MozillaZine

Yet, another Firefox + Java topic.

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
K2X
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:44 am

Post Posted November 25th, 2011, 3:26 am

Well, Java doesn't work on my browser. In fact, it doesn't work on IE and/or GC. I have the latest version on my PC, including the 64-bit version, both installed on different locations. When I try play RuneScape, it sort of tries to load, but then it suddenly tells me this:

Code: Select all
Java Plug-in 1.6.0_29
Using JRE version 1.6.0_29-b11 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Users\537
----------------------------------------------------
c:   clear console window
f:   finalize objects on finalization queue
g:   garbage collect
h:   display this help message
l:   dump classloader list
m:   print memory usage
o:   trigger logging
q:   hide console
r:   reload policy configuration
s:   dump system and deployment properties
t:   dump thread list
v:   dump thread stack
x:   clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------


load: class Rs2Applet.class not found.
java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Rs2Applet.class
   at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
   at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass0(Unknown Source)
   at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
   at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
   at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadCode(Unknown Source)
   at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager.createApplet(Unknown Source)
   at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager$AppletExecutionRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Exception: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Rs2Applet.class


Help, anyone? I actually can't get Java working on any other website, all I see is Java trying to load which is like, a never ending animation.

Also, you might ask for this:

Image

Oh, and, I just noticed something weird. Click here and here.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 108261
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted November 25th, 2011, 7:15 am

Moving to MozillaZine Tech because the same problem exists with IE, etc.

Have you tried uninstalling Java (including any duplicate installations) and then downloading and reinstalling the latest version?
You might also consider downloading the 32 bit version to see if there is an issue with the 64 bit installation.

_Alexander

User avatar
 
Posts: 1197
Joined: April 1st, 2010, 2:24 pm
Location: Your augmented reality

Post Posted November 25th, 2011, 11:36 am

Remove _all_ Java installations from your computer.

For compatibility reasons, you may notice that you have multiple versions of Java installed - feel free to uninstall all of them.
This might actually be causing the problem.

Then install JRE 1.7.01 (1.6 is an older version which doesn't have some minor performance improvements of 1.7).
http://magneticpudding.com/ <- My Blog
i5 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz / NV 660 / 32GB DDR3 / 1080p LCD / SSD (120 + 180) / W8 ||| Atom N270 / NV ION / 3GB DDR3 / SSD / 1366x768 / W8

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2615
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted November 25th, 2011, 4:00 pm

You definitely need the 32-bit version of Java for 32-bit browsers like Firefox. Ref: http://java.com/en/download/faq/java_win64bit.xml

If Java isn't working, see http://kb.mozillazine.org/Java#Testing_Java

Java 6 Update 29 is the version being offered at http://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp but if you want Java 7, see:
http://java.com/en/download/faq/java7.xml
Alice Wyman

K2X
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:44 am

Post Posted November 26th, 2011, 1:39 am

DanRaisch wrote:Moving to MozillaZine Tech because the same problem exists with IE, etc.

Have you tried uninstalling Java (including any duplicate installations) and then downloading and reinstalling the latest version?
You might also consider downloading the 32 bit version to see if there is an issue with the 64 bit installation.

Okay, cool, thank you.

No, I haven't, because I've tried it before, on top of that, I just reformatted my PC, so everything is brand new, you know? I don't see the point to do that, but since you told me to, I'm going to try it and come back at you.
Also, I think I mentioned in my topic that I already have both, you might've been confused. I also have them both, on different locations, for a few reasons and to also avoid conflict, I've also read about it somewhere that it's cool to have both of them installed on your PC as long as the locations are different.

Hera wrote:Remove _all_ Java installations from your computer.

For compatibility reasons, you may notice that you have multiple versions of Java installed - feel free to uninstall all of them.
This might actually be causing the problem.

Then install JRE 1.7.01 (1.6 is an older version which doesn't have some minor performance improvements of 1.7).

Well, I have tried to surf the net with having just the 32-bit version of JRE installed. I never installed both of them at the same time, I installed the 64-bit version of JRE because I was checking out Firefox Nightly builds.

Anyhow, I'll do what you say and come back at you.

Alice wrote:You definitely need the 32-bit version of Java for 32-bit browsers like Firefox. Ref: http://java.com/en/download/faq/java_win64bit.xml

If Java isn't working, see http://kb.mozillazine.org/Java#Testing_Java

Java 6 Update 29 is the version being offered at http://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp but if you want Java 7, see:
http://java.com/en/download/faq/java7.xml

I've read and tried all/most of those links, really. They were all useless. Thanks anyway.

K2X
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:44 am

Post Posted November 26th, 2011, 2:33 am

Okay, I've done what you guys told me. I got the latest JRE 1.7 - 32-bit; yet it still does not work.

It gave me the same error as before:

Really large image.

But when I click details, it doesn't show me what it did before, which is in the topic!

Code: Select all
Java Plug-in 10.1.0.8
Using JRE version 1.7.0_01-b08 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Users\537
----------------------------------------------------
c:   clear console window
f:   finalize objects on finalization queue
g:   garbage collect
h:   display this help message
l:   dump classloader list
m:   print memory usage
o:   trigger logging
q:   hide console
r:   reload policy configuration
s:   dump system and deployment properties
t:   dump thread list
v:   dump thread stack
x:   clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------


What now?
Last edited by LIMPET235 on November 26th, 2011, 4:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Large image modified to preserve the forum layout...

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2615
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted November 26th, 2011, 5:35 am

Even though you said all my links were "useless", did you actually try the Java test links at http://kb.mozillazine.org/Java#Testing_Java (from my earlier post)? When I googled "Rs2Applet.class" (from your screenshot) I only got this thread and a few other links that referred to RuneScape.

If the problem only occurs with RuneScape then try their forums. You could also try clearing the Java cache, in case it helps. Ref: http://www.java.com/en/download/help/plugin_cache.xml (Note that if you have both 64-bit and 32-bit Java versions installed, you will have to get to the 32-bit Java Control Panel by running the javacpl.exe file directly ... For example, for 32-bit Java 6 I would run "C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\javacpl.exe")
Last edited by Alice on November 26th, 2011, 6:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Alice Wyman

K2X
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:44 am

Post Posted November 26th, 2011, 6:28 am

Yup, I've tried those test links. All 3 of them, and the same happened. Java tries to load for a few seconds, then boom, it gives me that error. I also cleared my cache, and it still does not work.

Am I doomed?

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2615
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted November 26th, 2011, 1:51 pm

What happens when you go to the http://java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp test page? What are the details of the error you get?

I was going to ask, maybe your firewall or other security software is blocking Java? Ref: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Java#If_Java_is_installed_and_enabled_but_does_not_work
... but then I did a web search and found this thread started by user 537:
http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f217/java-doesnt-work-cant-play-games-like-runescape-540444.html
... which is the same user name as in the screenshot you posted earlier. If that's you, then you've been struggling with this for a long time.

As a last resort, there are support options for Java here:
http://www.java.com/en/download/support.jsp

You could also try Oracle's Java Runtime Environment (JRE) forum:
https://forums.oracle.com/forums/forum.jspa?forumID=937
Alice Wyman

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2615
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted November 26th, 2011, 2:11 pm

P.S. I found this thread on Oracle's JRE forum, in case it helps:

https://forums.oracle.com/forums/thread ... 5&#9298305
Java will not run IE8, Windows 7 - class jreVerify.class not found
Alice Wyman

K2X
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:44 am

Post Posted November 27th, 2011, 5:22 am

Image

This happens, then it fails to load, like always, but this time it said something different when the Application Error popped up.

"testJava2_1.TestVMApplet.class"

Code: Select all
Java Plug-in 10.1.0.8
Using JRE version 1.7.0_01-b08 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Users\537
----------------------------------------------------
c:   clear console window
f:   finalize objects on finalization queue
g:   garbage collect
h:   display this help message
l:   dump classloader list
m:   print memory usage
o:   trigger logging
q:   hide console
r:   reload policy configuration
s:   dump system and deployment properties
t:   dump thread list
v:   dump thread stack
x:   clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------
Detected from bootclasspath: C:\\PROGRA~2\\Java\\jre7\\lib\\deploy.jar


And yeah, I've been struggling with this for a very long time, indeed, sometimes I just seem to give up because it makes me feel like it'll never work. What the heck am I supposed to do? I've literally tried everything on Java's website. Other than that forum link? If I get no help on here, I guess I'll move to that one.

P.S. I can barely find any help on that thread.

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2615
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted November 27th, 2011, 12:49 pm

Searching google on Java Application error "testJava2_1.TestVMApplet.class" gets lots more results, e.g., this thread has some solutions:
http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f120/java-error-application-failed-to-run-543573.html
... including disabling or reconfiguring the firewall and turning off web-filtering software. Another person reported fixing the problem by uninstalling all versions of Java and then reinstalling Java by downloading the OFFLINE installer and installing the JRE while disconnected from the internet and security software disabled.

Hope that helps but your best bet might be posting on a forum specializing in Java like Oracle's JRE forum.
Alice Wyman

K2X
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:44 am

Post Posted November 28th, 2011, 5:05 am

Alright, thanks a lot for trying, Alice, and everyone else. I give up, all over again, for now. But I'll be sure to bookmark this thread, I'll get into it later. I'm sick of it! Sigh.

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest