W2K, Toshiba AMD laptop/Vista. FX 3 on both.
puke
Posts: 4
Joined: February 14th, 2005, 6:04 am

Post by puke »

I'm looking for a way to disable the Filepicker. See my post below. Any ideas?

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=1232155
User avatar
mai9
Posts: 1619
Joined: January 15th, 2003, 3:41 pm
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Post by mai9 »

puke, so you want to disable downloading files when clicking on them? I don't know what's the Filepicker :-k
User avatar
Zulithe
Posts: 658
Joined: May 3rd, 2003, 5:45 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by Zulithe »

mai9 wrote:momokatte told me how to remove the 'open in tabs' and the separator found in bookmarks menu:

/* Hide last item "Open in Tabs" in bookmarks menu */
#openintabs-menuseparator,
#openintabs-menuitem { display: none !important; }

This isn't working anymore in 1.5 branch builds of Firefox. Am I doing something wrong or has something changed internally?

I want to remove these two items! I added all of the above to my userChrome.css (and i'm sure I'm editing the correct file because I have other entries in there which are working)

**EDIT** nevermind, saw it in the thread on the other forum linked above.
Locked