MozillaZine

can't connect fireftp

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
blonde13
 
Posts: 6
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:19 am

Post Posted August 16th, 2012, 7:05 am

I opened fireftp this morning and it loads and seems like everything is working with one exception.
the top bar that includes (Choose an account) Connect Edit Abort, is no longer clickable.

I have dumped cache, restarted, ran disk utility to check and repair file permissions. All to no avail.
I am on a mac.

I have the most current version of both running. And i have a ton of ftp connections in there. Some of which were in there before i took over this box. consequently i do not have a back up of those.

any ideas.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106826
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted August 16th, 2012, 1:27 pm

What version of Firefox?
What version of FireFTP?
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

blonde13
 
Posts: 6
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:19 am

Post Posted August 16th, 2012, 2:16 pm

Thanks for your response.
firefox 14.0.1
fireftp 2.0.6

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106826
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted August 17th, 2012, 4:01 am

You might try disabling any other extensions you have installed to see if there is a conflict between one of them and FireFTP that is causing the problem.

Try disabling all extensions but one other extension and then close and restart the program. (Disable them by using menu path Tools->Addons->Extensions->click on "Disable" for every extension but one.) See if the problem is present. If not, enable an additional extension and close and restart the application. Repeat this procedure until the problem reappears. The last enabled extension will be the cause of the problem.
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

blonde13
 
Posts: 6
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:19 am

Post Posted August 17th, 2012, 5:56 am

At present i have only fireftp and fire bug running. i tried disabling firebug and restarting to no avail.
I treid diabling them both and restarting then enabling fireftp and then resrting to no avail .

I then added convert youtube to mp3 and restarting to no avail.

Should i just keep doing this over and over untill the issue fixes it self?

thanks

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106826
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted August 17th, 2012, 6:23 am

No, if it doesn't work with only FireFTP running it probably won't help to enable additional extensions for testing.

Try a new profile and only install FireFTP to see if it will work in that environment -- http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

blonde13
 
Posts: 6
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:19 am

Post Posted August 20th, 2012, 6:12 am

Yes it works in that environment.

How can i now import my fireftp connections from the other account?

Thanks so much for you help. I will pass this info along when ever i get the opportunity.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106826
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted August 20th, 2012, 6:21 am

You're welcome.

I don't use the extensions so I can't help you with the import question. You might raise the issue on the support page for the add-on -- http://fireftp.mozdev.org/help.html
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

blonde13
 
Posts: 6
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:19 am

Post Posted August 20th, 2012, 6:21 am

Yes it works in that environment.

How can i now import my fireftp connections from the other account?

Thanks so much for you help. I will pass this info along when ever i get the opportunity.

blonde13
 
Posts: 6
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:19 am

Post Posted August 20th, 2012, 6:23 am

Yes it works in that environment.

How can i now import my fireftp connections from the other account?
i tried the export functionality provided by the tools drop down in fireftp but it does not export anything.
i created a folder named ftp and exported to that folder and nothing shows up?
when i go into preferences and click to show passwords it still revels all my connections.

Thanks so much for you help. I will pass this info along when ever i get the opportunity.

mimecuvalo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: April 24th, 2005, 5:41 pm

Post Posted August 21st, 2012, 5:39 am

I'm the developer of FireFTP.

Sorry for the bug in the first place. It is fixed in the next version (2.0.7) which can be found here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... /versions/
(until it is officially reviewed by the Mozilla add-on team)

I appreciate your patience and understanding with the bug - sorry again for the inconvenience.

jche
 
Posts: 1
Joined: December 19th, 2012, 8:24 am

Post Posted December 19th, 2012, 8:28 am

Hey, I love the add-on, been using it for years until I ran into the same issue. I am using Firefox 17.0.1 and FireFTP 2.0.7 and still the choose-account box is not clicable. Will wait patiently for the next version if that what it takes. Thanks!

Scerion
 
Posts: 1
Joined: February 8th, 2013, 11:00 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2013, 11:04 am

Not sure if FireFTP is maintained any more - just tried it for the first time with latest Firefox, and just connect to anything. The normal web browser client can connect fine to the same servers, and FileZilla also connects. FireFTP just gets "authentication failure" with the exact same details. Assume it's somehow screwing up the login.

Thought I'd post in case others had the same problems with it. Just use another client.

wheelz

User avatar
 
Posts: 18
Joined: October 4th, 2004, 1:07 am

Post Posted November 23rd, 2014, 2:45 am

Been having the same issue as blonde13 for a few months now.
Running FF 33.1
FireFTP 2.0.21
As Scerion suggested, wondering if FireFTP is still maintained.
Such a well functioning FTP client, it's a shame to be unable to use it.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 41792
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Aus

Post Posted November 23rd, 2014, 3:45 am

What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests