Using FireBird on IE only sites??

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
Mike`
Posts: 107
Joined: August 13th, 2003, 1:24 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Post by Mike` »

I copied the js straight out my bookmark - make sure it's all there, eg on one line, as the forum will have wrapped it. Also ensure you put http:// at the start of every address.

You are inserting the JS into a bookmark "location" field? not trying to put it in an html page?

--

After posting the above I actually started making myself a better neptune "wrapper" - an html file i bookmark, which i can enter an address in a form input and click go etc...

If you're interested I've put up a somewhat preliminary version here. Feel free to use it and/or rip the source for local use.
User avatar
focoma
Posts: 19
Joined: September 13th, 2003, 6:00 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Post by focoma »

D'oh!

I forgot to place the http:// thing!

#-o ](*,)

Thanks. And, nice work on that html page! :)
ALL YOUR BASE ARE BELONG TO US!!!
Nimisha
Posts: 25
Joined: September 9th, 2003, 1:20 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Nimisha »

Mike

You're an absolute legend :D I had one site which I've been neglecting cos their code didn't work in Firebird. Now I've copied your neptune page, and added that site as a link :D

Excellent plugin :)

Does it report the browser as IE?
--

Margo
Webmaster
http://www.ozjokes.com
now working in Suse!! :)
Mike`
Posts: 107
Joined: August 13th, 2003, 1:24 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Post by Mike` »

It will act exactly like you opened IE and navigated to a page there. So yes, it shows as MSIE in useragent.
User avatar
rmjb
Posts: 468
Joined: September 17th, 2003, 6:05 am
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Contact:

Post by rmjb »

Hey thanks Mike` I guess this is what I'll have to do...

I modified the bookmarklet to take the current url in the window:

Code: Select all

javascript: function IE() { var addy = window.location.href; document.write('\<html\>\<head\>\<title\>Neptune - ' + addy + '\</title\>\</head\>\<body marginheight=\%220\%22 marginwidth=\%220\%22 leftmargin=\%220\%22 bottommargin=\%220\%22 rightmargin=\%220\%22 topmargin=\%220\%22\>\n\n\<embed type=\%22application/x-meadco-neptune-ax\%22 pluginspage=\%22http://www.meadroid.com/neptune/download/\%22 width=\%22100%\%22 height=\%22100%\%22 param-location=\%22' + addy + '\%22\>\</embed\>\n\n\ </body\>\</html\>'); document.close(); } void(IE());


- rmjb
David H
Posts: 2254
Joined: June 13th, 2003, 5:17 am
Location: Japan

Post by David H »

Interesting plugin. I can only seem to get it working on some sites though with the script by rmjb above. The NYTimes page, for example, won't change engines for me. Anybody know what's wrong?

Also, could someone please write a version of the script that works with the context menu extensions script runner? That would be most convenient. I haven't a clue as to how to get it working myself.
David H
Posts: 2254
Joined: June 13th, 2003, 5:17 am
Location: Japan

Post by David H »

Ignore the first half of my last post. I've discovered Proxomitron was interfering with it somehow. It works after I disable it and reload the page.

So can anyone tell me how to modify it for CME?
User avatar
zoom314a
Posts: 111
Joined: October 3rd, 2003, 2:02 am
Location: Mars

Post by zoom314a »

Mike` wrote:I recently discovered the Neptune plugin, which allows you to view websites via IE in firebird. It essentially renders the page using the IE engine, but within Firebird. This means any site you can view in IE you can view in firebird, using this.

Neptune can be downloaded here: http://www.meadroid.com/neptune/download/index.htm

Once installed, you need to go to your IE plugins dir (C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\PLUGINS\ in most case) and copy npmeadax.dll & Neptune.inf to your Firebird plugins dir (P:\Firebird\plugins\ in my case).

To use the plugin I have adapted a bookmarklet for my own use, but there are other ways to do it, for example an html page with form. Here is the bookmarklet I use to access Netpune:

Code: Select all

javascript: function IE() { var addy = prompt(%22Enter the address to view...%22); document.write('\<html\>\<head\>\<title\>Neptune - ' + addy + '\</title\>\</head\>\<body marginheight=\%220\%22 marginwidth=\%220\%22 leftmargin=\%220\%22 bottommargin=\%220\%22 rightmargin=\%220\%22 topmargin=\%220\%22\>\n\n\<embed type=\%22application/x-meadco-neptune-ax\%22 pluginspage=\%22http://www.meadroid.com/neptune/download/\%22 width=\%22100%\%22 height=\%22100%\%22 param-location=\%22' + addy + '\%22\>\</embed\>\n\n\ </body\>\</html\>'); document.close(); } void(IE());

Of course it could be more elegant, but it works. Simply go to your bookmark, and enter the address of the website in the JavaScript prompt (http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com for example) and away you go.

Take note that the pages you view use IE security settings etc, so even if you don't use IE itself to browse, ensure the settings are ok.

Hope this is of some use.

Mike


Hey Mike I went to Windows Update (http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/) using the above Java script and the MeadCo Neptune plugin, But I would like to embed It, Is there a way to do It, It looks like It would go into the first line of the script.
User avatar
Paradox52525
Posts: 1219
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 9:13 am
Location: Middle of nowhere
Contact:

Post by Paradox52525 »

I had initially written off this whole Neptune thing as being more trouble than it's worth (the whole "why not just open IE" thing). Thinking about it a bit more, I suppose it's still better to use IE Rendering engine in Firebird than have to open IE itself...provided it's not too difficult to set up, but I do have a few questions before I actually try this:

First off, this plugin is only used when you use that specific javascript mess, correct? So if I *DON'T* use that javascript the plugin would be inactive and leave my beloved Gecko rendering alone?

Second, I'm assuming there's a bit of extra overhead when you use this plugin, but again I'm more concerned about when I'm *NOT* using the plugin...does it slow down Firebird/Mozilla or increase memory usage at all when the plugin is NOT active?

Third, my understanding is that this plugin not only uses IE's rendering engine, but also it's plugins (ActiveX/VBScript) and security settings (Internet Explorer's security "zones" ect). Now I understand that this would open up all of IE's security vulnerabilities when the plugin is used to render a page, but again what about when it's NOT being used to render a page? Does having this whole Neptune plugin installed open up any of those security holes during normal browsing? If I go to a site that uses ActiveX or VBScript, will the plugin activate itself or do anything or does it only handle these things when it's rendering the whole site itself?

Thanks in advance. This sounds like it could be very convenient on occasion, but I just want to make sure I have enough control over this thing before I introduce something so potentially unstable into my Firebird install...
User avatar
zoom314a
Posts: 111
Joined: October 3rd, 2003, 2:02 am
Location: Mars

Post by zoom314a »

As far as I know It doesn't affect Firebird at all, firebird just uses the plugin when called to.

1. Correct.
2. Not that I know of, But I'm not a dev, so I would assume by overhead that does It slow the browser down when activated? No.
3. When You call the plugin and use It, the page You go to acts like any webpage. So the moment You go somewhere else or close that page, the plugin isn't being used at all.
4. I've used It and My experience is that It works fine, I just wish I could embed the url, so that I wouldn't have to copy the url from somewhere and then paste the url in to the the Java window.
User avatar
zoom314a
Posts: 111
Joined: October 3rd, 2003, 2:02 am
Location: Mars

Post by zoom314a »

Mike` wrote:I copied the js straight out my bookmark - make sure it's all there, eg on one line, as the forum will have wrapped it. Also ensure you put http:// at the start of every address.

You are inserting the JS into a bookmark "location" field? not trying to put it in an html page?

--
If you're interested I've put up a somewhat preliminary version here. Feel free to use it and/or rip the source for local use.


I've tried this, It did work on a website that It was on, But when Itried combing It with the lower section It didn't work, I'll find that website and look for the source code to the site. That may solve what's missing.

Code: Select all

javascript:GoToURL('http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com');


Code: Select all

 document.write('\<html\>\<head\>\<title\>Neptune - ' + addy + '\</title\>\</head\>\<body marginheight=\%220\%22 marginwidth=\%220\%22 leftmargin=\%220\%22 bottommargin=\%220\%22 rightmargin=\%220\%22 topmargin=\%220\%22\>\n\n\<embed type=\%22application/x-meadco-neptune-ax\%22 pluginspage=\%22http://www.meadroid.com/neptune/download/\%22 width=\%22100%\%22 height=\%22100%\%22 param-location=\%22' + addy + '\%22\>\</embed\>\n\n\ </body\>\</html\>'); document.close(); } void(IE());
shad0w
Posts: 17
Joined: October 8th, 2003, 6:25 pm

Post by shad0w »

I added those bookmarklets, but they open in the same window and I tried to get them to open in a new window using the tabrowser extentions but it didn't have any effect. Is there a way to have the bookmarklets open in a new tab.
User avatar
johnxways
Posts: 2
Joined: August 20th, 2003, 8:28 am
Location: Dorset, England

Using FireBird on IE only sites??

Post by johnxways »

Mike / rmjb

Many thanks for your script. I've been after a one click route into "problem" IE sites for ages.

Your script, modified to embed the URL in the document, seems to work perfectly.

I've one further check to make on Monday - will it deal with streaming data ? - but I have every confidence...................



:D :D :D

JX
User avatar
zoom314a
Posts: 111
Joined: October 3rd, 2003, 2:02 am
Location: Mars

Re: Using FireBird on IE only sites??

Post by zoom314a »

johnxways wrote:Mike / rmjb
Many thanks for your script. I've been after a one click route into "problem" IE sites for ages.
Your script, modified to embed the URL in the document, seems to work perfectly.
I've one further check to make on Monday - will it deal with streaming data ? - but I have every confidence...................

:D :D :D
JX


Well could You post this modified script that allows for an embeded url in It?
Galactica: CM HAF-932, 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1333 ram, Asus P7P55D Pro, i5 750 @ 2.66GHz~, Corsair H70, 5-Delta 120mm fans(1-148cfm & 4-113cfm), WD Scorpio Black 500GB hdd, Zotac Infinity Edition GTX580 card(Nvidia driver 266.58 whql), EVGA Power Booster card, Windows 7 Pro x64 sp1.
User avatar
johnxways
Posts: 2
Joined: August 20th, 2003, 8:28 am
Location: Dorset, England

Re: Using FireBird on IE only sites?

Post by johnxways »

zoom314

All I did was set the variable "addy" to the URL. Windows Update shown below.
Then use as a normal Bookmark, putting the whole script into the location field.


javascript: function IE() { var addy = 'http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com'; document.write('\<html\>\<head\>\<title\>Neptune - ' + addy + '\</title\>\</head\>\<body marginheight=\%220\%22 marginwidth=\%220\%22 leftmargin=\%220\%22 bottommargin=\%220\%22 rightmargin=\%220\%22 topmargin=\%220\%22\>\n\n\<embed type=\%22application/x-meadco-neptune-ax\%22 pluginspage=\%22http://www.meadroid.com/neptune/download/\%22 width=\%22100%\%22 height=\%22100%\%22 param-location=\%22' + addy + '\%22\>\</embed\>\n\n\ </body\>\</html\>');
document.close(); } void(IE());

This works OK for me on all sites I have tested.

??? How do I get the code into one of those nice white boxes???

JX
Post Reply