MozillaZine

Can't copy and paste using Yahoo email, Help !!

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
turtleslow
 
Posts: 65
Joined: January 16th, 2005, 8:20 am

Post Posted March 2nd, 2005, 2:24 pm

i use yahoo email alot and when i copy and paste i can't!!!
there is no command for paste in the compose window when i want to add a link or anything.
so is there a extension that i need to add? i already have eWebmail Color and Graphics 1.6.

Dave

GrailKnight

User avatar
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: January 5th, 2004, 5:40 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted March 2nd, 2005, 3:17 pm

Just highlight the text and right click copy.

Then right click paste once you place it where you want.
"There is nothing more deceptive than an obvious fact". - Sherlock Holmes

turtleslow
 
Posts: 65
Joined: January 16th, 2005, 8:20 am

Post Posted March 2nd, 2005, 3:25 pm

it does NOT give me that option when i right click. or is there another command name ???? and i know how to have been using yahoo for a while.
Dave

turtleslow
 
Posts: 65
Joined: January 16th, 2005, 8:20 am

Post Posted March 2nd, 2005, 3:28 pm

i am in the compose window of Yahoo, and trying to copy this link to

http://www.cnn.com/interactive/world/05 ... clude.html

it works here but not using yahoo.???
and there is no way i could copy all that and go tho that link you try it???

GrailKnight

User avatar
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: January 5th, 2004, 5:40 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted March 2nd, 2005, 4:50 pm

Hi Dave,

I think I know what happened.
I have a couple of extensions installed that handle text of any type and you can try them out to see if that solves your Copy & Paste problems.

http://www.extensionsmirror.nl/index.ph ... 62&hl=copy

http://www.extensionsmirror.nl/index.ph ... =text+link

Sorry about that, I am so used to haviing these extensions installed I have forgotten what a stock Firefox has in it anymore.


Also I am able to copy your provided link into Yahoo Mail Compose.
"There is nothing more deceptive than an obvious fact". - Sherlock Holmes

turtleslow
 
Posts: 65
Joined: January 16th, 2005, 8:20 am

Post Posted March 2nd, 2005, 5:46 pm

mmm i installed both links you provided and restarted FF and set options to copy plain text.
i copy from notepad and teried to paste in yahoo compose window,,just does not give me a command to paste.

well i'll have to come back llater and maybe i am just a little slow !!!!!! duh duh !!!!!

GrailKnight

User avatar
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: January 5th, 2004, 5:40 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted March 2nd, 2005, 5:50 pm

Well we are on the right track.

I know it can be done as I use Yahoo Mail all of the time like you do.

Let me later if you got it.
"There is nothing more deceptive than an obvious fact". - Sherlock Holmes

craigevil

User avatar
 
Posts: 3096
Joined: February 20th, 2005, 2:12 pm
Location: OZ

Post Posted March 2nd, 2005, 5:56 pm

Instead of using the mouse use the keyboard
Ctrl+c copy
Ctrl+v paste
Ctrl+x cut

I use Yahoo mail for all of my email and I never have any problems using those commands.
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi

gkuljian
 
Posts: 156
Joined: April 10th, 2004, 12:16 pm
Location: Mendocino, California

Post Posted March 2nd, 2005, 10:49 pm

I ocassionally have the same problem. Using the same mailing program. Some emails I can copy and paste, and some I cannot. I have no idea what is going on, but just wanted to add a voice of confirmation to this post.
My only workaround is to drag and drop. For example if I am needing to paste something from a website into the email text, I highlight it and drag it into the email. But that only addresses one part of the problem. AND sometimes the font size of what I am dragging is not the same as that in the email. For me, it's a rare problem. One in every several hundred emails.

Riddick51

User avatar
 
Posts: 290
Joined: January 29th, 2005, 9:32 pm
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska US

Post Posted March 3rd, 2005, 12:06 am

try this or
here.

then, if you have a [paste] button on your email window, press it. ok, i just checked yahoo mail, and i have "paste" available in my context menu.

the former shows how to activate it for multiple websites.
Velocity Raptor™ 64 DualX™ [7800 GTX SLi]
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.6) Gecko/20060728 Firefox/1.5.0.6 (std)
Webroot Spy Sweeper; Computer Associates: Home and Home Office (est. 1976)

Ria

User avatar
 
Posts: 3548
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted March 3rd, 2005, 12:47 am

Mostly I use the Copy and the Paste icons included in the default set.

dizzykatty
 
Posts: 1
Joined: October 16th, 2014, 11:34 pm

Post Posted October 17th, 2014, 12:04 am

Just click on reply in yahoo mail, and then you can copy the message. :)

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 34633
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 17th, 2014, 3:04 am

Errrr...dizzykatty,
This thread died on the 3rd Mar 2005.

Please.......Check the date/s before posting.

Thanks.

Locking.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-36.0.1-38/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.5.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests