MozillaZine

Mozilla forces automatic update from 32 to 64-bit on Windows

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted July 21st, 2017, 11:52 am

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... lCGG_Hib1w

with firefox 55 mozilla is going to force firefox 64-bit with the stub and with firefox 56 the automatic update will force users to 64-bit - under several conditions.

Virtual_ManPL

User avatar
 
Posts: 1910
Joined: July 24th, 2008, 5:52 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 3:04 am

Finally...
This should be done long time ago.
Virtualfox persona

Are you ready for deprecation of XUL & XBL & XPCOM extensions? Not?! Try Firefox ESR

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11596
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 2:45 pm

Should be noted for those operating 64 bit systems - this for those who don't read the link.

costark
 
Posts: 245
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 5:03 am

Post Posted July 31st, 2017, 9:31 am

Brummelchen wrote:https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/mozilla.dev.platform/hlCGG_Hib1w

with firefox 55 mozilla is going to force firefox 64-bit with the stub and with firefox 56 the automatic update
will force users to 64-bit - under several conditions.

I have W7-64 and Min of 2 GB RAM (8) so I'll get to use Firefox 64 when 55 is Installed.

HOW will my Life Change? ...... Virtual_ManPL [Finally...This should be done long time ago.] so it must be helpful for some / All .....
Firefox 57(64) - Win 7-64 Hm Prem - i5 8G - ESET EIS - MBAM Prem 3 - SuperAS Pro - Macrium Reflect 7 - Diskeeper Pro 15- EPIM Mail - Secunia PSI 3 - NO Java or Flash

allande
 
Posts: 65
Joined: July 20th, 2017, 11:58 am

Post Posted July 31st, 2017, 8:03 pm

The google post says that the Firefox 55 stub installer for fresh installs would give the 64-bit version. Existing users would be switched on version 56. The 64-bit version uses more memory for the same workload, but 64-bit software expands the limit of memory access. As long as the operating system is set to use swap files as normal, Firefox 64-bit should not get OOM (out of memory) errors or crashes at all, however it could slow down. OOM crashes are one of the main types of crashes that occur with Firefox.

64-bit Firefox should have less risk of hackers compromising it since ASLR https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ASLR makes some exploits not hit their target.

64-bit Firefox cannot run 32-bit plugins, but plugins other than Flash have already been blocked in Firefox 54 which you are using, so that will not be a difference to you. If you do not get crashes now, you may not notice much difference at all.

If you want to switch now, you can, Firefox 54 64-bit does exist, instructions for how to are here: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/sw ... bit-64-bit

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27079
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted July 31st, 2017, 10:22 pm

costark wrote:I have W7-64 and Min of 2 GB RAM (8) so I'll get to use Firefox 64 when 55 is Installed.

Win64 Firefox has existed for Release since Fx 42.0 and was listed on http://www.mozilla.org/firefox/all/ since Fx 43.0 release. No need to wait until Fx 55 to try Win64 Firefox.

costark
 
Posts: 245
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 5:03 am

Post Posted August 1st, 2017, 9:32 am

Thanks to Allande and James. I'm 64-Bit now with no issues and the Conversion Procedure seemed Too Easy to be True.... Dnload 64 - Install - Uninstall x86 via Control Panel ....

All the Best!
Firefox 57(64) - Win 7-64 Hm Prem - i5 8G - ESET EIS - MBAM Prem 3 - SuperAS Pro - Macrium Reflect 7 - Diskeeper Pro 15- EPIM Mail - Secunia PSI 3 - NO Java or Flash

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests