MozillaZine

Set Firefox.exe to start on High Priority in Win 2000 or XP

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
james_go_2001

User avatar
 
Posts: 54
Joined: September 19th, 2004, 2:39 am
Location: Medford, Oregon USA

Post Posted May 18th, 2005, 5:22 pm

I use Firefox 1.0.4 and im trying to set Firefox.exe to use High Priority in the Windows Task Manager.

It work fine but when i exit out of Firefox and re-open the browser it seems to reset back to Normal Priority.

Is there any way to have Firefox.exe start on any of these priority's
so i dont need to go back in to the Windows Task Manager "Every Time" ???
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.8) Gecko/20050509 Firefox/1.0.4 - - - - - - - - - Thunderbird 1.0.2 (20050317)

wong888

User avatar
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: September 22nd, 2004, 5:10 pm

Post Posted May 18th, 2005, 5:32 pm

use a batch file to start firefox using start command:

Starts a separate window to run a specified program or command.

START ["title"] [/Dpath] [/I] [/MIN] [/MAX] [/SEPARATE | /SHARED]
[/LOW | /NORMAL | /HIGH | /REALTIME | /ABOVENORMAL | /BELOWNORMAL]
[/WAIT] [/B] [command/program]
[parameters]

"title" Title to display in window title bar.
path Starting directory
B Start application without creating a new window. The
application has ^C handling ignored. Unless the application
enables ^C processing, ^Break is the only way to interrupt
the application
I The new environment will be the original environment passed
to the cmd.exe and not the current environment.
MIN Start window minimized
MAX Start window maximized
SEPARATE Start 16-bit Windows program in separate memory space
SHARED Start 16-bit Windows program in shared memory space
LOW Start application in the IDLE priority class
NORMAL Start application in the NORMAL priority class
HIGH Start application in the HIGH priority class
REALTIME Start application in the REALTIME priority class
ABOVENORMAL Start application in the ABOVENORMAL priority class
BELOWNORMAL Start application in the BELOWNORMAL priority class
WAIT Start application and wait for it to terminate
command/program
If it is an internal cmd command or a batch file then
the command processor is run with the /K switch to cmd.exe.
This means that the window will remain after the command
has been run.

If it is not an internal cmd command or batch file then
it is a program and will run as either a windowed application
or a console application.

parameters These are the parameters passed to the command/program
cant afford a sig.

james_go_2001

User avatar
 
Posts: 54
Joined: September 19th, 2004, 2:39 am
Location: Medford, Oregon USA

Post Posted May 19th, 2005, 2:52 am

At first, I was thinking it would be something in the Registry or a switch on the end of the taget but to my surprise it was a batch file. :)

I try doing some of the switches that wong888 showed but they seem not work very well.
It look a lot like windows 9x switches. So i made up one that works in Windows XP SP2.

If anyone wants to do this - - follow me.

First goto C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox or the location that you put firefox
Then make a Text Document (.txt) and rename it to Firefox.bat
After that the icon should look like a Gold Gear
Now right click on the Gold Gear Icon then select Edit
From there a txt window should popup and write:

<b>cmd /c start /High FireFox.exe</b>

You can replace /High with any of these switches below.
/Low /BelowNormal /Normal /AboveNormal /High /RealTime "DO NOT ADD MORE THEN ONE SWITCH"

After typeing that line of code --- save the file and exit
Now click on the batch file to test it and see if it all works.

If the Browser works and the Priority shows High or what you pick should show up in Windows Task Manager / Processes (Set Priority)

Nice Job if you got this far :)

Now make a Shortcut of the Firefox.bat and place it on your desktop or where ever you like.
From there rename the Shortcut to Mozilla Firefox after thats all done you need to make the Shortcut look like a Firefox icon.
This is how you do it -- right click on the shortcut and select Properties
When the window pops up select Change Icon... from there goto C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\Firefox.exe

That should do it --- As for the CMD window poping up for 1 sec. when you click this shortcut, That can be fix too.
Here is how --- Right click on the shortcut and select Properties goto Layout.
Now make the Screen buffer size and the Window size W-1 H-1 --- also make the Window position Left - 1020 or more / Top - 0 you may need to unclick the box to change this setting. "now hit OK"

Now you are all done...

WOW --- That was alot of typeing
I hope this helps anyone out there and feel free to reply

Have a nice day :)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.8) Gecko/20050509 Firefox/1.0.4 - - - - - - - - - Thunderbird 1.0.2 (20050317)

wong888

User avatar
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: September 22nd, 2004, 5:10 pm

Post Posted May 19th, 2005, 3:14 am

if you use cmd, you dont need a batch file, a shortcut will do.

create a new shortcut on the desktop or anywhere you like, enter this in the location:

cmd /c cd "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox" && start/high firefox

finito.

change to icon if you like.
cant afford a sig.

james_go_2001

User avatar
 
Posts: 54
Joined: September 19th, 2004, 2:39 am
Location: Medford, Oregon USA

Post Posted May 19th, 2005, 3:26 am

WOW that was eazy ---- lol :)

What a wast of good web space i used.

You put it all on one line that makes me look like a fool -- lol

Anyways i guess im new at this and thats why i came in here to ask for help.

See You Around: wong
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.8) Gecko/20050509 Firefox/1.0.4 - - - - - - - - - Thunderbird 1.0.2 (20050317)

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests