MozillaZine

Fit-to-width

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 174
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted July 5th, 2010, 11:48 am

When will Firefox finally add 'Fit-to-width', a feature that Opera has had for years???

It is a real PITA to have to open two browsers to accomplish what one browser should be able to do.
When I am reading long forum posts I must open Opera to get my window text column set up correctly.

I accomplish a convenient column width to read in Opera by first sizing the window to a convenient width and then using Opera's FAMOUS Fit-to-width feature.

This feature wraps the text into whatever size window that exists.

There is a reason that newspaper columns came to be the width that they are today!!!

I hope a Mozilla programmer will respond.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38459
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted July 5th, 2010, 11:54 am

Would you settle for a lowly moderator? See if this add-on works for you https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/6965/

FYI:
Established in 1998, MozillaZine is an independent Mozilla news, community and advocacy site.
MozillaZine is not run by the Mozilla Foundation and is not an official part of the Mozilla project.
Post wrangler
Notice: If you have a comment on moderation, please post here viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2706389 and don't private message a mod. I don't reply to private messages unless I have previously requested them

RNiK

User avatar
 
Posts: 561
Joined: August 9th, 2006, 6:47 am
Location: Forette City, Italy

Post Posted July 6th, 2010, 4:15 am

You may want to take a look at this: http://space.geocities.jp/alice0775/oth ... FitToWidth :wink:
MondoWin ==> Italian site for information about MS Windows tweaking

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7388
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted July 6th, 2010, 7:19 am

MozillaMonkey wrote:When will Firefox finally add 'Fit-to-width', a feature that Opera has had for years???

I'm guessing never.
MozillaMonkey wrote:I hope a Mozilla programmer will respond.

Only once in a blue moon does a developer stop by and answer a post here. If you want to reach Mozilla, here's how to go about it:
  • Send a suggestion through feedback.mozilla.org
  • File a bug report. There is no need to do that in this case, since there are at least two already: 276166 and 493171
  • Post a comment in a developer's blog. I have no idea who would be most appropriate in this case.

MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 174
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted August 5th, 2010, 6:11 pm

LoudNoise wrote:Would you settle for a lowly moderator? See if this add-on works for you https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/6965/

FYI:


Thanks, but it doesn't.
There is a very fundamental difference between 'fit-to-width' and 'text size'.

MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 174
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted August 5th, 2010, 6:13 pm

LoudNoise wrote:Would you settle for a lowly moderator? See if this add-on works for you https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/6965/

FYI:


Thanks. Perhaps you can tell me how to install this add-on? It all looks like Chinese to me. :(

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25422
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted August 5th, 2010, 8:43 pm

MozillaMonkey wrote:
LoudNoise wrote:Would you settle for a lowly moderator? See if this add-on works for you https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/6965/

FYI:


Thanks. Perhaps you can tell me how to install this add-on? It all looks like Chinese to me. :(

To install a Extension from addons.mozilla.org is pretty simple, just left mouse click on the [ Add to Firefox ] and click on [ Install Now ]. Then exit/quit Firefox to complete the install and then when you start Firefox again you can add the toolbar buttons from the Customize window to a toolbar.
(*.mozillaZine.org is not Mozilla!)
The Complaint Department at Mozilla (current complaints) (<It is not a real complaint site but for jokes/testing of bugzilla).
The Complaint department link is borked until unknown time.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22038
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted August 6th, 2010, 12:49 am

Actually, Firefox will wrap text in any well-designed text-based website. The problem is, there are many not-very-well-designed websites out there that either use fixed widths, or throw large images into the mix that artificially lock the text into a fixed width. Sometimes going into Page Info and blocking images on a site with overly wide banners can allow the text to flow properly.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 174
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted August 6th, 2010, 7:07 pm

patrickjdempsey wrote:Actually, Firefox will wrap text in any well-designed text-based website. The problem is, there are many not-very-well-designed websites out there that either use fixed widths, or throw large images into the mix that artificially lock the text into a fixed width. Sometimes going into Page Info and blocking images on a site with overly wide banners can allow the text to flow properly.


Yeah I've noticed the mixed results too with FF.
You've pretty much identified the key problem.

The interesting thing is that it doesn't seem to a problem at all for Opera programmers. :(

MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 174
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted August 6th, 2010, 7:11 pm

To install a Extension from addons.mozilla.org is pretty simple, just left mouse click on the [ Add to Firefox ] and click on [ Install Now ]. Then exit/quit Firefox to complete the install and then when you start Firefox again you can add the toolbar buttons from the Customize window to a toolbar.


Sorry, I misquoted the wrong person. I was intending the following:

>Posted 06 Jul 2010 06:15 am
You may want to take a look at this: http://space.geocities.jp/alice0775/oth ... FitToWidth <

That really looks like Chinese and won't allow left clicking. :(

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22038
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted August 6th, 2010, 9:37 pm

Japanese.... ".jp" ;)
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7388
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted August 7th, 2010, 3:23 am


  1. I can select text on that page just fine.
  2. There's a translation link at the top for those too lazy to manually chuck the page into a machine translator.

MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 174
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2011, 9:13 pm

RNiK wrote:You may want to take a look at this: http://space.geocities.jp/alice0775/oth ... FitToWidth :wink:


There is a Bookmarklet javascript code at this site that appears to implement some sort of fit-to-width.

Can anyone here please explain how to take this code and get it to work in Firefox?

TIA

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7388
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted May 15th, 2011, 10:16 pm

  1. Click the Select All link below and copy the code to the clipboard.
    Code: Select all
    javascript:(function(){function t(f){a=d.createNodeIterator(d,1,f,false);while(a.nextNode()){}}var d=document;t(function(e){x=e.offsetLeft;l=e.offsetParent;while(l!=null){x+=l.offsetLeft;l=l.offsetParent}var w=d.documentElement.clientWidth-x;var s=e.style;if(s.marginLeft)w-=s.marginLeft;if(s.marginRight)w-=s.marginRight;if(s.paddingLeft)w-=s.paddingLeft;if(s.paddingRight)w-=s.paddingRight;if(s.borderSize)w-=s.borderSize;w-=d.defaultView.innerWidth-d.documentElement.offsetWidth;if(e.tagName=='IMG'){h=e.clientHeight*w/e.clientWidth;s.maxHeight=h}s.maxWidth=w+'px'})})();
  2. Open the Bookmarks menu and choose Show All Bookmarks or Organize Bookmarks, depending on your version of Firefox.
  3. On the left side, expand the All Bookmarks entry, then left-click Bookmarks Toolbar.
  4. On the right-side, click the Organize button and choose New Bookmark.
  5. Give the bookmark whatever name you want, e.g. Fit to Width. Paste the contents of the clipboard in the Location field. Click the Add button to finish.
  6. Left-click the newly created bookmark on the bookmarks toolbar to use it.

z06gal
 
Posts: 1
Joined: May 21st, 2011, 7:48 pm

Post Posted May 21st, 2011, 8:04 pm

Thank you Gingerbread!! Worked like a charm ;)

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests