MozillaZine

Google Search bar not formatted correctly

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
Chuckiechan
 
Posts: 15
Joined: May 2nd, 2011, 12:01 pm

Post Posted November 27th, 2018, 8:30 am

As I type into Goolge search bar it jumps all over the place - left justified. With each character it jumps from side to side. Plus the cursor is aligned in the top left of the search box, part way out of the box itself.

I don't want to lose Seamonkey because it's so totally transparent for users... (but opaque to non coders.) ?But other browsers are working with Google fine.

There is discussion about writing code in the Seamonkey config file to fix it, but for a bonehead like me, it's going to lead to trouble!

Could one of your programmers fix it for the next release?

BTW, I'm using Seamonkey 2.49.4

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120606
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 27th, 2018, 8:42 am

Moving to SeaMonkey Support as the report does not involve Firefox and no bug has been identified thus far.

Could one of your programmers fix it for the next release?

Well, first, they are not "our programmers". This forum is not run by or formally associated with Mozilla. We're an independent user-helping-user community.

Second, as I'm not seeing the issue it's quite possible the problem is with your current profile and not with the program per se. Have you tried starting in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
If no improvement using Safe Mode, do you have the same problem if you create a new profile and test it with no extensions or non-default themes installed?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_manag ... eaMonkey_2

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20103
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted November 27th, 2018, 9:09 am

Chuckiechan wrote:There is discussion about writing code in the Seamonkey config file to fix it, but for a bonehead like me, it's going to lead to trouble!

Bonehead or not, it's just following a very simple set of instructions. Both my cats managed it.

Alternatively, use the UA Switcher extension.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2391
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted November 28th, 2018, 7:21 am

Chuckiechan wrote:.... But other browsers are working with Google fine.

There is discussion about writing code in the Seamonkey config file to fix it, but for a bonehead like me, it's going to lead to trouble!

    Image What you have to do, is very easy, and simple:

  • Type about:config in the Address Bar and press Enter to display the list of preferences.
  • Ignore the warning message.
  • Right click >> New >> String >> general.useragent.override.google.com
    >>> Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:64.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/64.0
  • Restart SeaMonkey.
  • Done! :-"









    Cheers! Image
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20180711 SeaMonkey/2.49.4
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:54.0) Gecko/20170619 SeaMonkey/2.51

Michael REMY
 
Posts: 309
Joined: December 19th, 2009, 2:27 am

Post Posted December 7th, 2018, 11:47 am


James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27447
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted December 7th, 2018, 2:54 pm

You missed this ongoing thread at viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3040658

Bug 1508152 - Since yesterday, google search engine input box does not work properly because of bad browser sniffing

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests