removing things in context menus

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
Old Bozz
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Old Bozz »

mai9 wrote:momokatte told me how to remove the 'open in tabs' and the separator found in bookmarks menu:

/* Hide last item "Open in Tabs" in bookmarks menu */
#openintabs-menuseparator,
#openintabs-menuitem { display: none !important; }


Just to add an fyi for hiding separators.

/* Hide All Separators...except View>Toolbars>Bookmarks Toolbar(?) */
menuitem + menuseparator { display: none; }
menu + menuseparator { display: none !important; }
User avatar
fswl1234
Posts: 245
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 4:32 pm

Post by fswl1234 »

how about adding something to context?

for example, i'd like to add the menu "bookmarks" and the menuitem "character coding" to context, so that i can call them by right click
sboulema
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post by sboulema »

bookmarks can be added with the Ook extension: Ook
dunno bout character coding
TCHICHERINE
Posts: 7
Joined: March 22nd, 2004, 1:34 am

Post by TCHICHERINE »

Is it possible to ADD items as easy as this to userChrome.css?
I need a context menu entry to launch an external app.
Also, is there any online documentation on this?
sboulema
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post by sboulema »

adding items isnt possible using userchrome. but havea look at the contextmenu extension:
http://white.sakura.ne.jp/~piro/xul/_ct ... ns.html.en
oldtimer
Posts: 827
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 1:48 pm

Post by oldtimer »

What about Menu Editor 1.0? It'd be the easiest alternative instead of screwing around with your UserChrome.css everytime. You can just hide/show these entries with a click of a button.

Also, I'm not even sure FF ultilizes a UserChrome.css anymore. Check my sig for version. Is it now not included in installations? And, can be added but must be done manually?
Current: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9b2pre) Gecko/2007112000 Minefield/3.0b2pre
For kicks: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.6) Gecko/20060728 Firefox/1.5.0.6
User avatar
mai9
Posts: 1619
Joined: January 15th, 2003, 3:41 pm
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Post by mai9 »

oldtimer wrote:What about Menu Editor 1.0? It'd be the easiest alternative instead of screwing around with your UserChrome.css everytime.

I specially use the userchrome code so I don't have to set that extension everytime :roll:

I just copy userchrome.css and everything's sorted \:D/
User avatar
tombik
Posts: 310
Joined: February 7th, 2004, 4:15 am
Location: Berlin,GER
Contact:

Post by tombik »

With MenuEditor you can disable seperators?
User avatar
Elder Young
Posts: 545
Joined: June 9th, 2004, 8:24 pm

Post by Elder Young »

I can't figure out how to get rid of Send Link. Here's what I have in userChrome.css.

#context-sendlink { }
User avatar
Elder Young
Posts: 545
Joined: June 9th, 2004, 8:24 pm

Post by Elder Young »

Thanks that worked. It bothers me a little than menuitem instead of #context works, but I'm not complaining since it actually works.

I'm just curious why some items require {display: none;} to remove and others don't.
oldtimer
Posts: 827
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 1:48 pm

Post by oldtimer »

tombik wrote:With MenuEditor you can disable seperators?

Why yes it does. :D

I recommend this version (Menu Editor 1.1) until mozdev is updated. Much cleaner interface. :D
Be sure to read note concerning a blank tools menu though, in case you may experience it.
Current: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9b2pre) Gecko/2007112000 Minefield/3.0b2pre
For kicks: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.6) Gecko/20060728 Firefox/1.5.0.6
User avatar
tombik
Posts: 310
Joined: February 7th, 2004, 4:15 am
Location: Berlin,GER
Contact:

Post by tombik »

I have 1.1 installed, but cannot find how to delete seperators
User avatar
fig
Posts: 884
Joined: August 4th, 2004, 6:57 am

Post by fig »

tombik, I'm using Menu Editor 1.0 and I can get rid of seperators by opening Tools>Extensions>Menu Editor>Options. I click on a seperator, which highlights it, then click the Hide/Show button. Click Apply after makin' 'em disappear.

Sorry I don't have 1.1, but I hope it helps if it's similar.
TychoQuad
Posts: 1263
Joined: December 11th, 2002, 12:30 am
Location: Australia

Post by TychoQuad »

Can someone tell me how to hide the email option under the tools menu without hiding it by label? If that option decides i've got new mail, it's name changes and therefore, gets shown.
User avatar
mai9
Posts: 1619
Joined: January 15th, 2003, 3:41 pm
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Post by mai9 »

wcarloss wrote:Thanks that worked. It bothers me a little than menuitem instead of #context works, but I'm not complaining since it actually works.

I'm just curious why some items require {display: none;} to remove and others don't.


hi, here's the code for those:

Code: Select all

#context-sendpage, /* "Send Link..." (showed on webpage) */
#context-sendlink, /* "Send Link..." (showed on links) */
#blogthis-sep /* Separator Above "BlogThis" (extension) */
{ display: none; !important; }

correct me, If I am wrong ;)

wcarloss wrote:I'm just curious why some items require {display: none;} to remove and others don't.


:-({|= all of them require the display:none !! :robot:
Locked