MozillaZine

this is getting out of hand. firefox uses 1.9gig of ram

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
MiltonBradley
 
Posts: 60
Joined: October 18th, 2011, 7:28 am

Post Posted November 7th, 2011, 4:09 pm

and doesnt release the ram when i close multiple tabs

with about 50 tabs open, i hit 1.9gig
closed about 30,dropped only to 1.7 gig

basically the bulk of my memory is hung up in heaps, which are attached to no particular function (shown on about:memory page)

what gives?
Image

Image

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 17447
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist... United Kingdom

Post Posted November 7th, 2011, 4:16 pm

MiltonBradley wrote:what gives?

what extensions?
Metal Lion latest Firefox Themes -Tiger SP, Tiger, Graphite, Australis
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

MiltonBradley
 
Posts: 60
Joined: October 18th, 2011, 7:28 am

Post Posted November 7th, 2011, 5:12 pm

adblock plus
all in one sidebar
craigslist peek
fasterfox lite
flashbock
fox to phone
last pass
memory fox
places maintenance
soundsclould.com download
tab mix plus
tabgroups manager
yet another smooth scrolling

hb1547
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 21st, 2010, 6:00 pm

Post Posted November 7th, 2011, 6:41 pm

Far from an expert on this, but doesn't Firefox maintain somewhat of a memory of your old tabs in order to be able to reopen them if you want?

Try closing Firefox now and then, in my experience a lot of people who have 50+ tabs open at a time also tend to never fully close the program.

KWierso
 
Posts: 8772
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted November 7th, 2011, 11:47 pm

Get rid of Memory Fox, disable Places Maintenance, and disable Fasterfox, and see how it goes. Firefox is more than capable of managing it's own memory, and the Places Maintenance addon only needs to be active and run occasionally.

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 31044
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted November 8th, 2011, 12:42 am

How much RAM do you have? 4GB? 6GB? more?




.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

MiltonBradley
 
Posts: 60
Joined: October 18th, 2011, 7:28 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2011, 7:56 am

8 gig

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13799
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2011, 8:09 am

Wow. Everything is huge on that computer. 534 MB just for plugins. 152 MB just for svchost. As a wild guess, I'll bet you have a lot of huge images open, or you have just had them open. Those remain in memory for a while, provided you've got memory to spare -- and apparently you do.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22343
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted November 8th, 2011, 12:16 pm

Interestingly enough, just about every person that comes here complaining about memory recently is running MemoryFox.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13799
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2011, 12:54 pm

Cause or effect? Either way, it's not working -- possibly because it just causes memory swapping, not deallocation. I would expect it to cause performance problems. :roll:
Last edited by VanillaMozilla on November 8th, 2011, 1:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 31044
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted November 8th, 2011, 1:09 pm

Firefox adjusts its' usage based upon the amount of RAM that is installed.

What is the problem with 1.9GB when there's 8GB available?
That would be a problem if you only had 2GB or 4GB, but that's only like 25% of the installed RAM.



.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13799
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2011, 1:21 pm

See, what happens is that it starts slowing down because a lot of junk is swapped to disk. And it's swapped because of some "memory management" extension. At least that's what I suspect is happening. Or maybe they load it with hundreds of huge images and expect instant memory deallocation if they close a tab. Just a guess.

I'll probably never figure out for sure what it is that people do to get these problems. Running with only 384 MB RAM, I've never been able to duplicate a user's complaint about memory.

But I agree, 1.9 GB is not a problem unless available RAM is exhausted.

MiltonBradley
 
Posts: 60
Joined: October 18th, 2011, 7:28 am

Post Posted November 12th, 2011, 1:05 pm

patrickjdempsey wrote:Interestingly enough, just about every person that comes here complaining about memory recently is running MemoryFox.


well memory was running high FIRST
i only install memfox AFTER having all the high memory usage

i have removed it again, and still high memory usage

MiltonBradley
 
Posts: 60
Joined: October 18th, 2011, 7:28 am

Post Posted November 12th, 2011, 1:06 pm

the-edmeister wrote:Firefox adjusts its' usage based upon the amount of RAM that is installed.

What is the problem with 1.9GB when there's 8GB available?
That would be a problem if you only had 2GB or 4GB, but that's only like 25% of the installed RAM.



.


firefox moves sluggish compared to 1.9gig used, and a fresh reboot/restart with minimal ram

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13799
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted November 12th, 2011, 1:58 pm

MiltonBradley wrote:well memory was running high FIRST
i only install memfox AFTER having all the high memory usage

The question is whether you installed it not because of a number you observed but because you had a performance problem due to disk swapping. Which was it? the difference is crucial.

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests