MozillaZine

I need two version of firefox on this Computer

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
john32073
 
Posts: 6
Joined: October 29th, 2017, 1:04 pm

Post Posted October 29th, 2017, 1:17 pm

I have windows 10 pro running in GPT Partation UEFI

I need to set up Firefox version 47 (32 Bit) This version of 47 will Run My Security Camera So I can view my cameras in in this browser. This version I can install my plugin IPCWebComponents All firefox updates after version 47 will not Install my plugin IPCWebComponents .Version 47 is the last version as of present time (Note Chrome and palemoon does not support this plugin any longer)
I noticed that version 47 is the last version that downloads as an .exe file.
After FF47 they started using a download manager installer that automatically downloads the Current version

I want to use the current version of Firefox (I FF version 56 Firefox running at the present time as my regular daily browser set to keep updated, and ver 47 set to never to update
I do use chrome some, but I can control and move my bookmarks better with firefox

Can anyone help me out with how to setup to so I can install the two versions of Firefox
I need pretty simple straight foward Instruction first attemping this
John

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27082
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted October 29th, 2017, 1:33 pm

john32073 wrote:I noticed that version 47 is the last version that downloads as an .exe file. After FF47 they started using a download manager installer that automatically downloads the Current version

???

All Firefox Releases for Windows have had a full setup file while the small online stub installer concept only existed since Firefox 18.0 and more recently included Win64 with it as default choice if system supports it. The Stub is served on http://www.mozilla.org while the full setup for current Release is served on http://www.moilla.org/firefox/all/


All Releases are at http://archive.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/ as for example the 32-bit en-US Firefox 47.0.2 is at http://archive.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/47.0.2/win32/en-US/

If you go this route you need to make sure they are installed in separate folders and that each version is started with separate Profiles as they should not be shared.

You could instead try using a portable version of Firefox 47.0.1 as it is more self contained as you can runn it off a usb flash drive if you want. It will not touch your Profile in use by the Firefox 56.0.2 you have.
https://sourceforge.net/projects/portableapps/files/Mozilla%20Firefox%2C%20Portable%20Ed./Mozilla%20Firefox%2C%20Portable%20Edition%2047.0.1/ and pick your language.

john32073
 
Posts: 6
Joined: October 29th, 2017, 1:04 pm

Post Posted October 29th, 2017, 4:52 pm

My Firefox version 56 is 64 bit installed in C:Programs Files folder
The 47 version I want to install will be 32 Bit to install in C:program files (x86)
That would put them in separate folders
You say do not share Profiles

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17799
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 30th, 2017, 12:48 pm

You say do not share Profiles

Use separate Profile for each FF version.
Disable updates, heh, might have to be quick, in FF 47.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

john32073
 
Posts: 6
Joined: October 29th, 2017, 1:04 pm

Post Posted October 30th, 2017, 2:05 pm

I Got My two Firefox Versions set up now

My main Firefox browser is Firefox version 56 (64 bit) version install in Programs Files folder I renamed the desktop icon 56
I then Installed Firefox 47.01 (32 Bit) Version and it in program files (x86)
And renamed the desktop icon 47. I could not use the Bookmarks because of a conflict, so I opened up the profile folder and created a new Profile name it Foscam ( for my security camera’s )
Clicked run Firefox
Setup my Bookmarks the and installed IPCWebComponents now all my security camera's are viewable from my browser now
I found several ways of doing this but the way I did it was the easiest
Case closed
Thanks for the input from the peopled who reply

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests