MozillaZine

Old Profiles

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted November 12th, 2017, 9:23 am

.
I have been using the same default profile for over 12 years. When I started using 57 Nightly I copied my default profile into the Nightly profile and started cleaning our old extensions. After 14+ weeks of 57 Nightly and 57 Beta I had 57 operating just the way I wanted. Nine WebX extensions [still waiting for one to be ported], eight userChrome tweaks, toolbars my way, .....

I after looking in the directory I wondered how much residual garbage was there. I created a new blank profile using the latest 57rc. I then transferred bookmarks, favicons, logins, userChrome tweaks, ... to the new profile. Then installed the WebX extensions along with data that I exported from the “default”.

The results surprised me.

Old default --> New

Size
232M --> 98M

Files & Directories
1564 --> 153

Image

No garbage collection in FF profiles!


.
FF 63.0.1 - FF 64b9 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9247
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted November 12th, 2017, 9:31 am

Interesting, I'd wondered about that ..in the past I've always used a clean profile for any major update, :-k
#KeepFightingMichael

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3846
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 12th, 2017, 12:13 pm

v54: 104 MB 776 files, 174 folders
v57: 147 MB 296 files, 68 folders

migrating without care is no good i say. too much trash remaining. i suggest a clean start:

This article explains how to selectively transfer Firefox user data and settings to a new Firefox profile
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... _-_Firefox

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted November 12th, 2017, 12:19 pm

Brummelchen wrote:This article explains how to selectively transfer Firefox user data and settings to a new Firefox profile
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... _-_Firefox


Old article with some incorrect and missing information. Anyone that has used FF for a number of years knows how to accomplish that.

.
FF 63.0.1 - FF 64b9 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 688
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted November 12th, 2017, 1:59 pm

Look into datareporting folder, you'll get surprised. Mine has 3700 files. What's worse, I deleted them all but they all resurrected from the dead a couple weeks later. Looks like Mozilla adores telemetry.
Last edited by GHM113 on November 12th, 2017, 2:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Sorry for my poor English.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted November 12th, 2017, 2:05 pm

.
I think you can disable that under

Preferences > Privacy & Security > Firefox Data Collection and Use

EDIT: That doesn't seem to work.

.
FF 63.0.1 - FF 64b9 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted November 12th, 2017, 2:50 pm

.
I came up with a hack to solve the data collection [at least for Mac] and datareporting folder clutter.

I set my outbound firewall Little Snitch to only allow outbound TCP connections to ports 80 (http) and 443 (https). To stop the buildup of crap in the datareporting folder I wrote a simple script to delete the datareporting folder in my default profile and then launch FF.

.
FF 63.0.1 - FF 64b9 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19758
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted November 12th, 2017, 10:12 pm

I've found sync helpful to me in creating new profiles. Brings my bookmarks, history and saved passwords, and the couple of preference settings I've changed are fairly ingrained, so flipping those is easy enough. Plus it gives me a chance to revisit the options and see how they've changed them. I don't have a lot of extensions anymore, so hunting down the handful is pretty easy. I choose to leave addons unchecked in the sync settings, though I am considering changing that as my Nightly and Release profiles don't really differ anymore.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19161
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 13th, 2017, 5:21 am

So just what comprised those 1,411 files/directories?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted November 13th, 2017, 5:52 am

therube wrote:So just what comprised those 1,411 files/directories?

After 12 years probably some old extension things that were never cleared. And things like a directory called ABE and its contents, cert_override.txt, dh-ldata.json. dh-media-lists.rdf, reading-list.sqlite, ....


.
FF 63.0.1 - FF 64b9 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19161
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 13th, 2017, 6:40 am

(ABE is from NoScript.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted November 13th, 2017, 6:44 am

therube wrote:(ABE is from NoScript.)

RobertJ wrote:After 12 years probably some old extension things that were never cleared.


.
FF 63.0.1 - FF 64b9 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Duck_Dodgers
 
Posts: 39
Joined: December 6th, 2007, 3:47 pm
Location: 24th-and-a-half-Century

Post Posted November 13th, 2017, 8:04 am

RobertJ wrote:.
I came up with a hack to solve the data collection [at least for Mac] and datareporting folder clutter.

I set my outbound firewall Little Snitch to only allow outbound TCP connections to ports 80 (http) and 443 (https). To stop the buildup of crap in the datareporting folder I wrote a simple script to delete the datareporting folder in my default profile and then launch FF.

.


I also ran into this on Windows 7. Just found a note I must have gotten from this forum at some point for an about:config switch-

"To stop the creation of many, small telemetry files in Firefox, even though it is all turned off, set

toolkit.telemetry.archive.enabled to false."

Mike
Quack! Quack!

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted November 13th, 2017, 8:06 am

.
Did that and no joy.

EDIT: Using FF57

.
FF 63.0.1 - FF 64b9 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Duck_Dodgers
 
Posts: 39
Joined: December 6th, 2007, 3:47 pm
Location: 24th-and-a-half-Century

Post Posted November 13th, 2017, 8:19 am

Hmmm... It's been working here on two Win 7 PCs.

Good point about the version. I'm currently on Firefox ESR 52.4.0 (64-bit). I don't recall which version I was running when I started using this switch.

I don't know a thing about MACs. Is it possible that you need to restart the computer - in case it's retaining Firefox certain configs in cache, even though Firefox isn't running? You'd think it wouldn't, but... Heh! Heh! Or is that a stupid question?
Quack! Quack!

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests