MozillaZine

ugly, jagged fonts in Firefox (Chrome way better)

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
michaelbeijer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: March 21st, 2015, 12:56 pm
Location: Hastings, UK.

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 1:07 pm

I just installed Firefox because I really like all the addons, but am noticing that way too many of the sites I visit look TERRIBLE in Firefox compared to in Chrome.

For example, have a look at this site in both Firefox (36.0.4) and Chrome (41.0.2272.101 m):

http://www.techradar.com/news/software/ ... ast-468317

I tried to show the difference in this screenshot:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/680 ... ter%29.png

What am I doing wrong?
Last edited by michaelbeijer on March 21st, 2015, 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 1:27 pm

Click on the second link to view the large image.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

michaelbeijer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: March 21st, 2015, 12:56 pm
Location: Hastings, UK.

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 1:31 pm

@LoudNoise: Thanks. I was wondering whether that in-line image might not be too big.

By the way, I just downloaded and installed Aurora, but it has the same exact problem: the page looks terrible.
MICHAEL BEIJER
NL>EN translator & terminologist
Skype/Twitter: michaelbeijer

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122232
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 1:59 pm

Try disabling hardware acceleration under menu path Tools->Options->Advanced->General. Close and restart Firefox after making that settings change.

michaelbeijer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: March 21st, 2015, 12:56 pm
Location: Hastings, UK.

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 2:18 pm

Thanks DanRaisch,

Tried that, but it still looks exactly the same. How does the page (http://www.techradar.com/news/software/ ... ast-468317) look in your Firefox?
MICHAEL BEIJER
NL>EN translator & terminologist
Skype/Twitter: michaelbeijer

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 2:49 pm

Are you in the UK... Try the US version of the page > http://www.techradar.com/us/news/softwa ... ast-468317
FWIW, they both look fine for me using Firefox default fonts and font size and no Zoom
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

michaelbeijer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: March 21st, 2015, 12:56 pm
Location: Hastings, UK.

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 4:23 pm

Hi JayhawksRock,

Yes, I'm in the UK, but I compared the US and UK versions of the page and they are identical. Text is jagged on both pages. I compared the US page in both Firefox and Chrome:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/680 ... ght%29.png

Can someone have a look at the page in Chrome too, to verify if they see it like I see it?

I should add that my screenshot is taken at zoom 125%, which I added manually using the addon "Zoom Page" (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... zoom-page/). I got used to a default zoom of 125% in Chrome, but noticed that Firefox doesn't have 125% as a default option. I justed did the same comparison at 100% zoom, and the jagged edges are still visible, albeit less so due to the smaller text size.
MICHAEL BEIJER
NL>EN translator & terminologist
Skype/Twitter: michaelbeijer

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 5:03 pm

Page is fine for me zoomed or not, sharp colors, fonts are clear/sharp... and Chrome seems the same to me even though their rendering methods may be different. Of course I dont have the graphics system you have on this Old WinXP.... Thats all I've got... I'm out Good Luck.
[edit]
The page uses this font in the page source....
@font-face {
font-family: "Open Sans";
font-style: normal;
font-weight: 600;
Google > http://www.google.com/fonts/specimen/Open+Sans ...no clue what your system may substitue if it is not downloaded by the website
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43856
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 5:30 pm

The question is does the OP have "allow pages to chose their own fonts" enabled?
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 5:36 pm

Damn.. I implied that I was but never asked the question ](*,)
Thats what us rookies do I guess
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

michaelbeijer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: March 21st, 2015, 12:56 pm
Location: Hastings, UK.

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 5:38 pm

Just checked and "allow pages to choose their own fonts" is enabled.
MICHAEL BEIJER
NL>EN translator & terminologist
Skype/Twitter: michaelbeijer

michaelbeijer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: March 21st, 2015, 12:56 pm
Location: Hastings, UK.

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 5:42 pm

If I compare http://www.google.com/fonts/specimen/Open+Sans in Firefox and Chrome, it looks better in Chrome. Jagged edges in Firefox.
MICHAEL BEIJER
NL>EN translator & terminologist
Skype/Twitter: michaelbeijer

michaelbeijer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: March 21st, 2015, 12:56 pm
Location: Hastings, UK.

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 5:46 pm

MICHAEL BEIJER
NL>EN translator & terminologist
Skype/Twitter: michaelbeijer

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43856
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 6:19 pm

I doubt it the date on that thread is almost a year old
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted March 21st, 2015, 6:50 pm

michaelbeijer wrote:Thanks DanRaisch,

Tried that, but it still looks exactly the same.


Hmm. If it looks the same with HWA disabled, then hardware fonts must already be disabled. Try this:

Type about:config into the urlbar, press Enter and click through the warning. Search for this:

gfx.font_rendering.directwrite.enabled


Double-click it to set it to true.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests