MozillaZine

Blank pixel lines above tabs when firefox on second display

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
waxukut
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 6:37 pm

Post Posted November 3rd, 2017, 6:49 pm

As described in subject. See screenshot below (must be viewed on dark background to understand problem). Visually very distracting and steals space from web pages. Problem does not occur on primary screen. Running Windows 10.

> http://i67.tinypic.com/2hpshg7.jpg
Last edited by LIMPET235 on November 4th, 2017, 6:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image tags removed to restore the forum layout.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17988
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 4th, 2017, 6:30 am

Does the same occur if you restart in Safe Mode?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

waxukut
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 6:37 pm

Post Posted November 4th, 2017, 6:45 pm

Yes, I can confirm that the same problem occurs in Safe Mode.

I should add that the problem does not occur with other applications such as Windows Explorer, Edge or Bitwig (which also has a dark theme).

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2732
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 5th, 2017, 12:50 am

which firefox build?
56 regular ? then its your home made culprit
developper?
57beta?

waxukut
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 6:37 pm

Post Posted November 5th, 2017, 10:50 am

56.0.2 64-bit windows 10

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2732
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 5th, 2017, 10:59 am

regular firefox 56 dont has squared tabs, only with theme "dark compact" - but no (white) space above. its up on you how you changed that, userchrome or extension (maybe ctr).

test firefox in safe-mode please:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/tr ... -safe-mode
or
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode


create a new profile
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows
or
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager

This article explains how to selectively transfer Firefox user data and settings to a new Firefox profile
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... _-_Firefox

waxukut
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 6:37 pm

Post Posted November 6th, 2017, 5:28 pm

I can reproduce the additional space above the tab even with the "standard" white theme.

waxukut
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 6:37 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 8:48 am

Problem was temporarily solved by disabling second screen, rebooting and re-enabling screen.

Problem appeared again when I re-booted my PC a second time.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2732
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 12:28 pm

any tool working for a second monitor? i also work sometimes with both but i dont have that issue.
you probably have to work through your running processes and finish as they are possible.

avstudio
 
Posts: 11
Joined: November 15th, 2017, 10:07 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 10:14 am

Just noticed similar BUG in FF 57 Quantum, transparent pixel line or gap just under bookmarks.
Can be seen very clearly when using YT dark mode, you can see your desktop trough that gap.
Very annoying.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2732
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 16th, 2017, 8:35 am

you two should speak together if there are similarities for software and hardware.
in fact you two are the only users who have this problem, so it is special and not general.

please dont spam with your issues, you already have a thread:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3035244

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest