"google update" plugin

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox

User avatar
Posts: 26
Joined: July 6th, 2004, 8:32 am
Location: New Zealand

Post Posted September 8th, 2008, 4:10 am

After installing chrome to have a play with it I now seem to have a "google update" plugin in firefox. Is chrome sharing plugins with firefox? Or am I mistaken as to where this plugin came from.


User avatar
Posts: 20750
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:28 pm
Location: Third Rock From The Sun

Post Posted September 8th, 2008, 10:48 am

Please contact Google with questions about Chrome. So far as I know, there is no plugin sharing between the two applications.
John 3:16 and Philippians 4:13


User avatar
Posts: 9328
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted September 8th, 2008, 2:17 pm

There are several parts of Firefox which are updated by Google.
One is the security "blacklist" for spoofed sites and another is the Google Search in the navigation bar.
The update may be for something else.
Look in your about:config file and see if there's something added over and above the search and security.

Might not hurt to see what the Google update plugin is linked too.


User avatar
Posts: 77
Joined: September 5th, 2006, 2:19 pm

Post Posted September 9th, 2008, 11:39 am

I just notice this too. I am going to take Grumpus advice and check! Thanks!


User avatar
Posts: 28902
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 8:27 am
Location: Middle England

Post Posted September 9th, 2008, 12:47 pm

For help with Google Chrome, try this Unofficial Forum, HERE
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -Albert Einstein

Please DO NOT PM me for support... Lets keep it on the board, so we can all learn.

Posts: 15
Joined: September 20th, 2009, 12:31 am

Post Posted September 20th, 2009, 12:34 am

If anyone's interested, one of the things the Google Update plugin is automate installers launched from the Google website.

eg, if you go to and try to install Chrome, normally you'd be prompted to Run/Save the installer. But with the Google Update plugin, it auto-launches.

I guess the plugin is just to make updating/installing Google products more seamless, which I suppose is what the plugin's name implies.


User avatar
Posts: 7752
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted September 20th, 2009, 9:26 am

Actually you can get rid of it, the Google updater for Chrome, Earth and other Google stuff is always running (Processes), don't have a clue why they see fit to mess with FF.
# KeepFightingMichael

Return to Firefox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests