MozillaZine

Firefox on OLD PC - Config

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
chrismani

User avatar
 
Posts: 29
Joined: February 19th, 2010, 9:15 am

Post Posted March 2nd, 2010, 10:44 am

Can you help me make Firefox work on an old PC?

Is there any settings that I can turn False?

Platon_
 
Posts: 3912
Joined: July 30th, 2009, 2:42 am

Post Posted March 2nd, 2010, 11:17 am

Would be easier to help if you give us more info on what the problem is :)

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39330
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted March 2nd, 2010, 11:25 am

We need some more information. For starters, what is the operating system?
Post wrangler
SEO experts. Thin white guys who don't have the courage to spam themselves.

chrismani

User avatar
 
Posts: 29
Joined: February 19th, 2010, 9:15 am

Post Posted March 3rd, 2010, 12:10 am

I have another PC with Windows XP SP 3 and 256MB ram but I have heard about many Firefox Tweak to make it use less ram

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 19094
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted March 3rd, 2010, 8:23 am

If I were you I'd add memory to that PC and not worry about tweaking FF. I had an older laptop that came with 256mb and by the time I had updated WinXP with the SP3 my sys. was dragging. I eventually pulled the two 128's out and went up to the max of 1gig (though 1gig is not required but for a small amount of $$ it was worth it) and I was very happy with the results.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

4td8s
 
Posts: 496
Joined: June 24th, 2009, 1:07 pm

Post Posted March 3rd, 2010, 2:15 pm

LoudNoise wrote:We need some more information. For starters, what is the operating system?


better yet, LoudNoise, let's ask christarzan what brand name computer and what kind of processor he is using also. Has he heard about using the Microsoft System Information tool (msinfo32.exe) or the DirectX Diagnostic tool (dxdiag.exe)? You can get barely full specs of your computer by running either of those utilities.

I'm using Firefox 3.6 on a custom made PC (1Ghz Intel Pentium 3 CPU with 512Mb of RAM - WinXP SP3)
and using Firefox 3.7a2 (Mozilla Developer Preview 3.7 alpha 2) on an old HP Pavilion desktop computer [766Mhz Intel Celeron processor with 320Mb of RAM - also uses WinXP SP3]. My old HP Pavilion PC can hold a maximum of 512Mb of RAM and the custom made PC can have up to 1Gb of RAM.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39330
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted March 3rd, 2010, 2:56 pm

Why would anyone care what brand of computer he is using? Also, any vaguely reasonably modern processor will work with Firefox.
Post wrangler
SEO experts. Thin white guys who don't have the courage to spam themselves.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22861
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted March 3rd, 2010, 3:40 pm

I agree with dfoulkes, RAM for old machines is pretty cheap (south of $50 for 1GB of SDRAM) and can even be easily scavenged out of "dead" computers that people are getting rid of. XP runs like a dream with 1GB.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

chrismani

User avatar
 
Posts: 29
Joined: February 19th, 2010, 9:15 am

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 5:24 am

I already have a top spec PC but I don't want to throw this old PC. It is not SDRAM or DDR2 or DDR3

It is RDRAM and it is not available in this country any more.

But I found a leaner Firefox alternative

K-Meleon 1.6 which is based on Minefield

http://kmeleon.sourceforge.net/wiki/kmeleon16

Be sure to change the user agents for this to work on Facebook properly
Last edited by chrismani on March 4th, 2010, 5:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

chrismani

User avatar
 
Posts: 29
Joined: February 19th, 2010, 9:15 am

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 5:25 am

Once again,

I can extend the life of this old PC by 1 or 2 years

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 9326
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 11:44 am

I have a very old computer with a sub gig processor all I did was add ram.
You should replace the ram in the slots evenly on older systems.
Ex: If you have two 128 MB ram cards installed you'll want to remove them and install to 256MB ram cards or a coupe of 512MB ram cards in the same slots.
Various older computers operate using PC100 ram, these are not so easy to come buy at retailers anymore but on-line may be a better source.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22861
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 1:03 pm

christarzan wrote:But I found a leaner Firefox alternative

K-Meleon 1.6 which is based on Minefield

http://kmeleon.sourceforge.net/wiki/kmeleon16


Well.... it uses Gecko 1.9.1 which is what Firefox 3.5 uses, not Minefield... Minefield is a moving target that is currently 1.9.3.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

asteko
 
Posts: 165
Joined: November 19th, 2003, 6:19 am
Location: Turkey

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 2:49 pm

You can use following user.js configuration to try to make it work faster:

// Limit history period to be saved
user_pref("browser.history_expire_days", 3);
user_pref("browser.history_expire_days.mirror", 3);
user_pref("browser.history_expire_days_min", 0);

// Free RAM when minimized
user_pref("config.trim_on_minimize", true);

// Rearch only history, show only 3 results on location bar
user_pref("browser.urlbar.default.behavior", 1);
user_pref("browser.urlbar.maxRichResults", 3);

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests