MozillaZine

phoenix splash screen?

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
saberunit02

User avatar
 
Posts: 13
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 7:43 am

Post Posted November 19th, 2002, 6:42 pm

It doesn't seem like adding a splash bmp added any noticeable startup time for me. It's still loads faster than IE on my pc anyways. (sure IE's window loads up fast, but you don't see any content for like ten seconds.) The extra second of startup time doesn't bother me. also, for those complaining about the extra ram a splash screen will suck up, shouldn't you also object to the idea of themes?

darksheer

User avatar
 
Posts: 133
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 9:33 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Post Posted November 19th, 2002, 6:45 pm

sure, that's one way to look at it.

Personally, I don't have any real objection to a splash screen other than I hate them cause they just seem like a waste of time to me. I'm just saying, people are constantly asking for faster and faster load times with more and more things happening at load time.

Stefan

User avatar
 
Posts: 2051
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:46 am

Post Posted November 20th, 2002, 1:20 am

darksheer wrote:I'm just saying, people are constantly asking for faster and faster load times with more and more things happening at load time.


Hey, at least people know what they want ;)

Scott B.
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 15th, 2002, 3:25 pm

Post Posted November 24th, 2002, 3:01 pm

When I put -splash on the end of the target, all I got was the "path is invalid" error message. What am I doing wrong.

flii

User avatar
 
Posts: 2208
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 11:29 pm
Location: hickville, south dakota

Post Posted November 24th, 2002, 3:08 pm

you need to make it <b>"C:\Program Files\Phoenix\phoenix.exe" -splash</b>, with the -spash outside the "". however, i don't think the splash works anymore, or at least it doesn't for me. :(

tve
Moderator
 
Posts: 3275
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 12:07 pm
Location: Federal Republic of Germany

Post Posted November 24th, 2002, 5:21 pm

I always disable spalshscreens in all my programs, so, "no", I dont need one :D

ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted November 24th, 2002, 8:42 pm

In your shortcut, put "C:\Program Files\mozilla.org\phoenix\phoenix.exe" "-splash"

This works.

Also if there are more commands, each needs a set of quotes of its own, e.g.--

"C:\Program Files\mozilla.org\Mozilla\mozilla.exe" "-p" "profile name"

This also works.

psicotec
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 3:02 am
Location: Sweden

Post Posted November 25th, 2002, 7:17 am

Made this one really quick in PS for all you splash screen lovers. However, the splash screen didn't show up for me with Phoenix 20021119 on XP =(. Tried with everything that've been suggested in this thread.

BTW, Lim Chee Aun made the icon, in case someone isn't aware of that yet.

<img src="http://members.chello.se/aden/splash.png">

Download:
<a href="http://members.chello.se/aden/splash.png">.PNG</a>
<a href="http://members.chello.se/aden/splash.bmp">.BMP</a>
<a href="http://members.chello.se/aden/splash.psd">.PSD</a>

Scott B.
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 15th, 2002, 3:25 pm

Post Posted November 25th, 2002, 3:12 pm

it just give me the "invalid path for shortcut" error what am I doing wrong.

Scott B.
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 15th, 2002, 3:25 pm

Post Posted November 25th, 2002, 3:24 pm

got it now, thank you and thanks for the pic (Very Nice).

kliklik
 
Posts: 11
Joined: November 26th, 2002, 11:00 am
Location: Düsseldorf/Germany

Post Posted November 26th, 2002, 11:02 am

djst wrote:I wouldn't be at all surprised if the developers remove this feature eventually, because the code that checks for phoenix.bmp probably slows down the startup process a bit. Or let me rephrase that: I <i>hope</i> that the developers remove this, because I just want Phoenix to start as fast as possible! :)


If it checks for the bmp only if there's -splash option present, than it's not going to check if you don't suply the option and it starts instantly.
guru in training

djst
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 2826
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:34 am
Location: Sweden

Post Posted November 26th, 2002, 12:21 pm

kliklik wrote:
djst wrote:I wouldn't be at all surprised if the developers remove this feature eventually, because the code that checks for phoenix.bmp probably slows down the startup process a bit. Or let me rephrase that: I <i>hope</i> that the developers remove this, because I just want Phoenix to start as fast as possible! :)


If it checks for the bmp only if there's -splash option present, than it's not going to check if you don't suply the option and it starts instantly.


Correct. It will still check for the -splash switch though.
I'm sure it takes a whole millisecond and a few lines of code :)

Ted Mielczarek
 
Posts: 1269
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 7:32 am
Location: PA

Post Posted November 26th, 2002, 12:54 pm

djst wrote:
kliklik wrote:
djst wrote:I wouldn't be at all surprised if the developers remove this feature eventually, because the code that checks for phoenix.bmp probably slows down the startup process a bit. Or let me rephrase that: I <i>hope</i> that the developers remove this, because I just want Phoenix to start as fast as possible! :)


If it checks for the bmp only if there's -splash option present, than it's not going to check if you don't suply the option and it starts instantly.


Correct. It will still check for the -splash switch though.
I'm sure it takes a whole millisecond and a few lines of code :)


If checking for a commandline switch takes a whole millisecond, they're doing something wrong.

Thumper

User avatar
 
Posts: 8037
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 5:42 pm
Location: Linlithgow, Scotland

Post Posted November 26th, 2002, 2:10 pm

Nevertheless, it falls back to straws and camels. The very act of having an optional splash screen implies things which go against the 'fast browser' theme. A Splash Screen extension would be wonderful however. :)

- Chris

sajacy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 27th, 2002, 4:25 am
Location: CMU

Post Posted November 27th, 2002, 4:46 am

Hi, I'm new to the forums and I've been using Phoenix 0.4 for a lil over a month...

I was pondering the user interface and (like most everyone else here) think it's great. For me, splash screens fall in the great wide gray between "good" and "bad" of the fast/efficient/friendly ideals for user interfaces. I think I agree with a Splash Screen extension. If it really confuses you when the computer is too slow to instantly start Phoenix... install an extension!

In any case, it's very early here and I was inspired:

<img src="http://jeff.jteers.net/splash2.png" width=400 height=100 border=0>

I hope someone will think it's pretty besides me :)

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests