MozillaZine

FF54(Private Browsing) google.com gets stuck on 'Connecting'

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
darkred
 
Posts: 224
Joined: March 13th, 2010, 6:10 am

Post Posted June 24th, 2017, 9:33 am

Since I updated (from FF53 x64 stable)to FF54 stable (win10 with Creators Update)
many times so far, trying to open google.com (and/or in my case google.gr) in a private window, it remains at 'Connecting...' indefinitely,
and I only manage to make it finish loading google.gr, is to open google.gr at a normal window: then google.com/google.gr in the private window will finish loading immediately!!

But, during that same time, in all other browsers, Chrome, Edge, IE, google.com/google.gr loads ok!

STR (randomly -it happened twice in the last 5 minutes for me...- )
- Open a normal FF Window
- Open a private FF Window and switch to it.
- try to open google.com/google.gr in awesomebar, or make a search via search toolbar or via typing in awesomebar.
- Once it stays at 'Connecting...', there's nothing you can do in the private window fix this: pressing Stop and then F5 doesn't help.
Not even trying to open google.com/google.gr in another tab makes any difference: all google tabs in the private window will remain at "Connecting" indefinitely.
Even if I close the private window and open another, google.com/google.gr will remain at "Connecting" indefinitely.
But, any other URLs I tried, all load ok in the private window.
- What only helps is to open google.com at the normal FF window: then google.gr in the private window will finish loading immediately!

My addons are
AdBlock Plus
Element Hiding helper for ABP
Greasemonkey
Stylish
Reddit Enhancement Suite

I don't use any proxy.

I haven't managed to recreate this in a fresh FF profile,
but I'm almost sure it's a FF 54 issue (I never had this issue in previous FF versions).


Has this occurred to you too?
Last edited by darkred on July 2nd, 2017, 4:14 pm, edited 5 times in total.
'(Firefox for desktop) list fixed bugs in Mercurial' userscript:
as a list: v4.2.2 and, as a sortable table: either v5.5.4 (for all channel users) or v5.5.4 (especially for inbound users).
My other userscripts: GreasyFork OpenUserJS

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117334
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 24th, 2017, 10:25 am

Moving to Firefox Support.

No, not seeing that here.

Clear the browser cache (use menu path Tools->Options->Advanced->Network tab->click on "Clear Now" button.)

Delete any cookies relating to the site(s) involved (Tools->Options->Privacy->Firefox will "Use custom settings for History"->Show Cookies button).

darkred
 
Posts: 224
Joined: March 13th, 2010, 6:10 am

Post Posted June 25th, 2017, 3:05 am

Thanks for replying but I followed your suggestions and nothing changed:
it occurred to me again the last few minutes, twice.
'(Firefox for desktop) list fixed bugs in Mercurial' userscript:
as a list: v4.2.2 and, as a sortable table: either v5.5.4 (for all channel users) or v5.5.4 (especially for inbound users).
My other userscripts: GreasyFork OpenUserJS

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117334
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 25th, 2017, 3:43 am

Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

darkred
 
Posts: 224
Joined: March 13th, 2010, 6:10 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2017, 10:39 am

No, it didn't occur in Safe Mode. I had FF in safe mode all day today.
'(Firefox for desktop) list fixed bugs in Mercurial' userscript:
as a list: v4.2.2 and, as a sortable table: either v5.5.4 (for all channel users) or v5.5.4 (especially for inbound users).
My other userscripts: GreasyFork OpenUserJS

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117334
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 27th, 2017, 2:42 pm

When things work properly in Safe Mode but not in Standard Mode it often indicates that an installed extension is causing problems. Try disabling all extensions but one and then close and restart the program. (Disable them by using menu path Tools->Addons->Extensions->click on "Disable" for every extension but one.) See if the problem is present. If not, enable an additional extension and close and restart the application. Repeat this procedure until the problem reappears. The last enabled extension will be the cause of the problem.

darkred
 
Posts: 224
Joined: March 13th, 2010, 6:10 am

Post Posted July 5th, 2017, 2:30 pm

I've closed Firefox and deleted the whole 'C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Mozilla' folder.
The issue hasn't occurred again two days now.

Unfortunately the issue still occurs randomly.

I haven't managed to locate any addon to be causing this,
but as I wrote above, the addons are only few, and all are very popular,
so I seriously doubt that this might be caused by an addon.


Anyway, I just filed: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1378520
'(Firefox for desktop) list fixed bugs in Mercurial' userscript:
as a list: v4.2.2 and, as a sortable table: either v5.5.4 (for all channel users) or v5.5.4 (especially for inbound users).
My other userscripts: GreasyFork OpenUserJS

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117334
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted July 5th, 2017, 2:48 pm

I haven't managed to locate any addon to be causing this,
but as I wrote above, the addons are only few, and all are very popular,
so I seriously doubt that this might be caused by an addon.


It's not necessarily the individual add-ons involved but can be interaction between two or more. Extensions that cause no issues when run alone might interact badly with another installed extension. The only way to determine that is to run with an unmodified profile for long enough for the problem to appear if it's going to. If it does, it indicates the extensions are not involved. If there is no problem seen, one extension at a time can be added on and the test period resumed. Wash/rinse/repeat.

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest