MozillaZine

how to reset the default search engine

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
tladeris
 
Posts: 70
Joined: October 4th, 2005, 5:07 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2005, 11:51 am

I want the search engine to be reset to a default one, say "Google" every time I restart FF. Currently, it remembers whatever is last used. For example, if I searched "IMDB", next time FF starts, it defaults to "IMDB" rather than "Google".

Racer
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 11:07 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2005, 12:05 pm

Try setting browser.search.defaultenginename or browser.search.selectedEngine
I believe you would have to completely restart Firefox for these settings to take effect.

tladeris
 
Posts: 70
Joined: October 4th, 2005, 5:07 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2005, 12:17 pm

no, didn't work. still set to the last used.

Racer wrote:Try setting browser.search.defaultenginename or browser.search.selectedEngine
I believe you would have to completely restart Firefox for these settings to take effect.

sheehan
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: March 30th, 2004, 4:07 pm
Location: Canada

Post Posted October 12th, 2005, 12:23 pm

You should be able to add a line in your pref.js or user.js to set browser.search.selectedEngine to Google. This should override any selections on startup.

tladeris
 
Posts: 70
Joined: October 4th, 2005, 5:07 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2005, 12:25 pm

I did that. But after startup, the default search icon is still the last one I used, in this case, Dictionary.com.

sheehan wrote:You should be able to add a line in your pref.js or user.js to set browser.search.selectedEngine to Google. This should override any selections on startup.

tladeris
 
Posts: 70
Joined: October 4th, 2005, 5:07 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2005, 12:29 pm

Here is what I did:

user_pref("browser.search.defaultenginename", "Google");
user_pref("browser.search.selectedEngine", "Google");

anything wrong?

sheehan wrote:You should be able to add a line in your pref.js or user.js to set browser.search.selectedEngine to Google. This should override any selections on startup.

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests