MozillaZine

FireFox order of windows changes after reboot

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
JohnDohe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: May 21st, 2017, 9:32 am

Post Posted October 5th, 2018, 1:31 pm

Hi!

My system:

Acer VERITON MN: VM4630G-i7477X
32GB Ram
256GB SSD program drive
1-TB HDD data drive
Win7Pro 64-bit with Taskbar configuration manager "7+TaskbarTweaker"
FireFox v 56.0.2 (64-bit) with FireFox extension "TabMixPlus"

Problem:

I normally keep five (5) FireFox windows open with a total of 43 tabs between them.

Each window can have from 4 to 20 tabs.

Whenever I shutdown, reboot & restart FireFox the order of the windows shown
in the Taskbar is never the same.

Prior to shutting down I have ordered the FF windows along the taskbar in
left-to-right order that I want, but upon rebooting the pc and restarting FF
the windows are never in the same order.

E.g.: I order my FF windows as 1-2-3-4-5, close FF and when I re-open FF the
window order could be 3-2-4-1-5 or 5-3-2-4-1 or something else.

Same thing happens if I order FF windows as 1-2-3-4-5, close FF (I do use the
hamburger dropdown to quit), shutdown & reboot the pc and restart FF: the
windows again do not restore in the order of 1-2-3-4-5.

It also does not matter if I order the windows from lowest # of tab windows
to highest, or vice-versa: upon re-opening FF the order of the FF windows
is again presented in random, inconsistent, order.

How can I get FF to re-open my windows to 1-2-3-4-5 everytime?

I have FF's "restore previous session" checked in options.

What to do?

Is there a setting I've missed?

Thanks for any advice!

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 5th, 2018, 7:36 pm

Ther is nothing you can do, even not in windows. And window managers are limited to window title this way.

JohnDohe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: May 21st, 2017, 9:32 am

Post Posted October 6th, 2018, 9:50 am

Brummelchen wrote:Ther is nothing you can do, even not in windows. And window managers are limited to window title this way.
Hi,

What do you mean by,
". . . window managers are limited to window title this way."?

Thanks!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19187
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 6th, 2018, 2:03 pm

Without knowing about things in FF 56 specifically, or at least without remembering...

Extensions or combinations of extensions (or the browser itself, in the case of Pale Moon 28) can cause that issue.
Over time, various extensions have caused that behavior, affecting various browsers.

https://forums.informaction.com/viewtop ... 10&t=23319.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

JohnDohe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: May 21st, 2017, 9:32 am

Post Posted October 9th, 2018, 10:39 am

therube wrote:Without knowing about things in FF 56 specifically, or at least without remembering...

Extensions or combinations of extensions (or the browser itself, in the case of Pale Moon 28) can cause that issue.
Over time, various extensions have caused that behavior, affecting various browsers.

<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="https://forums.informaction.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=23319">https://forums.informaction.com/viewtop ... 10&t=23319</a><!-- m -->.
I had a look a that.

Did the solution work?

If yes, I am not a programmer.

How would I implement it?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19187
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 10th, 2018, 10:08 am

There is not a "specific" solution, well, unless an actual bug is found in FF, that gets fixed.

There is an issue with (current) NoScript 5 - in SeaMonkey 2.49.

Same problem may exist in FF 56, I don't know offhand.

There may be (are likely) other extension/browser combinations that also cause the issue.

My solution, a "fix" for NoScript works - in SeaMonkey.
My (Windows) taskbar icons remain ordered as expected on browser opening from Session Restore.


(On the Pale Moon end [PM 28], the bug is inherent in the browser itself, https://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=19550. That will only be fixed by fixing the browser.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

JohnDohe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: May 21st, 2017, 9:32 am

Post Posted October 10th, 2018, 11:43 am

therube wrote:There is not a "specific" solution, well, unless an actual bug is found in FF, that gets fixed.

There is an issue with (current) NoScript 5 - in SeaMonkey 2.49.

Same problem may exist in FF 56, I don't know offhand.

There may be (are likely) other extension/browser combinations that also cause the issue.

My solution, a "fix" for NoScript works - in SeaMonkey.
My (Windows) taskbar icons remain ordered as expected on browser opening from Session Restore.


(On the Pale Moon end [PM 28], the bug is inherent in the browser itself, <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="https://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=19550">https://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=19550</a><!-- m -->. That will only be fixed by fixing the browser.)
Again, I am not a programmer.

Can you provide step-by-step instructions on how to incorporate your
NoScripts-SeaMonkey solution into FireFox?

Really appreciated . . . :-)

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 10th, 2018, 12:39 pm

not sure if you will find a solution in this forum, you mentioned that you wontupdate your OSX or firefox where such bug could be fixed. you need someone special running exactly this combination and James already pointed out there is possible no chance. the major group is running a currnt system and a current browser where such possible bugs are fixed. if you wont upgrade you never be sure about those 2 options.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19187
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 10th, 2018, 12:49 pm

Do you use NoScript?

Oh, even if you do, since my "fixed" NoScript is hacked, it is not signed, so you'll need yet another hack (https://forums.informaction.com/viewtop ... 662#p98662) in order to actually be able to install it into FF 56. (Freakin' Mozilla.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

JohnDohe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: May 21st, 2017, 9:32 am

Post Posted October 10th, 2018, 3:12 pm

therube wrote:Do you use NoScript?

Oh, even if you do, since my "fixed" NoScript is hacked, it is not signed, so you'll need yet another hack (https://forums.informaction.com/viewtop ... 662#p98662) in order to actually be able to install it into FF 56. (Freakin' Mozilla.)


Hi, thanks so much!

Nope, don't use NoScripts, don't know what it is . . . rats.

That said, I am "handy" and can learn fast, once pointed in the right direction.

Got a tutorial or something to hold my hand through NoScripts?

Thanks!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19187
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 12:32 pm

Then NoScript is not affecting you.
Similarly, NoScript will not help you.

Possible that some of your extension(s) are affecting you, but you'll have to test & see what comes of it.

Backup first.

As a start, disable all extensions & restart.
Then go through a number of open, quit, restart sequences & see if the tab ordering persists?times & see if
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

JohnDohe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: May 21st, 2017, 9:32 am

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 6:03 pm

therube wrote:Then NoScript is not affecting you.
Similarly, NoScript will not help you.

Possible that some of your extension(s) are affecting you, but you'll have to test & see what comes of it.

Backup first.

As a start, disable all extensions & restart.
Then go through a number of open, quit, restart sequences & see if the tab ordering persists?times & see if


Hi,

Thanks!

I have disabled all extensions and restarted FF in safe mode: no difference :(

NB: the problem is not TAB-ordering upon restarting FF that is the issue.
Rather, it is the order of my WINDOWS upon restarting FF.
(re-read my original post for clarity)

If you have any other suggestions, please send!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19187
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 12th, 2018, 9:59 am

Create a new, clean Profile.
Try the steps mentioned here, https://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.ph ... 56#p144556.

What happens?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

JohnDohe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: May 21st, 2017, 9:32 am

Post Posted October 14th, 2018, 6:20 pm

therube wrote:Create a new, clean Profile.
Try the steps mentioned here, https://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.ph ... 56#p144556.

What happens?


Hi,

When you say create a new profile . . . do you mean a new User profile within Windows 7?

New FireFox profile?

Both?

(I can't follow that link you sent me . . . too much in it over my head . . . and its talking about
"Pale Moon" which I'm not using and have no idea what it is :shock: )

Thanks!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120596
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 15th, 2018, 3:55 am

Palemoon is a fork (variant) of Firefox -- https://www.howtogeek.com/335712/update ... -basilisk/

The suggestion is for a new Firefox profile. It's not really difficult to create a new profile and the old profile, containing your extensions, bookmarks, login information, etc, will remain available to you. To create the new profile, enter "about:profiles" in the location bar and press "Enter". Click on the "Create a new profile" button.

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests