MozillaZine


Firefox 78.0.2 can't play YT 8K?

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
Necronomicon
 
Posts: 105
Joined: June 5th, 2007, 3:35 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2020, 1:40 am

I tried any 8K video from YT. It either freezes, or there is a black screen, audio goes sometimes fine. Tried same videos on new MS Edge and all of videos goes smoothly.
AV1 codec (stats for nerds AV01.0.17M.08)
Yust to clarify, HW acceleration is set to ON in Firefox.

So, what is the problem with FF?
i7 2600K@4.2, NH-U12S, ASUS P8P67 Pro V.3.1, 16GB HyperX Gray@1600, MSI GTX1060 6GB GamingX, Samsung SSD Pro 256GB, WD 1TB;3TB, CM 690 II Advanced/Seasonic 850W KM3, SoundBlaster ZX/Samsung HT-WS1G/AKG K92, ASUS 24B3ST, Logitech M705 / K270, X360 wireless gamepad, LG 42LF652V, Win 10 x64 Pro

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 124239
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted July 22nd, 2020, 4:28 am

Yust to clarify, HW acceleration is set to ON in Firefox.

Have you tried it with Hardware Acceleration turned off?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20593
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 23rd, 2020, 6:15 am

URL to 8K YT video?
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Necronomicon
 
Posts: 105
Joined: June 5th, 2007, 3:35 am

Post Posted July 24th, 2020, 1:24 am

DanRaisch wrote:
Yust to clarify, HW acceleration is set to ON in Firefox.

Have you tried it with Hardware Acceleration turned off?


Yes, it's the same.

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6k7a8bw451M vp09.00.51.08.01.01.01.01.00 (243) / opus (251) - stast for nerds (codec used by Edge)
It seems that Firefox uses AV1, but Edge uses VP9.

Edit: tested FF AV1 disabled in about:config, so that FF uses VP9, but still stuttering.
i7 2600K@4.2, NH-U12S, ASUS P8P67 Pro V.3.1, 16GB HyperX Gray@1600, MSI GTX1060 6GB GamingX, Samsung SSD Pro 256GB, WD 1TB;3TB, CM 690 II Advanced/Seasonic 850W KM3, SoundBlaster ZX/Samsung HT-WS1G/AKG K92, ASUS 24B3ST, Logitech M705 / K270, X360 wireless gamepad, LG 42LF652V, Win 10 x64 Pro

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44218
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted July 24th, 2020, 2:50 am

Works quite well using the latest nightly. This machine has nowhere near the specs of yours and my connection is not fast but really no stuttering to speak of at all.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Necronomicon
 
Posts: 105
Joined: June 5th, 2007, 3:35 am

Post Posted July 24th, 2020, 3:23 am

Forgot to change signature (end there is an error I have GTX 1060, not 1080....didn't know how I typo???) and running Win10 Pro x64

Edit: I disabled addons (FF safe mode), just to check it out, but still the same.
i7 2600K@4.2, NH-U12S, ASUS P8P67 Pro V.3.1, 16GB HyperX Gray@1600, MSI GTX1060 6GB GamingX, Samsung SSD Pro 256GB, WD 1TB;3TB, CM 690 II Advanced/Seasonic 850W KM3, SoundBlaster ZX/Samsung HT-WS1G/AKG K92, ASUS 24B3ST, Logitech M705 / K270, X360 wireless gamepad, LG 42LF652V, Win 10 x64 Pro

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20593
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 26th, 2020, 5:56 am

I suppose there's supposed to be some "movement", some "action" ;-).

Doesn't fly here (worth a damn), Intel HD 4000 graphics (Win7).
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20593
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 26th, 2020, 6:16 am

vp09.00.51.08.01.01.01.01.00 (243) / opus (251) - stast for nerds (codec used by Edge)

If that is what you're getting with Edge, that is a far cry from "8K".

What you would want to see (presumably) would be something like:
Code: Select all
272          webm       7680x4320  4320p 23437k , vp9, 24fps, video only, 705.08MiB


243 is:
Code: Select all
243          webm       640x360    360p  416k , vp9, 24fps, video only, 11.93MiB
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Necronomicon
 
Posts: 105
Joined: June 5th, 2007, 3:35 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2020, 4:40 am

Tried out every possible 8K video, no matter if its 60fps, 30fps, 24.... I still stutters. Thou Edge plays it fine. Either a bug, or something is wrong.
i7 2600K@4.2, NH-U12S, ASUS P8P67 Pro V.3.1, 16GB HyperX Gray@1600, MSI GTX1060 6GB GamingX, Samsung SSD Pro 256GB, WD 1TB;3TB, CM 690 II Advanced/Seasonic 850W KM3, SoundBlaster ZX/Samsung HT-WS1G/AKG K92, ASUS 24B3ST, Logitech M705 / K270, X360 wireless gamepad, LG 42LF652V, Win 10 x64 Pro

Necronomicon
 
Posts: 105
Joined: June 5th, 2007, 3:35 am

Post Posted August 2nd, 2020, 11:27 am

Updated to 79.0 still the same.
i7 2600K@4.2, NH-U12S, ASUS P8P67 Pro V.3.1, 16GB HyperX Gray@1600, MSI GTX1060 6GB GamingX, Samsung SSD Pro 256GB, WD 1TB;3TB, CM 690 II Advanced/Seasonic 850W KM3, SoundBlaster ZX/Samsung HT-WS1G/AKG K92, ASUS 24B3ST, Logitech M705 / K270, X360 wireless gamepad, LG 42LF652V, Win 10 x64 Pro

bob c
 
Posts: 181
Joined: September 7th, 2003, 10:09 am

Post Posted August 5th, 2020, 2:25 am

Necronomicon wrote:Updated to 79.0 still the same.


Win7X64 FF79 by 64-Nvidia GTX 970--HA enabled--Content process limit set at 8--Intel I-7-32 megs--plays great.

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest