MozillaZine

URL search bar highlighting

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
q1k
 
Posts: 21
Joined: June 2nd, 2016, 2:48 pm

Post Posted June 12th, 2016, 1:36 pm

First of all, I apologize if this is the wrong section.

Second,
I would like to know how to change the marking of the hits when typing in the url search bar.
So instead of it adding a background behind the characters, to only make them bold and underlined (like it used to be in previous versions).

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22215
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted June 13th, 2016, 8:23 am

Not entirely sure about what you are talking about... would you please post a screen-show of what you see at this time... and maybe elaborate from there.

See: Posting_a_screenshot_on_the_forum.
Posting a screenshot on the forum - MozillaZine Knowledge Base
Use a compressed image format like .png or .jpg and please do not post large images that break the forum layout, use thumbnails instead or only post a link.
If you need a place to host a screenshot... Note the "Uploading for general use" section of the document.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

q1k
 
Posts: 21
Joined: June 2nd, 2016, 2:48 pm

Post Posted June 13th, 2016, 11:45 am

Since I'm unable to make some screenshots right now, I just found some images to show what I meant.
Here's how it looks now: http://s31.postimg.org/8dsfbt0fv/ff1.png
And what it used to look like: http://s31.postimg.org/tyxhzex6j/ff2.png

So now that I see, I would like to know how to get that line separator back.?

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22215
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted June 14th, 2016, 9:01 am

I've used an extension that gives back the 'old bar' from long ago that I didn't notice that change... until someone with deeper knowledge, maybe provide some special css code to eliminate that highlight, you might want to take a look at this extension...

Old Location Bar :: Add-ons for Firefox
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

q1k
 
Posts: 21
Joined: June 2nd, 2016, 2:48 pm

Post Posted June 16th, 2016, 12:10 pm

That one hasn't been updated for over a year, and besides it's not going to give me what I was looking for.
The bold and underlined was removed after Firefox 14. And I want it back... :)

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22215
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted June 17th, 2016, 9:53 am

I guess you will have to wait for somebody who codes CSS stuff then.... if it's even possible to change it in the Chrome area.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted June 17th, 2016, 10:33 am

An option for "bold & underlined" marking was added in latest CTR beta (CTR 1.5.4 beta 5).

Image

For those who only need the code
Code: Select all
panel[type="autocomplete-richlistbox"] richlistitem :-moz-any(.ac-emphasize-text-title, .ac-emphasize-text-tag, .ac-emphasize-text-url,.ac-emphasize-text),
#PopupAutoCompleteRichResult[autocompleteinput="urlbar"] richlistitem :-moz-any(.ac-emphasize-text-title, .ac-emphasize-text-tag, .ac-emphasize-text-url,.ac-emphasize-text) {
  font-weight: bold !important;
  text-decoration: underline !important;
  box-shadow: unset !important;
  background-color: unset !important;
  border-radius: unset !important;
  text-shadow: unset !important;
}

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22215
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted June 17th, 2016, 10:54 am

There you go q1k ... Aris to the rescue... again and again and again!!! =D>
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest