Fx4* .css tweaks

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
Locked
User avatar
T0morrow
Posts: 302
Joined: April 9th, 2010, 9:16 am

Re: Fx4* .css tweaks

Post by T0morrow »

Haha the replacement isnt working either. Thx mozilla for breaking the ability to change favicons. Will have to wait god knows how long until someone comes up with an addon that uses their new async API and works properly. All because some devs though loading 1-2KB images from disk could block the main thread if using synchronious API.
KWierso
Posts: 8829
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Re: Fx4* .css tweaks

Post by KWierso »

How dare Mozilla try to make Firefox more responsive! The absolute nerve!
User avatar
Gingerbread Man
Posts: 7735
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Re: Fx4* .css tweaks

Post by Gingerbread Man »

grayprint wrote:Can anyone help me remove the + sign from the new tab button?

So you just want a blank button?

Code: Select all

.tabs-newtab-button > .toolbarbutton-icon {
  display: none !important;
}

If you actually want to replace the + sign,

Code: Select all

.tabs-newtab-button > .toolbarbutton-icon {
  list-style-image: url("BASE64-ENCODED IMAGE OR FILE:/// URL GOES HERE") !important;
}
grayprint
Posts: 42
Joined: November 30th, 2007, 11:08 pm

Re: Fx4* .css tweaks

Post by grayprint »

Gingerbread Man wrote:
grayprint wrote:Can anyone help me remove the + sign from the new tab button?

So you just want a blank button?

Code: Select all

.tabs-newtab-button > .toolbarbutton-icon {
  display: none !important;
}

If you actually want to replace the + sign,

Code: Select all

.tabs-newtab-button > .toolbarbutton-icon {
  list-style-image: url("BASE64-ENCODED IMAGE OR FILE:/// URL GOES HERE") !important;
}



Thank you that's exactly what I needed :D
Elbart
Posts: 997
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 8:38 am

Re: Fx4* .css tweaks

Post by Elbart »

I'm trying to put together a style to expand the folder-, tags-, description and keyword-row in the bookmark-star doorhanger and Library, and this is the result so far:
For Library:

Code: Select all

@namespace url(http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul);
@-moz-document url(chrome://browser/content/places/places.xul){
    #editBMPanel_descriptionRow,
    #editBMPanel_loadInSidebarCheckbox,
    #editBMPanel_keywordRow,
    #editBMPanel_feedLocationRow,
    #editBMPanel_siteLocationRow {
        visibility: visible !important;
        display: -moz-grid-line !important;
    }
    #infoBoxExpanderWrapper {
        visibility: collapse !important;
    }
}

=====
For the bookmarkstar-hanger:

Code: Select all

@-moz-document url(chrome://browser/content/browser.xul),
url(chrome://browser/content/places/bookmarkProperties.xul),
url(chrome://browser/content/places/bookmarkProperties2.xul) {
    #editBookmarkPanel { min-width: 450px !important; }
    #editBMPanel_locationRow,
    #editBMPanel_folderTreeRow,
    #editBMPanel_keywordRow,
    #editBMPanel_descriptionRow {
        visibility: visible !important;
        display: -moz-grid-line !important;
    }
}
Modified code and took hints from the following sources: ABH2's editPanelOverlay.js, http://2chnull.info/r/software/1264782089/1-1001 , viewtopic.php?p=3536255#p3536255 , http://kb.mozillazine.org/Chrome_URLs , viewtopic.php?p=11766497#p11766497 , Userstyles.org: Bookmark Boxes Elements

But as long as #editBMPanel_folderTreeRow is set to be visible, the error-console pops up with this error whenever the doorhanger is closed:

Code: Select all

Tue Jul 02 2013 19:07:33
Error: NS_ERROR_ILLEGAL_VALUE: Component returned failure code: 0x80070057 (NS_ERROR_ILLEGAL_VALUE) [nsINavHistoryResult.removeObserver]
Source file: chrome://browser/content/places/treeView.js
Line: 1483

If I click on the expander-button once before closing the hanger, the error doesn't happen.

How can I do the same with a userstyle?

EDIT: Clicking on the star the first time after Firefox is started, the foldertree is empty. Then, clicking on the arrow next to the folder-dropdown-menu shows the foldertree, and after closing the hanger no error is displayed in the error-console.
If I reopen the hanger (now with the foldertree visible) and then close it, the error is thrown.
gone
Elbart
Posts: 997
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 8:38 am

Re: Fx4* .css tweaks

Post by Elbart »

Old size of the dropdownmarker-area:

Code: Select all

@namespace url(http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul);
@-moz-document url-prefix("chrome://"){
  .toolbarbutton-menubutton-dropmarker {
    padding: 3px !important;
  }
}
gone
grayprint
Posts: 42
Joined: November 30th, 2007, 11:08 pm

Re: Fx4* .css tweaks

Post by grayprint »

Is there anyway to have the icons look normal if they are placed on the tab bar? Such as moving the back/forward arrow to the tab bar and having it look the same as it did in the nav bar.
AnotherLife
Posts: 42
Joined: November 22nd, 2012, 8:59 pm

Re: Fx4* .css tweaks

Post by AnotherLife »

EDIT: Nevermind I was trying some older css that's obviously not working on current Fx.
User avatar
patrickjdempsey
Posts: 23686
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC
Contact:

Re: Fx4* .css tweaks

Post by patrickjdempsey »

Ummm yeah, this thread began a year before Firefox 4.0 was even released when it was still in very very early development and almost everything in here is not only very old and out-of-date, but in a few months Mozilla will release Australis and it's doubtful that ANY of these hacks will still work after that. Requesting a lock for the sake of sanity.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/
User avatar
DanRaisch
Moderator
Posts: 127188
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Re: Fx4* .css tweaks

Post by DanRaisch »

Locking due to the age of the original posts.
Locked