MozillaZine


Horrible Memory Leak for 1-2 Weeks Now

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
Robert Lindsay
 
Posts: 58
Joined: August 14th, 2005, 10:02 pm
Location: Sierra Nevada Mountains, California

Post Posted May 30th, 2020, 7:26 pm

Not sure exactly when it started, but new FF's suck up a huge amount of memory. I load one page of Gmail, and that's one I GB right there. Another couple of pages and we are up to 1.7 GB. Don't even try to open more windows. I used to have quite a few tabs open in FF, and really nothing happened. Leave two tabs (1.2 GB) open all night, come back, and the system is locked up, with FF eating over 4 GB of memory. I don't think memory is the answer, as it will just chew up whatever more memory I install. No previous installs of FF ever had a leak like this.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9908
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted May 30th, 2020, 7:41 pm

#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 569
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted August 12th, 2020, 7:31 am

Robert Lindsay wrote:Not sure exactly when it started, but new FF's suck up a huge amount of memory. I load one page of Gmail, and that's one I GB right there. Another couple of pages and we are up to 1.7 GB. Don't even try to open more windows. I used to have quite a few tabs open in FF, and really nothing happened. Leave two tabs (1.2 GB) open all night, come back, and the system is locked up, with FF eating over 4 GB of memory. I don't think memory is the answer, as it will just chew up whatever more memory I install. No previous installs of FF ever had a leak like this.


Seeing the exact same things. Sometimes, one cannot even bring up task manager to kill the Firefox processes; necessitating a power button hard restart. Never has software crippled my systems like Firefox and Thunderbird are currently doing. Again, this is new within the past two or three weeks. It used to be slow, but manageable. Google Chrome seems the only other option.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9908
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted August 12th, 2020, 9:26 am

#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 569
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2020, 11:52 am

mightyglydd:

I don't think you fully understand the concept of "testing".

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9908
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted August 13th, 2020, 12:22 pm

You can think what you like.
Me; I wonder what comparing a Beta with the OP's Fx76 (back from 77) has to do with 'testing'.
Screwed up profile comes to mind.
#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 124080
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 13th, 2020, 12:43 pm

So far that’s two reports of the issue. What diagnostics have you done?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20582
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 14th, 2020, 5:31 pm

one cannot even bring up task manager to kill the Firefox processes; necessitating a power button hard restart. Never has software crippled my systems like Firefox and Thunderbird are currently doing

Presumably (no one has said) FF is also eating CPU.
But is it only FF that is eating CPU?
As in, do you see ntoskrnl.exe eating CPU at the same time?
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.c ... 606162#c10
(There was another related bug, but I'll be if I can find it. Maybe 1 of 250 took it.)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 569
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted August 17th, 2020, 11:43 am

DanRaisch wrote:... What diagnostics have you done?


Open to suggestions.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44213
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted August 17th, 2020, 2:43 pm

So as usual you just moan without doing anything. No way should you be testing development builds you dont have the capacity for it
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 124080
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 18th, 2020, 3:49 am

DN123ABC wrote:
DanRaisch wrote:... What diagnostics have you done?


Open to suggestions.


Mightyglydd posted links to diagnostics twice. Just review them for information.

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests