MozillaZine

Extension to switch between two tabs?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
GLint
 
Posts: 90
Joined: December 4th, 2013, 12:44 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 2:11 pm

I use this feature a lot but as 'Tab Mix Plus' does not work with v.57 I was wondering if there is a extension that only does this one thing?
I've had a look but can't find one.
I did find one I really wanted: 'Open Tabs Next to Current' but Firefox is still not how I want it, yet.

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4454
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 2:41 pm

Try;
1. open about:config
2. find pref: browser.ctrlTab.previews set to 'false'

Ctrl+Tab key will now switch between current and whatever tab was previous -

Not sure if that is what your want, but it will switch between tabs.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2745
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 7:24 am

Not sure if that is what your want

well - he should rephrase his problem. there are many ways to switch tabs, offered by TMP.
scrolling with wheel - not possible. (need userscript, not recommended)

GLint
 
Posts: 90
Joined: December 4th, 2013, 12:44 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 7:53 am

Firefox is now starting to irritate me.
I can't do (which was very easy with TMP) what I previously could before FF57 came along.
It's all the little things which just worked, and now they don't, or not as easily (or I haven't found a way to get them to work):

Session Manager (does not work) - I am using Tab Session Manger but it's not the same.
Tabmixplus (does not work)
Open new tab in context menu (not there)
Hovering over a tab showed 'x' to close tab - I now have to click on the tab to delete it.
Double clicking a tab to duplicate it.
Clicking one tab and then clicking another tab - I could switch between them easily - I will try 'TheVisitor' suggestion.

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4454
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 2:46 pm

GLint wrote:Firefox is now starting to irritate me.
I can't do (which was very easy with TMP) what I previously could before FF57 came along.
It's all the little things which just worked, and now they don't, or not as easily (or I haven't found a way to get them to work):

Double clicking a tab to duplicate it.


There is now a right-click on the tab - Duplicate tab

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted November 16th, 2017, 5:52 am

GLint wrote:Open new tab in context menu (not there)

You can middle-click an empty area of the tab bar to open a new tab. That's always possible now that there's a spacer before the first tab and after the last one.
GLint wrote:Hovering over a tab showed 'x' to close tab - I now have to click on the tab to delete it.

You can middle-click tabs to close them. Also, Nightly displays a Close button on all tabs; I don't recall if it's different in 57. Anyway, if you want to hide the Close buttons except when you hover over the tab, add this to userChrome.css:
Code: Select all
/* Only show Close buttons when hovering over the tab */
.tab-close-button { display: none !important; }
.tabbrowser-tab:hover .tab-close-button { display: -moz-box !important; }

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37719
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 16th, 2017, 5:58 am

Moving to Firefox Support...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

GLint
 
Posts: 90
Joined: December 4th, 2013, 12:44 pm

Post Posted November 16th, 2017, 11:57 am


GLint
 
Posts: 90
Joined: December 4th, 2013, 12:44 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 2:20 pm

Brummelchen wrote:
Not sure if that is what your want

well - he should rephrase his problem. there are many ways to switch tabs, offered by TMP.
scrolling with wheel - not possible. (need userscript, not recommended)

I did say that TMP does not work with FF57.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 14 guests