MozillaZine

Slow down/Crazy Memory comsumption with some sites

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
thigobr
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 17th, 2014, 5:26 am

Post Posted June 17th, 2014, 5:45 am

Hi,

I noticed, starting from the build 29, a strange behavior while browsing some sites. For example, http://www.flatout.com.br/
Firefox will start to allocate and release memory in loops and the user interface becomes very unresponsive.

Some screenshots (Ubuntu x64, Firefox 30.0). Also happens on Windows.

While loading the site
Image

After closing flatout.com.br TAB
Image
Last edited by James on June 17th, 2014, 7:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Large image/s reduced to preserve the forum layout. edit2 by James: made them as thumbnail links to full 1,600px × 900px size instead of links.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted June 17th, 2014, 6:08 pm

1. Does it happen only on websites that are trying to load videos as that one appears to be doing?

2. Does it happen in Firefox Safe Mode? Press Alt to get to the Menu > Help > Restart with Addons Disabled. Do not choose the Reset option.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

thigobr
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 17th, 2014, 5:26 am

Post Posted June 18th, 2014, 4:20 am

Hi patrickjdempsey,

it seems that these websites are using JavaScript. It does happen in safe mode, yes.

I've collected two profile traces that should help. Profile1.json one was collected while loading http://www.noticiasautomotivas.com.br Profile2.json while loading http://www.flatout.com.br

What seems to be taking a long time is the method Paint::PresShell::Paint.

http://wikisend.com/download/309112/profiles.zip

rvalent3
 
Posts: 85
Joined: March 24th, 2008, 12:39 pm
Location: maryland

Post Posted June 18th, 2014, 12:13 pm

I also am experiencing the same issue with a few websites; not all

Souleros
 
Posts: 8
Joined: April 27th, 2007, 11:09 am
Location: Atlanta

Post Posted June 20th, 2014, 12:18 pm

Me too, memory use & CPU use jump way up... And it's nearly impossible for me to watch videos, especially on Netflix & Facebook!
"Human salvation lies in the hands of the creatively maladjusted"
--- Martin Luther King, Jr.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20571
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 21st, 2014, 7:11 am

That ("little" Flash) ad at the top of the page (by the FlatOut! logo), is quite expensive (CPU-wise).

FlashBlock or NoScript to block the Flash, or Adblock Plus to block the ad.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests