Firefox Tuning

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
Locked
User avatar
Moonwolf
Posts: 531
Joined: December 7th, 2003, 2:50 pm
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Post by Moonwolf »

The Uninstaller extension manages to close the browser and reopen it (with the target extension gone), so it's definitely possible.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.7.6) Gecko/20050223 Firefox/1.0.1
Thunderbird 1.0 (20041206)
EMbuttons: Buttons & options for the Extension Manager. Easy Get Mail Button is here too.
Zeron
Posts: 1067
Joined: March 6th, 2003, 3:33 pm
Contact:

Post by Zeron »

Well then, the only thing we need worry about is who's going to pick this extension idea up, and when....
User avatar
brutal
Posts: 241
Joined: September 10th, 2003, 10:04 am
Location: Norway

Post by brutal »

-> and how..

does anybody know anybody with extensionmaking-skills, so we can tip him?
User avatar
BenBasson
Moderator
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by BenBasson »

I think laszlo should do it :P More importantly though, before any extension could be made, it'd have to have options/settings chosen carefully. Currently we have 2 sets of settings, one for 56k, one for broadband users. We need to differentiate a few of these out. Which specific settings are good for:
Slow PCs / Fast PCs?
Slow Connections / Fast Connections?
Will any of these settings cause problems?

Drawing up a GUI to set preferences should be relatively simple, in any case, but these issues must be addressed first.

I'd do something like this, if it were me (it probably wont be - anytime soon):

Code: Select all

|------------------------------|
|                              |
|  Firefox Optimisation        |
|  --------------------        |
|                              |
|  [x] Enable Optimisation     |
|  [x] Enable Pipelining       |
|                              |
|  [ Advanced ] [Cancel] [Ok]  |
|                              |
|------------------------------|

|-------------------------------|
|                               |
|  Advanced Settings            |
|  --------------------         |
|                               |
|  Paint Delay[?]:              |
|  0s |-|-|-|-[]-|-| 1s         |
|                               |
|  Connection Speed[?]:         |
|  ( ) Dialup                   |
|  (o) Broadband                |
|                               |
|  Memory Cache[?]:             |
|  [65536]                      |
|                               |
|                [Cancel] [Ok]  |
|                               |
---------------------------------

The extension should take an initial backup of any settings that were in place and write them to prefs.js and provide an uninstaller that restores them. The extension wouldn't need to actually interfere with the browser settings on load, it would simply alter them and save them, depending on the input.
Daeron Tinúviel
Posts: 76
Joined: February 10th, 2004, 9:40 am

Post by Daeron Tinúviel »

hi guys great post u have here. i have a P4 2.4ghz, 512DDR, Sata HD and a 512/128 cable connection, i've been trying different settings the broadband tips gets me a result of 18seconds on scragz table, any ideas what i can change to get better results???

this is my users.jr:

user_pref("browser.cache.disk_cache_ssl", true);
user_pref("content.max.tokenizing.time", 2250000);
user_pref("content.notify.backoffcount", 5);
user_pref("content.notify.interval", 750000);
user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);
user_pref("content.switch.threshold", 750000);
user_pref("network.dnsCacheExpiration", 360); // 6 minutes
user_pref("network.dnsCacheEntries", 100);
user_pref("network.ftp.idleConnectionTimeout", 60); // 1 minute
user_pref("network.http.keep-alive.timeout", 30);
user_pref("network.http.request.max-start-delay", 5);
user_pref("network.http.connect.timeout", 30);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 48);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server", 8);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 8);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 750);
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
brutal
Posts: 241
Joined: September 10th, 2003, 10:04 am
Location: Norway

Post by brutal »

I think it would improve your results drastically if you removed the sunglassed smileys..

;)
User avatar
BenBasson
Moderator
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by BenBasson »

Daeron Tinúviel wrote:hi guys great post u have here. i have a P4 2.4ghz, 512DDR, Sata HD and a 512/128 cable connection, i've been trying different settings the broadband tips gets me a result of 18seconds on scragz table, any ideas what i can change to get better results???

Your system sounds almost identical to mine, try these:

user_pref("content.interrupt.parsing", true);
user_pref("browser.cache.memory.capacity", 65536);

user_pref("content.max.tokenizing.time", 2250000);
user_pref("content.maxtextrun", 8191);
user_pref("content.notify.backoffcount", 5);
user_pref("content.notify.interval", 750000);
user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);
user_pref("content.switch.threshold", 750000);
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 500); // Lower, but WFM...
user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 48);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server", 8);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 8);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);

They're good for me. Although, Laszlo is the settings-wizard here.
User avatar
laszlo
Posts: 5225
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de
Contact:

Post by laszlo »

Cusser wrote:I think laszlo should do it :P More importantly though, before any extension could be made, it'd have to have options/settings chosen carefully. Currently we have 2 sets of settings, one for 56k, one for broadband users. We need to differentiate a few of these out. Which specific settings are good for:
Slow PCs / Fast PCs?
Slow Connections / Fast Connections?
Will any of these settings cause problems?

I already thought about making this, but I'm actually working on a keyboard smoothscrolling extension at the moment that a) will let people fine-tune smoothness, speed and CPU load and b) fix the overflow:auto div scrolling bug.

That's why this will have to wait until more data are available. ;)
User avatar
laszlo
Posts: 5225
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de
Contact:

Post by laszlo »

Daeron Tinúviel wrote:hi guys great post u have here. i have a P4 2.4ghz, 512DDR, Sata HD and a 512/128 cable connection, i've been trying different settings the broadband tips gets me a result of 18seconds on scragz table, any ideas what i can change to get better results???

Is 18 seconds the result of loading the page over the net or loading a locally saved copy from the harddisk? 18 seconds for the latter would be very slow for your system specs.
Daeron Tinúviel
Posts: 76
Joined: February 10th, 2004, 9:40 am

Post by Daeron Tinúviel »

18 seconds is the result of loading the page over the net without anything in the cache


try your suggestion nad now got 20 seconds in the scragz test, but dont know other pages seems to load much faster
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
Raiken3712
Posts: 295
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 12:41 pm
Location: Lewisville, Texas
Contact:

Post by Raiken3712 »

user_pref("content.notify.interval", 100000)
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 100)

these are my settings and i get a little over 7 seconds to load www.kingsofchaos.com
My throughput tested as 2200kbps
with 250000, and 250 instead i got a little over 8 seconds and since laszlo says not to go below 100000 on that one number i guess this is my sweet spot

browser.cache.memory.capacity 131000 instead of 65000 is the only other change i made to lazlo's settings

how do i do scrags test i don't know what that is sorry if its in the the thread and i overlooked it didn't mean to

... sort of wondering whats the deal i ran the test 30 mins after my 7 second load cause i was testing again after i tested my brothers computer and now i get 22 seconds? I made sure to clear the cache and the cookies before both tests
User avatar
laszlo
Posts: 5225
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de
Contact:

Post by laszlo »

Raiken3712 wrote:how do i do scrags test i don't know what that is sorry if its in the the thread and i overlooked it didn't mean to

Save this page to disk and repeatedly load it from there.

Raiken3712 wrote:... sort of wondering whats the deal i ran the test 30 mins after my 7 second load cause i was testing again after i tested my brothers computer and now i get 22 seconds? I made sure to clear the cache and the cookies before both tests

That's not surprising. Testing rendering by loading a page over the Internet doesn't always lead to reproducable results, because there are a lot of other factors involved, like server load for instance.
User avatar
laszlo
Posts: 5225
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de
Contact:

Post by laszlo »

Daeron Tinúviel wrote:18 seconds is the result of loading the page over the net without anything in the cache

try your suggestion nad now got 20 seconds in the scragz test, but dont know other pages seems to load much faster

So loading it from disk is slower for you than loading from the net? Considering the latency and bandwidth of even the fastest network connection compared to the access time and transfer rate of a current harddisk, I'd suspect there's something seriously wrong here.

What do you get when you're locally loading this page with Firefox' default settings?
Daeron Tinúviel
Posts: 76
Joined: February 10th, 2004, 9:40 am

Post by Daeron Tinúviel »

So loading it from disk is slower for you than loading from the net? Considering the latency and bandwidth of even the fastest network connection compared to the access time and transfer rate of a current harddisk, I'd suspect there's something seriously wrong here.

What do you get when you're locally loading this page with Firefox' default settings?


nope, u get it wrong, if i have the page in the cache it will load in like 9 to 12 seconds

i f I dont have it in the cache it will take 18 seconds

this is my users.jr now:

uuser_pref("content.interrupt.parsing", true);
user_pref("browser.cache.memory.capacity", 65536);
user_pref("content.max.tokenizing.time", 2250000);
user_pref("content.maxtextrun", 8191);
user_pref("content.notify.backoffcount", 5);
user_pref("content.notify.interval", 750000);
user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);
user_pref("content.switch.threshold", 750000);
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 500); // Lower, but WFM...
user_pref("network.dnsCacheExpiration", 360); // 6 minutes
user_pref("network.dnsCacheEntries", 100);
user_pref("network.ftp.idleConnectionTimeout", 60); // 1 minute
user_pref("network.http.keep-alive.timeout", 30);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 48);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server", 8);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 8);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);


this are my results:

14.83 seconds this is without having the page in the cache

20 seconds this is with the page in the cache

now i'm really confused cause witht the other settings i get exactly the opposite, damn

let me do a test with default settings
Image
ImageImage
Daeron Tinúviel
Posts: 76
Joined: February 10th, 2004, 9:40 am

Post by Daeron Tinúviel »

with default settings:

17 seconds witout having the page in the cache

18 seconds with the page in the cache

whats wrong???

before finding this thread i have my settings like this:

user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);
user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);
user_pref("content.notify.interval", 100);
user_pref("content.notify.backoffcount", 200);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 8);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 128);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 48);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy", 24);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server", 12);

and i get 14 seconds without the page been store in the cache......now i'm really confused
Image
ImageImage
Locked